We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another perfect stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Fabulous beach front location
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fabulous beach front location
Huge picture windows overlooking the bay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Fabulous beach front location
Huge picture windows overlooking the bay
Wetroom with wetsuit drying rack
Sailing, kayaking, swimming  and fishing on the doorstep
Master bedroom with balcony and vaulted ceiling
Bathroom with a view
Airds Bay is in the centre of this photo
Mackerel fresh from the bay!
Guest photo by Alex
Guest photo by Alex
Sunsets to remember
Dining table with a view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Gatehouse of Fleet, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DEJONGUK
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Another perfect stay”
Reviewed 4 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

To be truthful the naughty side of me wants to not tell anyone about this beautiful house... but the good person inside me remembers that's it's good to share! This is our second time here, everything was as perfect as ever inside and out... cannot rate this house highly enough, Julia the owner is so lovely to communicate with too. We have already booked our next stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2017
Alex, thank you for taking the time to review your most recent visit and delighted you had another enjoyable stay. Look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janis60
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fabulous beach house in a spectacular setting”
Reviewed 31 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This is a beautiful, well designed and comfortable house aimed at those who love the outdoors but like to come home to a touch of style and comfort. The location is quite literally right on the beach with views second to none whatever the weather. Watch the tides come and go and if you are lucky with clear skies admire the spectacular stars in this 'dark skies' area. The house was so comfortable with all equipment and furnishings of a high standard. The owner's attention and communication was excellent. I almost don't want to post this review but to keep it to ourselves!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2017
Thank you for the lovely review of our beach house and delighted that you had a break in weather to enjoy the dark sky spectacle. Funnily enough you are not the first guests wanting to keep quiet about Airds Bay! Hope to welcome you back again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberley...
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We were looking forward to our stay at Airds Bay, ever since seeing the photos online. The reality of the house and the location however, completely exceeded our expectations - what a place! The beach house itself is incredible; well designed and immaculately presented yet homely and comfortable. The location is a must for any beach lovers. Situated directly on the lovely wide and shallow bay, it was perfect for a paddle and kayak - even in October! And the house is well equipped for ensuring the beach doesn't end up back in the house with you - with the cleverly planned boot room and downstairs wet room complete with wetsuit rack. Julia was a very responsive and helpful host which helped make our stay go without a hitch. Would recommend and would love to return - I didn't want to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The design of the house, the view, the location
Liked least: WiFi was a bit iffy
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2016
Thank you for the lovely review Kimberley. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DEJONGUK
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Well in some ways we wish we had never discovered this gem... As I doubt we will ever find anywhere to live up to it! The location is stunning, falling asleep and waking up to the crash of waves each day a pure blessing, if you are lucky enough to get a cloud free night like we did... A treat is in store, the night sky is unbelievable... We saw the Milky Way and more stars than I have ever seen! Then the house itself... Very beautiful and stylish, every comfort has been thought of, the photos do not do it justice! The furnishings and fittings are top notch and lots of lovely touches! Julia is great to communicate with. Cannot recommend enough! We are already planning our next visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2016
Thank you for the lovely review Alex, so pleased that you enjoyed your weekend at Airds Bay and that you saw the fabulous dark sky. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auriel99
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most relaxing holiday ever, with beautiful views and everything you could want in a lovely home.”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed time on the beach every day and at high-tide we swam and the boys went out in the Kayak. We did the local walks to the fabulous Cream of Galloway for ice-cream and cream teas and to Gatehouse of Fleet (a longer walk but woodland all the way). The local towns of Newton Stewart, Castle Douglas, Kirkcudbright and Wigtown were worth the trip, with loads of good eating places. We also went to Dumfries for a very enjoyable day's shopping.

We climbed up to the Neilson Monument and enjoyed the spectacular views and had a very informative trip to Cairn Holy where we met local expert Joseph, who enthralled us for a couple of hours with his studies of the standing stones.

The house is very comfortable with beautiful views from every room. There is everything you could need and a great boot room and toilet that you can access from the beach when wet and sandy.

We had a really lovely holiday here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: You realy need a car to get around
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review of your stay at the beach house. Pleased to hear that your boys enjoyed the kayak in the bay and that you were able to discover lots of treasures in the local area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andywack
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Remarkable, relaxing, fun, fires and Beautiful Scenery”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A great decision to visit Airds Bay prior to our Duke of Edinburgh presentation. A fantastic and accessible facility, when we arrived it truly fell like walking into something out of grand designs. Stunning views, first class accommodation/facilities/guidance with simple basic pleasures which all the family can enjoy together (books, games, telescopes, maps... The list goes on and on-and on and of course there is always the outdoor joys within the shed for the kids to use next time we visit). Real creature comforts and yet you feel like you are completely away from home, from the stress of work the scenery is truly beautiful. We loved every minute and I even taught my partner how to make a fire in the log burner- A fantastic weekend, we can't wait to visit again! Thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful beach house”
Reviewed 24 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Superbly designed house for outdoor and family holidays--straight from the beach into a boot room and wetroom ensures the rest of the house stays sand free! Every facility you could want, all of high quality. Great beds and then the location-we love it and return to the area a couple of times a year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Top quality house and location.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2017
Thank you for the kind review and also for the fabulous aerial photography of Airds Bay. Hope to welcome you back again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing