We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything we needed”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cargen Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MrsEastwo...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mice!”
Reviewed 12 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
4
people found this review helpful

Not happy with our 3 night stay. First night mouse seen running under the bed & mouse droppings in pyrex dish and behind cooker. Mouse trap had to be set and no sleep until mouse caught at 2.15am. Set trap again and another mouse caught 4.45am the next morning. Not much sleep the 3 nights and was so glad to get home. Ruined our holiday!Refund would be appreciated.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2018
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to review Cargen Cottage. Regarding the incident with the mouse ( which was in fact a rare pygmy shrew, they sneak in through doors which are left open. They are harmless, do not infest a property and are very easy to catch humanely. I tried to explain this at the time)
The night we were notified of the presence of a shrew, we set a trap.
We are a small family run cottage rental business, we meet many people each year and this is something we cherish. We contacted you again to see if all was well with the rest of your visit. In which you did not indicate that there were any more concerns. Indeed you did not mention that the shrew had been caught. For us it is not a common problem but small situations like these do arise from time to time and we endeavour to be accommodating as possible. If we had been notified that it was such a concern to you, we would have been able to offer an alternative cottage and the visitors who checked in after you did enjoy their stay immensely and detailed their appreciation in our guest book. We are sorry that your stay at Cargen Cottage was not enjoyable due to the problem outlined in your review but we do hope that you still enjoyed your holiday in Dumfries and Galloway. It really is such a beautiful place.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
1 review
“Everything we needed”
Reviewed 13 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Great wee cottage, small but perfectly formed. It ticked all our wants, was clean, bright and warm, the host left essentials that were greatly appreciated after a long journey. We have family in Dumfries and felt the location was perfect for visiting and popping in and out of the town. Would definitely stay again and recommend this place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
741lovefo...
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Having a lovely quite time in beautiful surroundings, Anna always here if we need her.”
Reviewed 4 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Work oriented but every thing you would need for a lovely serene holiday in a gorgeous cottage and weather great as well lovely day today sun shining but even when snowing or raining you are pretty much in a natural setting views fantastic as well.This is week 1 of 4.Highly recommended****

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SJT75
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely little hideaway”
Reviewed 6 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

A very comfortable cottage, well-equipped and peaceful.

I had a great week here, using the cottage as my base for mountain-biking at the 7 Stanes centres. It was always lovely to return here to do my laundry, prepare a nice meal and to relax. The cottage was warm and comfortable with everything I needed. The shower comes off a combi-boiler so has a good pressure and hot. The heating is from an A/C unit which warms the place up very quickly when required. The bed is comfy, too. The wi-fi was excellent (I ran my own Chromecast on the TV) and the nearby road mentioned by other reviewers was certainly not an issue (and made travelling by car very convenient); the cottage isn't actually ON the main road, of course!

Anna was very friendly and welcoming; although I found nothing to be missing and had no problems with the cottage, I'm sure she would have been able to help very quickly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“good location”
Reviewed 27 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This place worked for me because of the location, it takes dogs, and allows short breaks. The owner was friendly and helpful.
It is extremely close to the busy A75. and it is overlooked by other cottages.
There is no bath.
The furnishings and fittings are a bit basic/dated

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnalynn...
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
“Cozy cottage.”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Quiet, clean cottage. Easy to find and not too far from town. Everything was lovely. We did have some trouble with the washing machine - it didn't spin dry the clothes so they were sopping wet when we removed them. There is no electric dryer, just a folding rack. Other than that, it was great. The kitchen was well equipped and the bathroom was clean and modern.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to prepare our own meals.
Liked least: The washer/dryer problems
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2016
Thanks for the comment. We have put a new washing machine into the cottage. xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary J
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cosycomfortable cottage which catered for all our needs.”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

cosycomfortable cottage which catered for all our needs. Well placed for visiting the various attractions in the area

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing