We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pause on our way to Skye” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenlossie Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glenlossie Guest House
Ranked #16 of 52 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Douai, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A very pause on our way to Skye”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stopped in Dumfries on our way from France to the Isle of Skye. The rooms are nice and the beds very comfortable. We'd like to thank our hostess for the piece of advice she gave us for our dinner, the pub she advised was really nice. We'll recommend Glenlossie to our friends. The breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agnes D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    25
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
62
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

After a few quite disappointing experiences with B and B in the Lake District we were very happy with Glenlossie. They even reduced the price if the room because the web booking company allocated us a more expensively priced room. The breakfast was excellent. Couldn't ask for more.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brynjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

A lovely stay yet again at the Glenlossie. Graham and Carol are lovely people and can not do enough for anyone, they are friendly and full of knowledge about Scotland and the local area. The rooms are of a high standard and the beds are very comfy, we always sleep very well not to mention the cosy duvet. The shower is highly powered and difficult to get out of quickly as it's so good. There are all the usual amenities in the room with the added bonus of a fridge and safe and free wifi. The breakfast choice is fantastic from the full cooked breakfast or a vegetarian version which comes with a rack of toast continental breakfast of fresh fruit salad and a variety of cereals and yogurts, also the porridge is beautiful so creamy and I highly recommend it. There is the option for a lunch to be made to take out with you on your travels should you require it with ample notice given. Coming here now is just like coming to our second home, also we never want to leave as it is just so friendly and welcoming.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank katye1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow; Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent friendly service :) stayed here on Sunday night as I had a funeral the next morning and it was easier than travelling from Glasgow during the morning. The price was fantastic and the breakfast was noooom! Room was extremely quiet and the bed mega comfy :) thank you x

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank superviicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We only stayed for one night, the room was very comfortable with a very nice shower room and the B & B was within walking distance of the town centre. The breakfast was very good and the owners were very nice

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

As the title of this review says, you really can't go wrong staying here. 3 of us stayed here for 1 night whilst visiting relatives. The welcome is warm, the rooms are excellent with modern en-suite facilities and, important to me at least, the Wi-Fi is excellent (3 routers means no matter where you are in the building the signal is strong - chain hotels take note!). Breakfast is outstanding and the price to quality ratio is second to none. Highly recommended but book early!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We've been visiting this beautiful part of the UK on a yearly basis for many years now and every time we have chosen the Glenlossie Guest House. We always receive a warm welcome, the rooms are well furnished and comfortable. The breakfast is amazing and really sets you up for the day. Thanks again and we'll see you next year.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tsi_Charna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 8 in Dumfries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
0.2 mi away
Glenaldor House
Glenaldor House
#1 of 52 in Dumfries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Huntingdon House Hotel
Huntingdon House Hotel
#3 of 52 in Dumfries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlossie Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlossie Guest House

Property: Glenlossie Guest House
Address: 75 Annan Road, Dumfries DG1 3EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenlossie Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Scottish welcome awaits you at Glenlossie Guesthouse our rooms are all en-suite, complete with facilities - minifridge in every room, ground floor disabled room available. Excellently located with private parking off the road, 5 minute walk to the town centre. This is an ideal location for mountain bikers and walkers. We are "first place" winners of "Dumfries in bloom" competition for hotels and guest house 2004/2005. Bienvenidos Hablamos Espanol! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Glenlossie Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlossie Guest House Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing