We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cally Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Murray Arms(Gatehouse of Fleet)
US$160
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bank of Fleet Hotel(Gatehouse of Fleet)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$95
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Market Inn Hotel(Castle Douglas)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Newton Stewart)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Downshire Hotel(Portpatrick)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bruce Hotel(Newton Stewart)
US$109
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Urr Valley Hotel(Castle Douglas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Creebridge House Hotel(Newton Stewart)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveller rating
261
134
40
12
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
261
134
40
12
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsforest wingswimming poolsmall gymgolf breakdinner danceround of golfsnooker tablehotel guestsgreat golf coursethe main housepublic rooms arebeautiful hotelrooms are largefirst classpetit foursred squirrelsdinner bed and breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
314 - 319 of 462 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Average we felt for a four star hotel. Expected room to be better appointed. Evening service was attentive but breakfast (£30) indifferent with regard to food and service. OK as a stop off for ferry. Would think carefully before staying longer.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brandysparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We have stayed at the Cally Palace for Easter for a few years now with family and friends. This year there were 14 of us ranging from 3 years of age to mid 80's
We are always made very welcome by the staff, some of whom have been there for many years. The rooms are all very different, The ones in the Forrest wing overlooking the gardens have balconies and are all quite large, the front facing forrest rooms are large but don't have balconies, they overlook the golf course. The rooms in the main building vary from single rooms to suites with separate lounges, all are decorated in an old fashioned country house style.
The dining options are a main formal dining room for breakfast and dinner and for lunch, a brasserie menu served in the conservatory, both have food sourced from the local area, all of which is excellent. The main dining room sometimes opens for weekend lunches. Two large guest lounges add to the overall experience.
There is a swimming pool with a small gym but for exercise why run on a tread mill when on your door step are many acres of woodland walks where if you are lucky you can see red squirrels and deer. The walk to Sandgreen beach has wonderful views.
As for the weather this area seems to get very mild weather and for all the years we have been visiting here we have never experienced really bad weather.
The hotel has an 18 hole golf course, tennis court, putting green and various other outdoor activities.
The staff can't do enough to ensure you have a comfortable pleasant stay.
I would highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing friendly break.

Room Tip: Up grade to a deluxe room all the rooms are different but the deluxe ones are really spacious
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judithedykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Second trip, and as good as last time. Courteous, friendly staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. Dinner, breakfast and afternoon tea all excellent with added bonus of private golf course. Upgraded at minimal cost to charming and spacious suite overlooking golf course.
The hotel is old fashioned in the best sense of that term.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank balfronStirlingshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed here with my son for two rounds of golf and dinner bed and breakfast. The location is wonderful near Gatehouse of Fleet surrounded by woodland. We where the only ones on the golf course on the Sunday in bright sunshine. The Golf course is only open to residents which makes it very exclusive and the course is well designed and challenging. I stayed here 20 years ago and it has not changed much with some refurbishment now required with our room being very tired and the oldest TV I have seen in a hotel (not a very good picture either). It did not spoil our stay and we had a great time and the staff are very good. Upgrade the hotel and rooms and it would be perfect.

Room Tip: When choosing a room try and get a photo first.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pburgess2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Visited this hotel with a deal from Hotel Connexions. My husbands parents had visited a number of years ago and sang its praises so were very excited.

Arrived on a lovely (chilly) spring afternoon having travelled through all seasons on the way. You arrive at the hotel driving through a wood which was lovely and then arrive at a large parking area that goes straight onto the golf course. The hotel sat grandly at the top of this with big pillars guarding the doorway.

We went to check in and having been advised on our letter of confirmation we would not have access to the room until 2.30pm were pleasantly surprised to be told it was ready. The check in went smoothly and we booked dinner and then a porter took us to the room showing us where everything was on the way.

We had a standard room and I wished we had booked the next one up out of sheer nosiness as the standard was huge. Yes, like someone had stated on this website the rooms were dated but somehow they look fine. If you put modern fixtures and fittings it would have looked odd. It was really like stepping back in time, everything looked old but was in good repair and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was bigger than the one we have at home with a shower over the bath.

After unpacking we headed down for some lunch in their bright and airy conservatory. We had a cream tea voucher but having been advised this was coffee and a scone we opted to have sandwiches as well to start. These were lovely and couldn't be faulted but to be honest once the fresh, homebaked scone with cream and jam arrived I wished I hadn't bothered, this was massive and I was disappointed not to be able to finish it off.

After this we went for a wander round the grounds. There are some great walks to go on so don't worry if you don't golf.

I then felt that lunch had settled and went for a swim. The pool area is very clean and you have the choice to get undressed in a small changing room or go down in your dressing gown from the room, the hotel also provide towels specifically for use at the pool. The pool is large and warm, after a few laps you can sit in the whirl pool and then the sauna. Very relaxing.

After a swim I had a bit of a snooze and then got ready for dinner. I'd initially thought the shower over the bath wouldn't be great but it was really good and had me feeling fresh and ready for dinner.

Dinner is a fairly formal affair in that you have to dress for this, men have to wear jacket and tie so I felt it only fair to get dressed up to.

Pre dinner drinks are taken in the lounge, again a step back in time with a huge roaring fire, whilst you choose your menu you are given some appetisers to get you ready for your meal.

The meal was lovely in the large dinning room, if you include the sorbet between the soup and main courses and then coffee and chocolates 6 courses in total! If I had to really nitpick I'd say that they should have softer lighting in the dinning room, the tables are well spaced out but we were in the middle and you do feel a bit exposed. Softer lights and candles on the table would just make it perfect. (I put this in my feedback form).

Coffee is taken back in the lounge and after a final drink we both headed to bed, shattered!

The bed was really soft but not uncomfortably so and we both had a great nights sleep, not to mention the complimentary sherry in the room and also coming back to find our bed turned down!

Breakfast again was fantastic, some buffet items to help yourself to and a few hot options. The Cally Grill is highly recommended and as a cooked breakfast it isn't over facing.

Check out was really easy as well, no complaints.

One point to make, the hairdryer in our room was in the bathroom and not that great. I asked in reception if they had any others and within 10 minute one was brought to the room. Its the same for ironing boards, they are not in the room but if you ask they can provide one.

Overall a fantastic stay, staff were courteous and we both felt pampered and that we had been treated like royalty. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison_1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews