We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect B & B”

Bonnie Prince Charlie's Cottage
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bonnie Prince Charlie's Cottage
Ranked #3 of 9 Gretna Green B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hilltown, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“perfect B & B”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

we arrived on 3 Rd nov 2012 on our way home with our new honda goldwing trike this B & B was easy to find with great parking area Carolyn met us at the door with a great welcome we were escorted to our lovely clean / warm room / we then got tea / etc the bed was the most comfortable bed we ever slept in the next morning we got a lovely hot shower / the best was to come we had the most wonderful Breakfast fresh fruit / cereals /bacon eggs sausages tomatoes and all the toast & tea you could take Carolyn was a charming hostess who had had plenty of time to chat to us about where we came from in northern Ireland we would certainly highly recommend THE BONNIE PRINCE CHARLIE to everyone Thank you for your Hospitality JOHN & JULIE JARDINE BALLYRONEY

Room Tip: all rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnjardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    11
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
37
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glengarry, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We spent three nights at this little B&B in Gretna Green. We specifically wanted a small hotel with a family room, as we were traveling with our four year old son. Our room was spacious, and our son loved having two beds (bunk beds) just for him. There was plenty of space to leave our suitcase out and make ourselves comfortable for the stay. The ensuite bathroom was large and spotless. We also had a large, flat screen television and tea/coffee in the room.
The owner, Carolyn, built up a wonderful rapport with our son and on one particularly warm afternoon, filled up the paddling pool in her garden for him and another child guest to play in.
Breakfast was filling, and even our fussy boy called Carolyn "a good cooker". We enjoyed chatting with her each morning, as she moved in and out of the kitchen.
We are so glad we stayed here - it definitely added to our enjoyment of Gretna Green. I'm only sorry we're not likely to be in that part of the world again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnPen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterlee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2013

stopped here on two nights end of june 2013 was the best bed and breakfast i have stayed cannot not fault it in any way u are made very welcome the host makes the stay very friendly will do anything to make your stay excelent the food is very good also the rooms are spottless and comfortable like home from home cannot recommend this place enough try it u will not regret it

Room Tip: all rooms excelent all ground floor no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harry f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Just spent two nights here in the family room and can't rate it highly enough.Carolyn the owner is just lovely and couldn't possibly do anymore than she does to make you welcome. The place is immaculate and the breakfast delicious. If you are now reading this review,do yourself a favour and book a room here,you really won't be disappointed ....I certainly wasn't.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Had a lovely nights stay here last weekend.
The B & B is right in the heart of Gretna Green, so ideal for anybody travelling up for a wedding. There is also plenty of off road parking available.
Very friendly owner and lovely breakfast in the morning.
The room was spotless and ideal for a nights stay. Bed and pillows were comfy too! :-)
Would highly reccommend this B & B!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxy345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We only stayed one night, to book our wedding next year, but would not hesitate in staying again or recommending this establishment to our friends.
Unfortunately Carolyn has told us that she doesn't read these reviews so if somone could pass on our heartfelt thanks for a very pleasant stay we would greatly appreciate it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank invisiblehelper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My daughter and I arrived into Gretna Green on an early evening and hadn't made any reservations ahead of time. We stopped at Bonnie Prince Charlie's (first B&B we saw) and were pleasantly surprised to find the B&B reasonably priced and in our budget. The owner is a very friendly woman. Our room was beautiful and the bathroom was the best one we encountered on our whole stay. Breakfast was excellent. The B&B is only a couple of blocks away from the Blacksmiths shop. The owner recommended the restaurant in the hotel just around the corner and we had a great dinner there as well. We're very glad we found this accomodation. I'd stay there again if given the chance to visit again someday.

Room Tip: all the rooms seemed beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMSTEIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.0 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.0 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Welcome Lodge Gretna Green
#4 of 4 in Gretna Green
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonnie Prince Charlie's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonnie Prince Charlie's Cottage

Property: Bonnie Prince Charlie's Cottage
Address: Gretna Green DG16 5DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bonnie Prince Charlie's Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonnie Prince Charlie's Cottage Gretna Green, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing