We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
47
43
6
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
43
6
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge portionslovely beer gardenjohn smithslentil soupfish chipsbread and butterfish fridaykids menuevening foodvaried menupiesunday lunchate heremain coursean excellent mealtea coffeeshort stay
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2011

This is the 5th time since 2007 that we have stayed in this great hotel.
Staff treat you as one of the family meals /room are nice and cosy would not wish for anything better

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank percybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

Overnight stay on a touring trip, comfortable room recently refurbished, good quality food with very generous portions.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanH42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

I stayed at the Bank of Fleet Hotel for one night and was so relieved to vacate the place the following morning. I was given a double room located at the front of the hotel. The room was very small even for one person and the ensuite was smaller than a shoebox!
When I arrived back at the hotel around midnight after a friend's 60th birthday party. I expected to have a good night sleep but the noise of a rowdy disco in the lounge/pub area kept me awake. I went downstairs to speak to the Manager but one could not be found. I went out to the beer garden and was met by a bunch of yobs shouting and cursing at each other and threatening to fight. It was not a pretty sight and quite scary. The pub was full of very drunk under-age teenagers generally making a nuisance of themselves.
The music finished around 1am and hotel guests were kept awake by the noise of people leaving the premises. A lot more cursing and other loud disgusting noises followed and some even jumped into cars even though clearly they were too drunk to walk let alone drive!
This is probably the worst hotel I have stayed in ... anywhere!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SMRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bankoffleet, manager at Bank of Fleet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2009

I was sorry to read this review but after further investigation we found we had no single persons staying at time stated in review.We do have an occasional disco or entertainment as we cater to all.And as for underage drinking we have a strict policy for over eighteens only. we have no control when members of the public leave the premises which includes driving or noise of which we try to keep to a minimum.The staff were very disappointed at the review as it has been a busy season and this is our first bad review .As for cleanliness and service we have comment books in each room full of compliments and praise if any one wants to see.If Miss SMRH would like to get in touch and discuss the problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2008

Great budget hotel, £65 for double/twin room. Downstairs bar/restaurant area looks a little dated but has lots of character. Food served nearly all day, man-size portions & tastes lovely. Breakfast was included. Room was very clean & had everything - Sky TV, very comfy bed, good storage, very clean en-suite (no bath) but good shower. The staff & locals were very friendly.
Very handy for cashpoint, Spar, off licence & The Murray Arms Hotel & Cally Palace Hotel & The Chapel at Cardoness (we attended a wedding there). No local taxi service as such but there is an unoffical taxi driver whose number is behind the bar in the hotel. Would definitely recommend this hotel (maybe not to the infirm as there are a lot of stairs to the rooms) but young & old alike would be very happy with it. Absolute bargain!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYC4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2008

Stayed at the Bank of Fleet over mid summer week-end (coincided with the music festival) at the end of a three day cycle tour of the Galloway Forest.

Rooms were clean, but mine was a very small single and a little dated - but not too big a problem. Restaurant evening meals were good and breakfast ok.

If you want an alternative look at the 'Bobbins Guesthouse' right across the road.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skydom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews