We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“superb stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Gatehouse of Fleet, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
barneyBer...
berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“superb stay”
Reviewed 10 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

I can only say that But and Ben is a superb cottage to stay in. The location is perfect, the facilities are better than you could ever imagine and nothing has been left to chance. All that anyone could need is provided (and more), plus the owners, Alison and John make the whole experience wonderful. I cannot praise this cottage enough and know that anybody that books it will have a marvellous stay and want to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2018
Thank you for your great review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at But and Ben. We also appreciate how clean you left the cottage & we would love to host you again. John & Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea F
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I'd give it 6 stars if I could.”
Reviewed 6 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

But and Ben's in a very quiet location in the delightful town of Gatehouse of Fleet. It's close to good pubs and a couple of local shops.
It's incredibly clean, warm and cosy, even when the Beast from the East was here.
It's been very well converted and beautifully fitted out, with everything you need for your stay. There's even a Nespresso with a choice of coffees. And an Alexa....Good Wi-fi too.
Lovely comfy bed and an excellent shower, with rain shower and side jets. There's a pretty garden and patio with furniture.
Alison's the perfect hostess and justifiably proud of But and Ben.
We'd be back like a shot.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2018
Thank you for the excellent review and of course we would welcome you back like a shot, everything left spotless. thank you again. John & Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandamay...
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect cottage retreat!”
Reviewed 26 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is a great wee cosy cottage as a base in Gatehouse of Fleet. Everything you could want and need has been included in your stay. Free WiFi, facilities for washing and drying clothes,his and hers dressing gowns, toiletries, etc. Lovely cosy cottage and nice and quiet but close to all the local amenities. Was lovely to be met by Alison, who gave a great tour of the cottage, and how to work all the gadgets. Lovely wee extra as a welcome gift with shortbread, the local paper and a nice bottle of wine!
The cottage was absolutely spotless. Will definitely be back and would recommend it to all my friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2017
Thank you for the great review and for leaving our property so so clean, you'd hardly believe you'd been there. Look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
floody2
Puerto de Mogan, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“But & Ben ”
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Really lovely cottage everything you need
Very well maintained great people
Alison had time to explain everything on showing us around
Would recommend this to everyone
And love to go again
Thank you for a great week

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2017
Thank you for your great review, we really appreciate you taking the time. Thanks for looking after our property and leaving it so spotlessly clean. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“But and Ben first class cottage”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

First time visit to this cottage and would certainly return. Well done to Alison & John the accommodation was superb and we could not have wished for anything more. Great base for exploring both the local walks and the wider area. Good idea having maps of the local walks in the welcome folder, we really enjoyed them. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Gatehouse of Fleet and would definitely recommend the But & Ben. We received a warm welcome on arrival and a lovely complementary selection of local produce. Alison took time to show us round and explain the many extras in this lovely holiday cottage. Alison and John have finished this holiday home to a very high standard and we could not have asked for any more comforts, we especially loved the super spa shower. We enjoyed three visits to the Masonic Arms, sampling their hostelry and conservatory dinning which was again to a high standard. The area is beautiful, tranquil, peaceful and great for taking life at a slower pace. Look forward to a return visit.
This accommodation is definately five star. *****
Kind Regards, John & Frances Burns, Glasgow, Scotland

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2017
Thank you for your superb review and thanks for leaving the But and Ben super clean, great guests more than welcome back. John & Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin R
1 review
“Perfect stay in wonderful accommodation”
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Beautiful quiet location in unspoilt part of Scotland.Modern accommodation with a high level of cleanliness. This property will not disappoint. Many extras included more akin to a five star hotel.Owners very helpful and couldn't do enough for us.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2017
Our pleasure & thank YOU for leaving the But and Ben so clean. Your welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freedom36...
1 review
“Perfect accommodation for 2 people”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Gatehouse of Fleet is an excellent location for visiting the surrounding area of Dumfries and Galloway. There are numerous coastal and woodland walks for those who enjoy exploring the countryside as well as many places of historical interest.
The cottage is within easy walking distance of shops and eating places. Alison and John went out of their way to ensure we had a comfortable stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay, it was a pleasure to meet you both. Thank you for leaving the property so clean, your always welcome back at But and Ben.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing