We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Murray Arms
Nearby Hotels
The Market Inn Hotel(Castle Douglas)
US$119
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bank of Fleet Hotel(Gatehouse of Fleet)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cally Palace Hotel(Gatehouse of Fleet)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Selkirk Arms Hotel(Kirkcudbright)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Urr Valley Hotel(Castle Douglas)
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Crown Hotel(Newton Stewart)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Downshire Hotel(Portpatrick)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bruce Hotel(Newton Stewart)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
24
43
28
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
43
28
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshave eaten hererobbie burnsold coaching innmain coursenice mealbit datedbed was very comfortablecouldn't faulta lovely staylovely roomwarm welcomesurreygatehousefleetjimscotlandtoiletries
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a basic hotel offering good value for money and a good welcome. The bedroom was pleasant, some of the public rooms such as the restaurant are less so. Food is old fashioned but ok. The wine list is good and service satisfactory.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reiver59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The warm friendly welcome at reception was a good start to my stay at this old coaching inn. The room was pleasant enough, in a slightly retro way, and well-maintained and clean. The tea and coffee tray was generous, complete with biscuits. Arriving early, there was a problem with the television, which did not click into life until 3pm - whether this is standard or a one-off I could not say. The advertised wi-fi could not be accessed in the room - the nice lady downstairs subsequently attributed this to the thickness of the walls, rather than the thickness of this particular guest! Needing to be out early in the evening, I settled for a quick meal in the bar, adequate, but rather dear for what was really canteen food. Breakfast was again served by delightful staff and offered a good choice.

It would make a decent base for a longer stay for those wishing to explore Galloway, set as it is in a charming small town amid delightful scenery. The facilities may be average, but oh, those lovely smiles!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Still_Artnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

A simple, but very pleasant lunch with friends in a relaxed setting. Hotel staff were very helpful to advise and accommodate me with my coeliac diet, which can still be a stumbling block in many places.
I had a gluten-free brown bread open smoked salmon sandwich. It arrived with a good amount of salmon, but I though it perhaps a wee bit short on the salad garnish? Have I been too spoilt elsewhere? The most interestingly presented, and very tasty, small bucket of chips arrived for each of us. We were left to eat in peace, but had enough attention to sort out any requirements.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Despite the dreadful weather we received a warm and welcoming reception at the Murray Arms.
This family run hotel is set in the centre of the lovely town ( village ??? ) of Gatehouse of Fleet, only a few miles from the Scottish coast.
Even in February it is a charming place to visit and the Murray Arms makes a great base.
Our room ( Number 8) was very spacious, with two extremely comfortable beds, a TV , plenty of tea/coffee, a huge bath and a shower, with ample hot water and big fluffy towels. We had an excellent nights sleep. The building is very old but was extremely clean, and even though it was blowing a gale outside, our room was nice and warm .The owners had put in extra heating prior to our arrival to supplement the central heating, which was working full blast due to the very inclement weather.
Double glazing would have helped as the single glazed windows were a bit draughty, but it is a listed building after all.

There is a small but cosy bar with a big choice of drinks at very reasonable prices. Even at dinner a decent bottle of wine was only £13 .

The staff could not due enough for us. Nothing was too much trouble. We were attending a private party at the Murray Arms and had the most wonderful meal. The menu was mouthwatering and our dinner was freshly cooked and delicious. They obviously have a very good chef and kitchen team.

Breakfast was also not to be missed. Try the full Scottish, eggs, bacon, sausage, hagggis, mushrooms, tomatoes, beans, and potato scones. As much tea and coffee as you can drink as well a full range of cereal, toast and jam, fruit, yoghurt and juices.We didn't need to eat again until dinner time.

Like a lot of old buildings in Scotland, there is on going renovations. Don't visit if you want a modern faceless hotel room , but if you want an historic rambling hotel , fuill of interest and quirks, with great service and hospitality that is second to none then this is the Murray Arms is for you

We shall definitely go back.

Room Tip: Number 8 was great. Very quiet and sunny.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheDuchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We've been using this hotel, both as guests and diners for over ten years now, during which time it's seen a few changes of both ownership and fortunes.
Last time we stayed, we found the room rather cold, this was four years ago, but we only paid £10 a night for the room anyway! Since then, the owners are working hard to refurbish the rather dated accommodation, but funds are rather limited, so they're doing it properly, one room at a time. In the meantime they're accommodating guests at their sister hotel, the Ship Inn at the other end of the High Street.
We stayed a few years ago for the Hogmanay Ceilidh - quite simply the best party we've ever been to, bar none!
What is consistently good at the Murray Arms is the food, it is absolutely fantastic! We have never had a bad meal, whether it be breakfast (when staying), lunch or dinner. A very varied menu, including the staple haggis, neeps and tatties. Our last meal was dinner on 29th Sept, we had the restaurant to ourselves, but the food and service were excellent.
What this hotel lacks in glitz is more than made up for by its quirky character, which it has in spades, and wonderful, friendly staff for whom nothing is too much trouble.
As I said in the heading, don't knock it, getting the Murray Arms back to its former glory is a huge job, and they're working extremely hard at it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews