We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the crowds”
Review of Marthrown of Mabie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dumfries
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marthrown of Mabie
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We love Marthrown. We stayed in the tipi this year and the yurt last year. What we like about it is that the tipi and yurt are sited away from other people so you can really relax. The owners could easily have put in lots of yurts and tipi's but have kept their place special...so thank you for this. Mike and Pam are full of enthusiasm and energy for Marthrown. Love the composting toilets, outdoor shower and the total sense of peace in the place. Marthrown reminds me of somewhere you would find in New Zealand. Ok, if you like 5 star hotels and boutique guesthouses, this might not be the place for you...but if you love nature, sustainable living and genuine people who live what they preach...then Marthrown will be just up your street.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ursula1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

My brand-spanking new husband and I had our reception here. It was fantastic.
This is how it went - the hot tub was always hot (didn't need to do anything), the hog was roasted to perfection, complete with crackling that has become the stuff of legend (didn't need to do anything), the trimmings, deserts and salads were of portions of such large size that there was enough left to make wee lunchboxes the next day ( this includes all the midnight snacks and tipsy sandwiches made at 2am) and, can I mention, you didn't even have to do the dishes afterwards!
We were given help locating a local brewery that sorted us out with beer kegs for the weekend, and the site is stocked with pots,pans, plates and other eating devices so you are totally set up with the essentials.
At night, when the party had finally wound down (which took a while, as the soundsystem in the roundhouse was so motivating and the vibes of the forest so enjoyable), then you still had the calls of owls and the fresh, earthy forest air to fill your lungs with.
Epic.
And highly,highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you stay in dorms, it's always good practice to bring earplugs for potential snorers. And if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icaruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

my brother and his partner had their wedding there 12th july, it was magical, bunkhouse was great, campsite was perfect, all so eco friendly, our host`s were so nice, we would definitely go again , there is much more to this place than you read on the web site, totally fantastic place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaci s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We recently stayed here for a wedding and it was the perfect setting. Bunkhouses are comfortable and nice. Campsite is large and good ground. Hot tub was amazing and really nice with a cider at the end of the day. The breakfast was lovely and the hosts were very accommodating. Thank you very much x

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreximgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed recently in one of the bunk house rooms as part of a group of 5 mountain bikers. I cant believe how good this place was for the money. Room is basic as you would expect, good self catering facilities, BBQ area, hot tube (very useful to sooth the riding muscles), sauna and all this in the middle of the Marbie forest.

Great place to use as a base to visit many of the 7 Stanes mountain bike routes (We did Ae, Kiroughtree, Dalbeattie and Marbie). Special thanks to Pam and co for setting us up for a full days ride with a quality full cooked breakfast. Absolutely enjoyed everyday and would not hesitate to visit again. See you same time next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

First stayed here 4 years ago and recently stayed again as part of a large group 10 adults and 12 kids. Think many of the criticisms post here are unfair and simply miss the point of this place. Beautiful setting, great biking and walking. Outdoor hottub is fantastic. Able to allow kids a degree of freedom to roam which is rare these days. Accommodation is basic but clean and comfortable. Numerous wood burning stoves add to charm.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Jamesthescot71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

This place is different. You have to be in tune with it, or you'll hate it. We stayed in one of the bunkhouses. It was basic. Positives: friendly welcome, fantastic location in forest near to 7 Stanes mountain bike trails, big well stocked self-catering kitchen, cosy log burner. Negatives: beds with springs in uncomfortable places, loud generator which went off at midnight and left us with no lighting.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew_B1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
9.0 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,079 reviews
6.7 mi away
Southpark House
Southpark House
#1 of 2 in Locharbriggs
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
3.9 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
8.8 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marthrown of Mabie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marthrown of Mabie

Address: Mabie Forest, Dumfries DG2 8HB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Dumfries
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Try somewhere different - we have a Celtic Roundhouse, Tipi, Mongolian Yurt, Bunkhouse with 26 beds over 4 rooms and a camping area up in the forest. We also have a hot tub and sauna in the grounds for our guests.Looking forward to seeing you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marthrown Of Mabie Hotel Dumfries
Marthrown Of Mabie Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing