We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor accommodation”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Murray Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Murray Arms
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor accommodation”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The staff are helpful and the highlight of staying at this substandard accommodation. We stayed in a top floor family room, with no central heating and an over bath shower that was suitable only for small adults due to height restrictions. Bar area is dull and small and the Hotel needs a massive upgrade in terms of decor and facilities - many features look like they have had no attention for over 20 years at least.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    34
    22
    12
    11
See reviews for
31
31
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for one night only. The hotel looks great from the outside but inside is old tired looking and the corridors had a damp smell. The rooms were great, spacious and clean. The tv didn't work although the manager did everything possible to try to get it working, and offered me another room. The staff are fantastic and I can't help feeling the owners are letting their staff and the hotel down. There are cheaper alternatives of accommodation in the village. Ste Borg

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gatehouse of Fleet hotels

Leeds
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We had an excellent vegetarian meal in this hotel at a very reasonable price and served very quickly despite the fact there was a function going on. the staff could not have been more attentive or friendly. The downstairs decor was fine and comfortable though perhaps in need of some upgrading in certain areas. However we hope that the bar area will not be messed with too much. We liked the intimate little spaces and comfortable chairs.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darkisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

We came across this gem when looking for somewhere to feed two overtired children! The staff from the offset were incredibly welcoming and helpful. Nothing seemed too much trouble.
The food was lovely, well priced, tasty and generous portions. The kids menu was excellent and our four year old adored the macaroni cheese and devoured the chocolate ice cream. Overall a wonderful relaxing dining experience which as patents of a nearly 2 year old and 4 year old is really saying something!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank frippysnarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Went here for dinner without booking but we were still able to be seated. Staff were pleasant and efficient, service very good. However the place is looking a bit tired these days. The restaurant carpet needs a good clean / replace and function chairs stacked int the corner weren't ideal. Plus plastic flowers, in a glass of water? If you're going to do 'pretend' then don't mix it up! And plastic bay trees at the entrance? I appreciate the effect that was intended but none or 'real' is better. Food was quite good but needed a bit more thought. My deep fried goats cheese was delicious, but suggest the onions not put on til last minute as the top and base of it was soggy, which was a pity and easily remedied. But overall an enjoyable evening and again I can only praise the staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JR5632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the middle of August with our 3 young children, and had a wonderful stay. The food was excellent, the staff went out of their way to accommodate us.. The kids loved it!! A few examples of above and beyond.. Every morning waiting for us in the breakfast room was a high chair all set up for our baby! This same baby , who is a greedy guts, was eyeing up the strawberries on my eldest child's dessert.. And without saying a word, the waitress noticed and came back with a bowl of berries for the baby - chopped up so they were safe for her! It is little touches like this that can make all the difference when travelling with 3 children under 6! We had two large attic rooms which had plenty of space for all of us with warm comfy beds and plenty of hot water. The food was excellent. The childrens menu was perfect and plenty of veggies too!! Highlights were the haggis for breakfast and the sticky toffee pudding! My particular favourite was the Lemon tart - a delicious treat with lovely pastry and a real lemon hit beautifully complimented with a crisp sugar glaze! They also make a mean cup of tea.. With homemade tablet!!
Overall we would definately stay again, it is true that parts of the hotel do need modernising, but having stayed in too many hotels to mention, I have to say that it is the service and helpful touches that can make the real difference when travelling (especially with kids!). I have stayed in many impeccably decorated hotels that are soulless and virtually impossible to get any assistance.. At the Murray Arms I truly felt that nothing was too much trouble! Great place - really looking forward to visiting again.. Especially when the refurb is finished!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Went here for dinner without booking but we were still able to be seated.

Staff were pleasant and efficient.

We both started with haggis, neeps and tatties with a cream sauce. Sorry to say, it was a bit bland and the sauce was a little watery.

I had pork belly as a main course which was good and my wife had mussels, which were okay.

We shared the dessert of Crème Brulee served with poached strawberries. The custard was nice but the topping could have been glazed better.

It was not very expensive and the food reflected this.

No better than average I'm afraid.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gatehouse of Fleet
0.0 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
12.9 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
11.0 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 5 in Castle Douglas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Arms

Property: Murray Arms
Address: High Street, Gatehouse of Fleet DG7 2HY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gatehouse of Fleet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Gatehouse of Fleet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Murray Arms 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Murray Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray Arms Gatehouse Of Fleet, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing