We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace and quiet personified, plus a stunning...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ashwood Lodge

Cabin set apart surrounded by fields of Galloway cattle, woods and hills.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cabin set apart surrounded by fields of Galloway cattle, woods and hills.
Large double-height front to living area gives spectacular views over unspoilt countryside.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Cabin set apart surrounded by fields of Galloway cattle, woods and hills.
Large double-height front to living area gives spectacular views over unspoilt countryside.
Frontage showing south facing balcony with views over the Solway Firth to the Lake District.
View of cabin with backdrop of Solway Firth and the Lake District.
Double height living area.
Spacious and comfortable living, and dining area accessible to kitchen.
Living area from kitchen.
Upstairs lounge area with views out over balcony to south, Solway Firth and Lakes.
Characterful master bedroom with views of farm and crags.
Upstairs double bedroom with views across fields and woods.
Upstairs bathroom with shower.
The farms famous Belted Galloway's in neighbouring field make are a regular sight from the cabin.
View west wards from balcony.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ukwren201...
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely setting, but not the place for us”
Reviewed 9 August 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Dumfries has some beautiful scenery, and this house is in a beautiful situation. There are some lovely views to be enjoyed. There is plenty of space for a large party.

However, the house backs onto a farm, so I would not call it secluded.

We could not get the DVD to work on the television (yes, we are quite tech-savvy), which disappointed our youngster. We were all a bit taken aback to find a dead bird behind the tele when checking for the proper cables.

The yard is not quite secure, and the house surrounded by fields with cows & sheep, so it wasn't suitable to let our dog out except under very strict watch, and just to toilet. Walking with our lab was a challenge in the area due to the large number of animals in the fields/area. I suppose that we are a bit spoiled up in the Highlands in the space available to walk dogs without worrying about roads and animals.

The beds were the worst that I've slept on in years. The largest bedroom had such an awful bed that I moved to sleep on one of the twins (leaving my husband to stay in the bed alone!).

At some times of the year we travel a lot -- generally a long weekend away every month -- so we have stayed in several places over the years, and I cannot give this a good rating based simply on a nice view (there are many of those in Scotland). With this home, after reading the reviews, I wondered why such a huge disparity between our experience and other reviewers. It remains a mystery.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2017
Sheila,

Thank you for your comments and we are sorry you did not find everything to your liking. We will investigate the issues you raised and remedy as necessary. The location of the cabin on a livestock farm did not appear to suit you however this fact is clear from our listings which include pictures of Galloway cattle grazing next door to the cabin. We actively promote the fact the cabin is on a farm with native breeds of livestock and most of our guests appreciate this. It is up to guests to be happy with their choice before booking. It is also worth stating that the cabin is not 'surrounded' by livestock; there are native oak and hazel woods on two sides and a small paddock on the other two into which we periodically put three or four Galloway cattle or a couple of ponies. The road is a quiet lane used by local residents which most guests see as a major plus facilitating quiet walking and cycling and fine views.

We were unaware that there was anything amiss with the comfort of the double bed as we have not had any previous comments on this. We will investigate and remedy as necessary. We will also check the DVD and replace if need be. It was unfortunate for yourselves and the bird that it had become trapped behind the television in a spot that was difficult for our cleaners to spot. Given the varied and prolific bird population in the woods, fields and gardens around the cabin such incidents can occasionally be expected.

Regards, Julian Bell
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thelawrie...
Corby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace and quiet personified, plus a stunning backdrop and sandy beach”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Perfect location to kick back and leave your everyday cares and worries behind! A big and spacious property with everything you need. Great garden for bird watching plus stunning scenery all around. There is the best sandy beach in the area within walking distance, a couple of great golf courses and plenty of other activities only a short drive away. We could also take our dog who loved it too. It was our first time in the area, but it won't be that last! Would definitely recommend!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2017
Rod,

Good to meet you all and glad you enjoyed your stay at Ashwood and the local sites and golf courses! Regards Julian Bell
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IonasTear...
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing countryside lodge”
Reviewed 14 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We booked this lodge in the countryside for the perfect mix of peace and relaxation and also enough to keep two children (aged 5 and 10) occupied for the week. Ashwood Lodge did not disappoint! The lodge itself is spacious and has everything you could possibly need - the owners seem to have thought of everything. The setting is beautiful with lots of wildlife (including bunnies on the lawn everyday!). Although it is remote, there is a well stocked village shop nearby and the local towns and villages were stunning. There was plenty for the children to do in the local area - lots of walks, nature reserves, beaches, etc. as well as some attractions a little further away including a farm park and a chocolate factory. There was something for the whole family and I'm sure we will stay again at Ashwood Lodge as we could not fault it. Thank you to the owners for such a great stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kikipood
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely break”
Reviewed 20 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed in this lodge for 3 nights in May we had lovely weather and the lodge was great ,very quiet and secluded stunning countryside and towns not too far away would recommend this place to everyone thanks Julian

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Lovely place. Spacious and comfortable, and a beautiful setting. Everything provided for a very enjoyable stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrop113
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Easter weekend ”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I stayed at Ashwood over the Easter holiday and we loved it, the lodge is perfectly situated to explore the local area with great beaches within walking distance. It's close enough to local towns to enjoy the amenities they offer but far enough away to offer total seclusion, we found the lodge itself cosy and very well appointed with everything we needed to make the most of our time there. I would have no reservation in recommending the lodge and look forward to visiting again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
Anthony, Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and we would look forward to seeing you if you come again, best wishes Julian Bell
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing