We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Riverside Cafe - CLOSED

The Riverside Cafe
Price range: US$5 - US$27
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating
Description: The Riverside Cafe is situated within the beautiful and historic Mill-on-the-Fleet visitor centre.We are a family- and dog-friendly establishment with seating for 50 inside and 40 on our stunning riverside terrace.Bringing together years of experience from different catering backgrounds, our team aims to provide the highest standard of home cooking and baking at very reasonable prices. Where possible we try to source our ingredients locally and are proud to make everything we can from scratch.We look forward to welcoming new customers and old to the cafe.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Chris and Leslie know how to cook! We stopped by for refreshments and kept coming back for more. Thursday curry night was memorable. One of our party is a ceoliac and this is the first restaurant he could eat everything on the menu. It was fabulous.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    16
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We are 'Regulars'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

As a regular visitor to Gatehouse, we often eat at The Riverside Cafe. The menu is diverse and well thought out, excellent preparation and presentation combined with helpful and knowledgeable staff. Pleasant surroundings, with the bonus that there is an outside area which we use when the dogs are with us, catches the sun with a lovely view of the river. Overall excellent & we intend to continue our visits.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JR5632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a magical wonder land”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

It was like having fairies at the bottom of the garden, such was the magical transformation of the riverside cafe by Erica for our anniversary meal. The idea initially started formulating thanks to our adorable puppy who is amazing but not yet very well behaved. I wanted to surprise my husband but had to go somewhere doggy friendly. After speaking to Chris about exclusive use he pulled a night together that was truly special and unique (and very affordable for us folks who are used to massive city prices). My hubby thought we were heading to their steak night and when the penny dropped his face was priceless. Canapes and champagne at the riverside, was followed with sumptuous prawns, calamari and salmon to start. Duck being the order of the day for the main course served with cassoulet to reflect our love of french food. And finally such an amazing touch 5 home made mini desserts to represent every year we had been married. The night was finished off next to the river lit by tea lights sipping a post dinner disgestif. The only thing that could let down any ideas that you may have for the riverside cafe would be your own imagination, and that's where Erica and her creative flair stepped right in. I hope that I can find an excuse to have a party in the future I know for sure where I'll be having it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gowdspink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldham
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely place on the riverbank with good food and coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Called here on a number of occasions whilst stopping in the village , coffee was good , and the millionaire shortbread was great , not expnsive , sat on outside next to the river watching the dipper on the bank , didn't see the kingfisher but loads of fish rising ...a great location

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linzicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Several Meals later...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

As a regular visitor to Gatehouse, we often eat at The Mill. The menu is diverse and well thought out, excellent preparation and presentation combined with helpful and knowledgeable staff. Pleasant surroundings, with the bonus that there is an outside area which we use when the dogs are with us, catches the sun with a lovely view of the river. Overall excellent & we intend to continue our visits.

Helpful?
Thank JR5632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Riverside Cafe also viewed

Gatehouse of Fleet, Dumfries and Galloway
Gatehouse of Fleet, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Gatehouse of Fleet, Dumfries and Galloway
Gatehouse of Fleet, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing