We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hospitality in an historic setting”
Review of Murray Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Murray Arms
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Despite the dreadful weather we received a warm and welcoming reception at the Murray Arms.
This family run hotel is set in the centre of the lovely town ( village ??? ) of Gatehouse of Fleet, only a few miles from the Scottish coast.
Even in February it is a charming place to visit and the Murray Arms makes a great base.
Our room ( Number 8) was very spacious, with two extremely comfortable beds, a TV , plenty of tea/coffee, a huge bath and a shower, with ample hot water and big fluffy towels. We had an excellent nights sleep. The building is very old but was extremely clean, and even though it was blowing a gale outside, our room was nice and warm .The owners had put in extra heating prior to our arrival to supplement the central heating, which was working full blast due to the very inclement weather.
Double glazing would have helped as the single glazed windows were a bit draughty, but it is a listed building after all.

There is a small but cosy bar with a big choice of drinks at very reasonable prices. Even at dinner a decent bottle of wine was only £13 .

The staff could not due enough for us. Nothing was too much trouble. We were attending a private party at the Murray Arms and had the most wonderful meal. The menu was mouthwatering and our dinner was freshly cooked and delicious. They obviously have a very good chef and kitchen team.

Breakfast was also not to be missed. Try the full Scottish, eggs, bacon, sausage, hagggis, mushrooms, tomatoes, beans, and potato scones. As much tea and coffee as you can drink as well a full range of cereal, toast and jam, fruit, yoghurt and juices.We didn't need to eat again until dinner time.

Like a lot of old buildings in Scotland, there is on going renovations. Don't visit if you want a modern faceless hotel room , but if you want an historic rambling hotel , fuill of interest and quirks, with great service and hospitality that is second to none then this is the Murray Arms is for you

We shall definitely go back.

Room Tip: Number 8 was great. Very quiet and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheDuchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

We've been using this hotel, both as guests and diners for over ten years now, during which time it's seen a few changes of both ownership and fortunes.
Last time we stayed, we found the room rather cold, this was four years ago, but we only paid £10 a night for the room anyway! Since then, the owners are working hard to refurbish the rather dated accommodation, but funds are rather limited, so they're doing it properly, one room at a time. In the meantime they're accommodating guests at their sister hotel, the Ship Inn at the other end of the High Street.
We stayed a few years ago for the Hogmanay Ceilidh - quite simply the best party we've ever been to, bar none!
What is consistently good at the Murray Arms is the food, it is absolutely fantastic! We have never had a bad meal, whether it be breakfast (when staying), lunch or dinner. A very varied menu, including the staple haggis, neeps and tatties. Our last meal was dinner on 29th Sept, we had the restaurant to ourselves, but the food and service were excellent.
What this hotel lacks in glitz is more than made up for by its quirky character, which it has in spades, and wonderful, friendly staff for whom nothing is too much trouble.
As I said in the heading, don't knock it, getting the Murray Arms back to its former glory is a huge job, and they're working extremely hard at it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The staff are helpful and the highlight of staying at this substandard accommodation. We stayed in a top floor family room, with no central heating and an over bath shower that was suitable only for small adults due to height restrictions. Bar area is dull and small and the Hotel needs a massive upgrade in terms of decor and facilities - many features look like they have had no attention for over 20 years at least.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for one night only. The hotel looks great from the outside but inside is old tired looking and the corridors had a damp smell. The rooms were great, spacious and clean. The tv didn't work although the manager did everything possible to try to get it working, and offered me another room. The staff are fantastic and I can't help feeling the owners are letting their staff and the hotel down. There are cheaper alternatives of accommodation in the village. Ste Borg

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We had an excellent vegetarian meal in this hotel at a very reasonable price and served very quickly despite the fact there was a function going on. the staff could not have been more attentive or friendly. The downstairs decor was fine and comfortable though perhaps in need of some upgrading in certain areas. However we hope that the bar area will not be messed with too much. We liked the intimate little spaces and comfortable chairs.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darkisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

We came across this gem when looking for somewhere to feed two overtired children! The staff from the offset were incredibly welcoming and helpful. Nothing seemed too much trouble.
The food was lovely, well priced, tasty and generous portions. The kids menu was excellent and our four year old adored the macaroni cheese and devoured the chocolate ice cream. Overall a wonderful relaxing dining experience which as patents of a nearly 2 year old and 4 year old is really saying something!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank frippysnarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Went here for dinner without booking but we were still able to be seated. Staff were pleasant and efficient, service very good. However the place is looking a bit tired these days. The restaurant carpet needs a good clean / replace and function chairs stacked int the corner weren't ideal. Plus plastic flowers, in a glass of water? If you're going to do 'pretend' then don't mix it up! And plastic bay trees at the entrance? I appreciate the effect that was intended but none or 'real' is better. Food was quite good but needed a bit more thought. My deep fried goats cheese was delicious, but suggest the onions not put on til last minute as the top and base of it was soggy, which was a pity and easily remedied. But overall an enjoyable evening and again I can only praise the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank JR5632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gatehouse of Fleet
1 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
86 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
147 reviews
6.2 mi away
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Arms

Address: High Street, Gatehouse of Fleet DG7 2HY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gatehouse of Fleet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Gatehouse of Fleet
Price Range: £93 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Murray Arms 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Murray Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray Arms Gatehouse Of Fleet, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing