We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Horrid & Vile!”
Review of Mabie House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mabie House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 51 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Absolutely Horrid & Vile!”
Reviewed 31 August 2010

The service of the bar staff was excellent, we honestly could not fault it, however...

Upon arrival, 1pm, we were advised check in wasn't until 2, which was fine, we were early and had some lunch. However at 2pm we were advised the room woud be 5-10 minutes. It wasn't until 4.45pm (3 hours and 45 minutes late) we finally got the room key. It wouldn't have been so bad but we had travelled all day and they kept lying by saying the room would only be 5 minutes.

The bed was dirty and unchanged when we arrived, there was black hairs and dirty marks on the linnen. The toilet was constantly broken. The room was above the kitchen so constantly noisey and extremely hot with no fans. The drinks were over priced. We had food posining from dinner. The shower scalded me.

The attitude of the manager was disgraceful when we checked out - saying we had nothing to complain about. DO NOT STAY HERE!!! VILE PLACE & HORRID MANAGEMENT!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tripreview84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    41
    18
    5
    10
See reviews for
79
126
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2010

The staff at the hotel were brilliant in our 'hour of need'. After a fantastic day's cycling in the forest, we returned to the car to discover that we had lost the car key! Aaaagh.......wallet , mobile phone,house keys etc all in the car........and we were camping several miles from here......
Hotel were so accommodating; allowing us to use their phone, providing reviving cups of tea......and despite our muddy attire, making us feel so welcome! Amazing - and so refreshing to have staff who really cared!
Cannot thank the owner enough for looking after us; and best of all....that the car key was handed in!
Hotel and grounds really wonderful......and cannot wait to try out one of the 'garden pods' on our next cycle adventure to Mabie Forest!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJL35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Ok
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Classy hotel in a part of Scotland that I've fallen in love with. Gorgeous setting. If you like to hike, there are trailheads into the Mabie Forest a minute from the hotel's front door. If you like to bike, there's a bike rental shop next door (The Shed) and bike trailheads that leave from there. The hiking & biking trails are various distances & difficulty; all are well-marked. I was very impressed.

The hotel is clean, comfortable, and the rooms are spacious by European standards. Staff was friendly & helpful. Breakfast was good. Close to perfect.

Only downsides: No internet or phone anywhere in the hotel. Dumfries is 5 miles away; you'll pay about 8 pounds to take a taxi from town & back in, or you can catch a bus that stops about a half mile from the hotel. Small complaints, though, given the beauty of this setting.

I love this part of Scotland & hope to get back often; this is where I'll stay every time.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TulsaLonghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2010

i will start of by saying this is the third time Ive stayed here and it is every bit as good as before. Ive stayed in the rooms and the pods and enjoyed my stay what ever the accommodation. this last visit i was travelling alone so stayed in the hotel on a b-b basis. i was there for a 4 day mountain biking break and this was a fantastic central location for everything within 75 miles of there. the room was clean, well equipped with storage for clothes etc. had a flat screen TV with free view for your enjoyment, lovely red hot showers. what more can i say. the bed was a double and was very comfortable at night. my room was at the back of the hotel and i enjoyed watching the red squirrels playing on the bird tables and the nut hangers, its the little things in life that make it sweet. i found the staff were friendly, helpful and informative if i had a request or needed some advice, directions etc. the restaurant/ bar were well stocked and supplied excellent menus at breakfast and evening time. i wasn't there at lunch so cant honestly comment. the surroundings were idyllic and quiet, the forest is a lovely pleasant place to walk and relax or in my case to get my bike out and ride the local mountain bike course. situated close to the motorway made it an easy drive there and i will be back again soon. i paid a premium for being a solo occupant but that is everywhere so no complaints. there was ample safe secure storage for my bike and plenty of parking for guests. fires were on so never cold and nice to sit on the big sofas in the foya when relaxing with a drink. hope this covers everything. 5 stars from me all the way.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metamania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We stayed at this hotel as a last minute break. On driving up to the hotel we were stunned by the beautiful location, set within acres of forest, and the hotel grounds were lovingly kept. The room was large, comfortable and clean. The breakfast was fabulous, full scottish was lovely, all hail the chef!
On the negative side, we found the staff seemed a little uncaring. On the occasions we needed assistance we found it lacking: On check in we found the reception staff unresponsive - whilst my husband struggled through doors and up the stairs with 4 bags the receptionist gave an unconcerned "are you alright with them yeah?" as she carried on with what she was doing. When the tv did not work the guy on reception was unhelpful and we had to fix the problem ourselves. On other various requests we found the service lacklustre.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twounlimited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

My sisters wedding reception was held here. You really couldn’t have asked for more, the buffet meal was delicious – there was a good range of traditional Scottish food as well as vegetarian options and a hog roast later in the evening.

We played highland games on the lawn which were organised by the managers and danced till we dropped to the fabulous band.

The accommodation was comfortable and the breakfast delicious.

We will definitely be back to explore this area and stay here again. There are camping huts on the grounds and you can hire mountain bikes locally. We saw red squirrels for the first time!

A good base to discover Scotland – close to the coast and only an hour away from the Lakes.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bexalicous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2010

We found this delightful hotel in 2006 whilst staying nearby, since then we have stayed at the hotel five times. We are always well looked after, the staff are great always willing to do anything for you. The rooms are very comfortable and well decorated, the honeymoon suite is fantastic with great views and its own sitting room. We took over the entire hotel with family and friends for a weekend in May 2009 all our guests had a great time, all expressing how relaxing, warm and welcoming all the staff are. The food is wonderful, always well cooked and a great choice of dishes. My husband’s favourite is the chicken and apricot curry. The full Scottish breakfast keeps you going the whole day. All in all a wonderful hotel, go visit, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kissingwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,058 reviews
8.9 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
3.7 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
320 reviews
23.8 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mabie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mabie House Hotel

Property: Mabie House Hotel
Address: Mabie, Dumfries DG2 8HB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Georgian House standing in its own landscaped gardens in the centre of Mabie Forest yet only 3 miles from Dumfries. A family-run hotel providing friendly, personal service with flexibility to meet your personal requirements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mabie House Hotel Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing