We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great place to stay - perfect for families!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ashwood Lodge

Cabin set apart surrounded by fields of Galloway cattle, woods and hills.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cabin set apart surrounded by fields of Galloway cattle, woods and hills.
Large double-height front to living area gives spectacular views over unspoilt countryside.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Cabin set apart surrounded by fields of Galloway cattle, woods and hills.
Large double-height front to living area gives spectacular views over unspoilt countryside.
Frontage showing south facing balcony with views over the Solway Firth to the Lake District.
View of cabin with backdrop of Solway Firth and the Lake District.
Double height living area.
Spacious and comfortable living, and dining area accessible to kitchen.
Living area from kitchen.
Upstairs lounge area with views out over balcony to south, Solway Firth and Lakes.
Characterful master bedroom with views of farm and crags.
Upstairs double bedroom with views across fields and woods.
Upstairs bathroom with shower.
The farms famous Belted Galloway's in neighbouring field make are a regular sight from the cabin.
View west wards from balcony.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kelly P
1 review
“A great place to stay - perfect for families!”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We've just returned from a really lovely week staying in this fab lodge.
The property is really spacious - the photos simply do not do it justice!!
It's fully equipped with anything & everything you'd need & the owner even provides extra supplies, which I didn't expect (washing powder, fabric softener, dishwasher tablets, etc). There was also a lovely welcome pack which included shortbread, chocolates, tea, coffee etc.
We had our little boy with us who is 20months, the lodge already had a highchair there, baby gate at the foot of the stairs & lots of plastic plates, cutlery etc for kids. I thought this was a great service as it meant we didn't have to bring as much from home. He just loved running around the place enjoying the space.
The only thing I would maybe recommend is having another baby gate in the property which could be used at the top of the stairs. I'm being super picky with this though, as it didn't cause us a problem as such, it just would have given us extra peace of mind. It really is a great place to stay with kids.
The gardens are 100% secluded & felt like we were in a world of our own. Our little boy & dog enjoyed running around the gardens.
I would say you need a car to be able to make the most of the area. We visited some really beautiful places & the coastline in the area is just stunning (portpatrick is definitely worth a visit). Lots of gorgeous beaches nearby too.
Overall, a great stay & we'll return one day. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to anyone - especially families.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lespaulhe...
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Just Perfect!”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We booked this stunning lodge just based on a few photos (which honestly dont do it justice). 4 young children in tow we needed somewhere large and interesting.
Honestly this lodge is one of the nicest places we have ever visited. Spacious, well equipped, stunning views, loads of nature including red deer, bats, buzzards, red squirrels and 100's of garden birds which kept my 4 and 7 year old girls amused every morning. Make sure you buy some peanuts and bird food though to best enjoy them.
The house has a huge window and from the comfort of the indoor balcony you can get lost in time looking through it. The house was clean, bright and warm and we even had a lovely welcome pack of chocolate and shortbread. Every detail has been thought about by the host Anne ( a fellow Devonian) including dishwasher tablets, BBQ, games, radio etc etc.
There is no WiFi which only adds to the proper family holiday.
When you are here you must visit Sandyhills beach only about a mile and a half away, explore the nature reserve at the bottom of the road for deer, squirrels and the odd adder.
The local shop in Colvend has everything you need and lots of local ales, fudge and treats.
Dumfries is about a 20 minute drive away which has a Morrisons and a Tesco and some fast food places if you so wish.
At night you can hear nothing at all and there is no light pollution its truly an escape for the world. There are loads of activities near by (make sure you do a forest walk) but equally you can sit in the lodge and relax.
Cant say enough good things about this stunning lodge and family that look after you.
We hope to come back again as this place is truly special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Going home:(
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: open plan and scenery
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Colin A
1 review
“Serene”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Lovely lodge on approach quite secluded fully equipped with stunning scenery. Being from the area anyway we know it very well but have never came across this superb lodge before. The welcome pack and essentials was a very nice and appreciated touch. The lodge itself is very very comfortable and even in the awful Easter weather really cosy. I would thoroughly recommend this lodge and will be again again this year without a doubt.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home
Liked least: Wifi or lack of
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing