We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Friendly and Welcoming.”
Review of Marthrown of Mabie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dumfries
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marthrown of Mabie
Southampton
1 review
“Beautiful, Friendly and Welcoming.”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

This was a beautiful retreat for me and my family. My partner and I travelled to Marthrown of Mabie with our daugther to get married within the forest. Pam and her staff are more than willing to assist in anything you ask, and have helped our family to have fond memories of our stay and ceremony.
We spent three days at Marthrown in a yurt which had everything we needed when we arrived. Opening the door of the yurt to the forest and nature was all we wanted and that just what we got. The yurt had a wicked burner that kept us warm throughout the day and night, with little fuss. Plently of kitchenware and crockery to help make breakie and dinner. And games to relax with in the evening. I would recommend taking your own duvets and pillows as these are not provided.
We spent both nights in the hot tub under the stars/drizzle and most of the day chilling in the forest or walking. There are many tracks you could walk, of all difficulties, on the door step of the yurt. There is also a park half way down the track of Marthworn which I would also recommend to families. You could rent bikes too at the bottom of the track, but we thought it was quite pricey, especially when we have our own at home!! There is also a farm shop for treats of cheese and chutneys!
If you wanted peace and quiet you could deffinately get this, or if you wanted to mix with others there is a communial room and kitchen on site. There is also use of a tipee and saxon roundhouse, which above, the forest opens to let in sunshine and light. A truely wonderful place. These are all spaced out enough so there is no distraction if you want the peacefulness.
I could not have asked for more than what Pam and Mike provided..a chilled, natural, inspirational retreat for closet hippees or those just wanting to get out there and relax in nature.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vixon29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    9
    6
    3
    11
See reviews for
21
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We went on a wedding with a difference ...... Great location, staff are very friendly, hog roast was extremely nice and cook the old way .... Bunk rooms are ok but could be better if you knew the people you are staying with , if you are thinking of going don't forget your wellies as you are in a forest ...... If you're prim n proper then don't go ..... You won't enjoy the composting loo's but it is a great chance to get back to nature , the round house is fantastic

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Booked here for my sisters hen, and we certainly had a night to remember!

After booking found out we had been double booked with a stag party but Pam was great at sorting it all out and making sure we all had a bed for the night.

Made good use of the hot tub (amazing) and sauna (great way to heat up on a freezing cold day). And all enjoyed our meal which was cooked on site for us. Great place to meet and have a carry on.

Only downside was it was freezing in the rooms at night. Even with the log fire on in the living area it was never roasting and the bed room radiators could be be classed as tepid. As long as you have plenty of layers it was great fun.

Overall, we certainly had a fab night away.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We booked the Iron Age Roundhouse for a weekend break - what a place! It's set in some attractive woodland which is only a short drive from Dumfries but the setting is so idylic you believe that you are miles away from civilization

12 of us spent two nights here and we were very comfortable on the mattresses/seating provided. Once the fire is roaring and the candles are burning it creates a fantastic ambience. There is one power socket but we used this to power our sound system. The facilities around the roundhouse itself are fantastic with gas burners for cooking, a barbecue, compost toilets, shower/washing facilities and a straw bale urinal only a few steps away. The hot tub and sauna also looked very nice but.

A special mention to Mike (who i think may be the owner) who gave us a very concise induction on how to use the sites facilities, and more importantly the stove in the roundhouse!

I'll definitely be back at some point.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorChist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I was kidnapped for an overnight camping adventure, and she's seen this place mentioned in Cool Camping so we thought we'd take a look. We really enjoyed our day - the friendly welcome, the pitch in amongst the trees, the obvious love that's gone into the place and not to mention the hot tub! The only thing that wasn't quite perfect is that the paths were very muddy - and I hadn't brought suitable footwear! Make sure you've got sturdy hiking boots and good waterproofs and you'll be grand.

I'm hoping to be back at some point!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unblinkered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Spent 3 nights in the woodland camping area. Compost toilet and outside private shower were close by. Good amount of space to pitch our tent and picnic table next to it. Car parked close by but small uphill walk with camping equipment which may be an issue for some. Wheel barrows are available. Would also recommend having wellies at the ready. As we were there over a weekend there were some group bookings; a hen party, a birthday party and a group of friends who were camped close by. Unfortunately we had a sleepless night on the Saturday due to the volume of music from the barbecue area (pounding) and the ongoing partying of the group nearby...shouting, swearing, excessive drinking which only stopped when I asked them to keep the noise down (as 2 members of the party staggered by our tent looking for the toilet). Didn't want to have to deal with this kind of behaviour in the middle of the night on what was supposed to be a peaceful family weekend break. The site is possibly more geared up for group bookings rather than families with small children, no guarantees of a decent sleep if people are partying. I know the area very well and was disappointed to have this experience as the woodland is stunning, tranquil during the day and deserves to be respected.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pax43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We have just spent 2 nights here (camping in the woods) for a family birthday gathering. Our group had a block booking of the bunk houses but there were other people camping.

Overall it is great with a really laid back and relaxed atmosphere, very peaceful and very helpful owners. Breakfast was great and being able to use the kitchen an added bonus. it was pretty cold when we stayed so the log fire and hot tub were great boons! Our group also had the hog roast and it was absolutely fantastic. We all thought it was best pork we have ever had...thanks Mike for spending all day meticulously stoking the fire and turning the hog just the right distance every 5 minutes (yes he did that for 12 hours to get it right!)

The camping area is really up in the woods and lovely and dark and quiet. A covered sink and food prep area, plus a couple of composting toilets (one with electric light) and a shower are also up there. One of the most relaxing and scenic loos I have been to in a long time!!

A few "tips and hints"....the camping is a bit of a walk from where you can park, but helpfully they do provide wheelbarrows, but it is uphill so if you are not too fit or able to push a barrow full of camping stuff (and probably have to make more than one trip) the bunkhouse may be a better bet.

We are quite experienced campers but for added interest we have a wheelchair using teenager in the family...so a few bits of this site were challenging, but we managed. It would NOT be suitable for a self-propelling wheelchair user who can not stand or step at all as the path is rough and steep and there are no wheelchair accessible facilities, a couple of steps into the bunkhouse/toilet area, and a step intp the communal kitchen/dining area (which is quite tight for space any way so we had to leave wheelchair outside)
My son uses a power chair (FWD) so could manage the rough path up to the camping, just and with care, when it was dry. However, it rained on the second night and very soon the path was too muddy and slippy for him to get up. Therefore whilst it is possible to camp here with a power chair (and with someone who can take some steps) it is not really possible if the weather or ground is wet.

Only other comment I'd make is that another sink in the camping area would be good, cos as there is only one, you can end up queuing with dish-washer-uppers just to wash your hands after going to the loo! So take handwipes/sanitisers in the meantime!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weeherdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
9.0 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,057 reviews
6.6 mi away
Southpark House
Southpark House
#1 of 2 in Locharbriggs
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
3.7 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
3.9 mi away
Huntingdon House Hotel
Huntingdon House Hotel
#2 of 51 in Dumfries
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marthrown of Mabie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marthrown of Mabie

Property: Marthrown of Mabie
Address: Mabie Forest, Dumfries DG2 8HB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Dumfries
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Try somewhere different - we have a Celtic Roundhouse, Tipi, Mongolian Yurt, Bunkhouse with 26 beds over 4 rooms and a camping area up in the forest. We also have a hot tub and sauna in the grounds for our guests.Looking forward to seeing you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marthrown Of Mabie Hotel Dumfries
Marthrown Of Mabie Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing