We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B, would stay again!”

Bonnie Prince Charlie's Cottage
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bonnie Prince Charlie's Cottage
Ranked #4 of 9 Gretna Green B&B and Inns
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great B&B, would stay again!”
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Rooms were clean and well presented, host was very welcoming and pointed out places of interest. Breakfast was good too

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamHeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    11
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
37
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We stopped here on a trip through to Scotland. Travelling with two small kids was far from relaxing but Carolyn did everything she could to make it easier for us. Happily stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brissy_Dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2011

My family and I called at the Prince Charles Cottage in March 2011 boy were we the lucky one's, a lady we now know as Caroline we believe she to be the owner met us at the door we only planed to stay three nights but my son was ill so it was cut to two, this was our second trip to Gretna Green the first was to get married eight years ago.
Caroline offered us the family room this was decorated to a very high stranded as was the rest of the cottage, our room had a double bed and a twin bunk bed ,new flat screen TV mounted on the wall tea and coffee making equipment all very clean, off from the main bedroom was an end suite with toilet wash bowl and shower all spotless as if never been used.
The following morning we had breakfast, cereal to start with fruit juice then a cooked English breakfast follow with toast and preserve as much tea and coffee as we would like, on arrival we was given two keys, our room key and the front main door so late access was no problem, through our stay we found Caroline to be one of her own very friendly chatty nothing to much trouble, clean fresh towels every day large car parking area to the front with seats outside to sit and watch the local's go by.
Overall our stay was fault less, a beautiful cottage to be proud of very very clean in every, way from carpets to the well decorated rooms, this property is all on ONE LEVEL ideal for Disabled people to feel free every thing on hand, I sat and read the visitors book it was freely on view in the entrance hall, this book went back years not one guest had written any thing bad about there stay.
Well you have to try it to believe it, the memory of your stay with Caroline at the
Prince Charles Cottage will be with you for ever.
Kev Jan & Zak Perry (Chesterfield Derbyshire) 26th - 28th March 2011

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kev1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.Wales
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Tiny place, walls were like paper. literally so thin you could hear EVERYTHING that went on in the bathroom next door. I'm so glad this was just a one night stop gap. there has to be a better place to stay in such a well known location.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarabo31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2008

We stayed here in March 2006, when we got married in Gretna Cottage. Excellent B&B, lovley, family room, great breakfast, really nice owner Caroline, she was great and made us feel really welcome. We often talk about the B&B and look back with fond memories. Its been the best accommodation we have stayed at in the two years since our visit. Really looking forward to our next vist in the not too distant future for old times sake.

  • Liked — The clean rooms and the choice of breakfast great Vegi breakfast offered
  • Stayed March 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2008

Can not fault this B&B, unlike others we have already stayed at this year! The proprieter was very friendly. We booked the family room and a double, the facilities were very clean and the beds comfortable. My husband was very happy with the flat screen TV with sky sports. We only stayed one night for a wedding at the Gretna Hall Hotel which is opposite, so within walking distance. The breakfast was very tasty and plentiful. We can not fault this place, and advise others to consider this B&B, rather than the Gretna Hall Hotel our friends stayed at, I think we had the better experience.

  • Liked — Very clean accomadation
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forsyth22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2008

Just returned from a family wedding at Gretna Green. We booked 3 rooms at this charming and quaint cottage which is located right beside the church in Gretna Green. The cottage is cosy, warm and very clean and i can honestly say we couldn't fault a thing. The rooms are decorated in period colours and the beds have trendy leather headboards. The proprietor caroline was very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.
Great breakfasts - we'll be back!

  • Liked — warm, clean & comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank julesandale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.0 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.0 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
940 reviews
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Welcome Lodge Gretna Green
#4 of 4 in Gretna Green
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonnie Prince Charlie's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonnie Prince Charlie's Cottage

Property: Bonnie Prince Charlie's Cottage
Address: Gretna Green DG16 5DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bonnie Prince Charlie's Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonnie Prince Charlie's Cottage Gretna Green, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing