We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yet another fantastic family Easter” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cally Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cally Palace Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yet another fantastic family Easter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We have stayed at the Cally Palace for Easter for a few years now with family and friends. This year there were 14 of us ranging from 3 years of age to mid 80's
We are always made very welcome by the staff, some of whom have been there for many years. The rooms are all very different, The ones in the Forrest wing overlooking the gardens have balconies and are all quite large, the front facing forrest rooms are large but don't have balconies, they overlook the golf course. The rooms in the main building vary from single rooms to suites with separate lounges, all are decorated in an old fashioned country house style.
The dining options are a main formal dining room for breakfast and dinner and for lunch, a brasserie menu served in the conservatory, both have food sourced from the local area, all of which is excellent. The main dining room sometimes opens for weekend lunches. Two large guest lounges add to the overall experience.
There is a swimming pool with a small gym but for exercise why run on a tread mill when on your door step are many acres of woodland walks where if you are lucky you can see red squirrels and deer. The walk to Sandgreen beach has wonderful views.
As for the weather this area seems to get very mild weather and for all the years we have been visiting here we have never experienced really bad weather.
The hotel has an 18 hole golf course, tennis court, putting green and various other outdoor activities.
The staff can't do enough to ensure you have a comfortable pleasant stay.
I would highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing friendly break.

Room Tip: Up grade to a deluxe room all the rooms are different but the deluxe ones are really spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judithedykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    108
    32
    10
    9
See reviews for
77
189
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stirlingshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Second trip, and as good as last time. Courteous, friendly staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. Dinner, breakfast and afternoon tea all excellent with added bonus of private golf course. Upgraded at minimal cost to charming and spacious suite overlooking golf course.
The hotel is old fashioned in the best sense of that term.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balfronStirlingshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hokitika, New Zealand
Level Contributor
347 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed here with my son for two rounds of golf and dinner bed and breakfast. The location is wonderful near Gatehouse of Fleet surrounded by woodland. We where the only ones on the golf course on the Sunday in bright sunshine. The Golf course is only open to residents which makes it very exclusive and the course is well designed and challenging. I stayed here 20 years ago and it has not changed much with some refurbishment now required with our room being very tired and the oldest TV I have seen in a hotel (not a very good picture either). It did not spoil our stay and we had a great time and the staff are very good. Upgrade the hotel and rooms and it would be perfect.

Room Tip: When choosing a room try and get a photo first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pburgess2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Visited this hotel with a deal from Hotel Connexions. My husbands parents had visited a number of years ago and sang its praises so were very excited.

Arrived on a lovely (chilly) spring afternoon having travelled through all seasons on the way. You arrive at the hotel driving through a wood which was lovely and then arrive at a large parking area that goes straight onto the golf course. The hotel sat grandly at the top of this with big pillars guarding the doorway.

We went to check in and having been advised on our letter of confirmation we would not have access to the room until 2.30pm were pleasantly surprised to be told it was ready. The check in went smoothly and we booked dinner and then a porter took us to the room showing us where everything was on the way.

We had a standard room and I wished we had booked the next one up out of sheer nosiness as the standard was huge. Yes, like someone had stated on this website the rooms were dated but somehow they look fine. If you put modern fixtures and fittings it would have looked odd. It was really like stepping back in time, everything looked old but was in good repair and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was bigger than the one we have at home with a shower over the bath.

After unpacking we headed down for some lunch in their bright and airy conservatory. We had a cream tea voucher but having been advised this was coffee and a scone we opted to have sandwiches as well to start. These were lovely and couldn't be faulted but to be honest once the fresh, homebaked scone with cream and jam arrived I wished I hadn't bothered, this was massive and I was disappointed not to be able to finish it off.

After this we went for a wander round the grounds. There are some great walks to go on so don't worry if you don't golf.

I then felt that lunch had settled and went for a swim. The pool area is very clean and you have the choice to get undressed in a small changing room or go down in your dressing gown from the room, the hotel also provide towels specifically for use at the pool. The pool is large and warm, after a few laps you can sit in the whirl pool and then the sauna. Very relaxing.

After a swim I had a bit of a snooze and then got ready for dinner. I'd initially thought the shower over the bath wouldn't be great but it was really good and had me feeling fresh and ready for dinner.

Dinner is a fairly formal affair in that you have to dress for this, men have to wear jacket and tie so I felt it only fair to get dressed up to.

Pre dinner drinks are taken in the lounge, again a step back in time with a huge roaring fire, whilst you choose your menu you are given some appetisers to get you ready for your meal.

The meal was lovely in the large dinning room, if you include the sorbet between the soup and main courses and then coffee and chocolates 6 courses in total! If I had to really nitpick I'd say that they should have softer lighting in the dinning room, the tables are well spaced out but we were in the middle and you do feel a bit exposed. Softer lights and candles on the table would just make it perfect. (I put this in my feedback form).

Coffee is taken back in the lounge and after a final drink we both headed to bed, shattered!

The bed was really soft but not uncomfortably so and we both had a great nights sleep, not to mention the complimentary sherry in the room and also coming back to find our bed turned down!

Breakfast again was fantastic, some buffet items to help yourself to and a few hot options. The Cally Grill is highly recommended and as a cooked breakfast it isn't over facing.

Check out was really easy as well, no complaints.

One point to make, the hairdryer in our room was in the bathroom and not that great. I asked in reception if they had any others and within 10 minute one was brought to the room. Its the same for ironing boards, they are not in the room but if you ask they can provide one.

Overall a fantastic stay, staff were courteous and we both felt pampered and that we had been treated like royalty. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison_1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Tried to choose a Hotel that was not too boisterous for a 3/4 day relaxing break and thanks to an offer from Hotel Conexions the Cally Palace came up.The hotel sent us a letter when we booked with the terms and conditions and highlighted jacket and tie for dining room evening meal.

The hotel has good facilities, indoor pool etc and sits in it's own country park with it's golf course.

Staff, food and accommodation were all excellent.......would we return...Yes.

Room Tip: we asked for a quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Auldbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerja, Spain
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Lovely building with pond and golf course to the front and gardens to the rear, plenty of parking and a pleasant and professional welcome from staff. Our room was very large, comfortable beds and the pool facilities looked nice and i was informed they and the sauna etc were very good. We had cream tea in the conservatory which was very nice and dinner in the main dining room in the evening was great, i found the service extremely good, efficient and professional but not too formal, choices of trout or ham terrine to start, sea bass, chicken and venison for mains, there were vegetarian options, good cheeseboard and desserts and coffee in one of the nicely decorated lounges after. Breakfast was good and we ordered packed lunches as we were going walking the next day, they were definitely above average and i liked the home made shortbread! This stay was part of an offer but i would return and happily pay much more, we had a great stay in a lovely environment and there was nothing to fault.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westwing2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Have stayed at the Cally many times. It remains my favorite hotel in Gatehouse. The atmosphere is classic country house hotel. Food and service are very good. Rooms are nice, but don't expect updated. For some reason, that is ok and fits the atmosphere. Great place to get away.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Cajun_traveler405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gatehouse of Fleet
5.7 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.9 mi away
Murray Arms
Murray Arms
#3 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
13.2 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cally Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cally Palace Hotel

Property: Cally Palace Hotel
Address: just outside Gatehouse of Fleet, Gatehouse of Fleet DG7 2DL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gatehouse of Fleet
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gatehouse of Fleet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cally Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Cally Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cally Hotel Palace
Hotel Cally Palace
Cally Palace Hotel Gatehouse Of Fleet, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing