We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cally Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Bank of Fleet Hotel(Gatehouse of Fleet)(Great Value!)
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Selkirk Arms Hotel(Kirkcudbright)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Market Inn Hotel(Castle Douglas)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Newton Stewart)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Downshire Hotel(Portpatrick)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bruce Hotel(Newton Stewart)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Murray Arms(Gatehouse of Fleet)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Urr Valley Hotel(Castle Douglas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (469)
Filter reviews
470 results
Traveller rating
264
137
41
12
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
264
137
41
12
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsforest wingswimming poolsmall gymgolf breakdinner danceround of golfsnooker tablehotel guestsgreat golf coursethe main housepublic rooms arebeautiful hotelrooms are largefirst classpetit foursred squirrelsdinner bed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
450 - 455 of 470 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2009

A group of twenty curlers from all over Scotland, with wives, stayed for a reunion weekend, our rooms were all in the new wing and were very well appointed, our room had a balcony overlooking the extensive grounds (a small carafe of sherry plus the usual tea and coffee a nice touch).
Our tables in the dining room were curtained off from the other diners and we had superb dinners on both evenings, breakfasts were equally as good.
The leisure complex, pool,small gym, jacuzzi and sauna are a delight to use.
Some of the party golfed on Sunday morning, a beautiful but demanding course with the first tee opposite the front door of the Hotel.
The surrounding area is beautiful, some lovely gardens,Castle Douglas offers unique shops(plenty of retail therapy done! and Kirkcudbright has some excellent art galleries.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LockerbieChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

This was not for us. We were due to stay 2 nights but in the end only stayed one.
The staff were friendly and our children were made welcome ( 11 and 10).

The family room was large and the 2 bathrooms in the room were sparkilng clean however the room itself needed updating. The childrens bunk beds were the old iron bedstead type and the bedding was from the 1970's. The double bed although spacious was the most uncomfortabel I have ever slept on. Was surprised to have cellualr blankets.

Breakfast was fine. We did not eat at the hotel for dinner as we felt the outdated dress code of jacket and tie was not for us. We have stayed at many 4/5 star establishments and have never had to observe this rule. I personally found it strange when you consider women can wear whatever they wish and teenage boys are allowed to wear jeans and t shirts.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2008

I stayed in the hotel for a few nights a couple of weeks ago with my family, it had been recommeded by friends, who had been impressed with the service and standard of the hotel, we also enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others, and look forward to a visit again next year!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jennyash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2008

We chose the Cally for a relaxing weekend away after our usual hotel in Dumfries and Galloway was fully booked. The hotel looks lovely from the outside and the reception and public areas were very welcoming, however our 'Deluxe' bedroom left a bit to be desired. We had 2 single beds joined together to make one bed, a bathroom with a bright yellow, 1970's style bathroom suite and a broken shower that could only send the water out horizontally.
We were on a dinner, bed and breakfast rate and ate in the dining room on both nights of our stay. On the first night, the food can only be described as terrible, very poor choice on each course, a tiny piece of fish for my husband and chicken that tasted like it had been frozen for me. The second night was a huge improvement, the food choices were a lot better and the standard of the food was completely different - almost like a different chef had cooked it.
These are the bad things, there were a lot of good things too. The hotel has a lovely atmosphere, we were made to feel very welcome by all of the staff (although at under 30, we were the youngest guests by an average of about 20 years).
I think the biggest problem with this hotel was that we were not golfers and that is all that it is really set up for. We had taken our tennis kit with us to use their 'all-weather' tennis courts, however found these to be filthy and very poorly maintained - there was a dead bird in the corner that had obviously been there some time.
I don't think we would stay there again, if you are a bit younger and looking for a nice, relaxing hotel in Dumfries and Galloway, try the Baron's Craig at Rockcliffe - seriously good food and lovely staff.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LSPAberdeen_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2008

Spent 2 nights here in August on a golf break with friends. There were 14 of us in our party. Grounds and golf course were quite impressive although the greens had just been tinned and were a bit bumpy.
For a 4 star hotel the whole experience was very disappointing. How they managed to win a medal for “Hospitality Excellence in 2008” is beyond me!
Hotel reception very efficient and friendly, however dining room staff were miserable and obviously didn’t want to be working there. I don’t think I saw any of them smile throughout the 2 nights we were there.
Rooms ok if a little dated, the paper in our bathroom was peeling off the wall but apart from that they were clean. Television reception very poor giving a less than watchable picture.
Food mediocre. Breakfast not bad – good choice and reasonably well cooked but dinner was pretty awful, very small portions of boring food. On the Saturday evening 3 of our main dishes were returned to the kitchen as they were inedible.
Saturday evening was also disturbed by a party of men guests shouting and banging on room doors throughout the night. This was reported to the hotel staff by our party and by other guests who were disturbed, but the hotel staff were not interested and said they were not responsible for other guests behaviour – surely this is unacceptable in a hotel of this standing.
Will we be visiting this hotel again … not in a million years.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MozBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews