We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A LOVELY STAY ... LIKE BEING IN YOUR OWN HOME !!!”

Bonnie Prince Charlie's Cottage
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bonnie Prince Charlie's Cottage
Ranked #3 of 9 Gretna Green B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 July 2014

After a hectic couple of days, Getting Married at the Mill Forge, and being the Wedding Couple in the carriage carrying the Baton in the Queens Baton Relay, with Actress Ashley Jensen, being on TV and in all the press, it was bliss to retreat to Carolyns lovely home for some quiet time. Sooo pretty from the outside, 'Prince Charlie's ' welcomed us into it's warm, comfortable hospitality. Dropping off our kit in the morning, we met the lovely Carolyn, who made us feel we had gone home to our Mum's !! Leaving our cases there we went off out for the day, and were pleased to be returning there that night. We had the room with the patio doors, it was so nice to have the doors open all evening. A very comfortable room, and bed, with shower room, tv, hospitality tray, we wanted for nothing !! Spotlessly clean, cool and relaxed !! A Wonderful breakfast the following morning, with delightful, informative company was delightful. Carolyn keeps a lovely home, and we were very lucky to share it, so a big Thankyou Carolyn ! It was nice to see the display of Thankyou cards from previous guests, obviously everyone who stays there feels like they have just visited a favourite Auntie !! Well rested, and fed, we said our goodbyes and strolled the 5 minute stroll to Gretna Station, (very quaint !) and took the train into Carlisle, 8 minutes away. So Easy ! We WILL definately come again, Thanks for having us ! Sally and Damone . X

Room Tip: Room 4 with patio doors was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank the_cat_ladySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here overnight on our way to a wedding in Aberdeen,,,wow is all I can say about this place,good location,stunning location,clean comfy rooms and as for the breakfast perfect. Carolyn was the ideal host very polite and informative of places to visit during our short stay. Next time we travell to Scotland this will defiantly be on the return visit list.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkf62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Came up for a wedding and booked 3 out of the 4 rooms between our party. We couldn't fault it. The owner was lovely and friendly and you felt you could really relax in the comfortable rooms. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrispaEv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I stayed here on a business trip passing through. Its a lovely cottage B&B so hence Cottage & B&B its not a hotel. It was good enough for my needs and Caroline the owner was very friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Satisfied that value for money was obtained. Smallish room and ensuite but breakfast adequate and service friendly. Quite well positioned relative to main road but quiet. Might consider returning to this B and B

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed here for one night,
The location is easy to find and onsite parking was good.I felt very welcome by the host and the breakfast was superb !
I would recommend Bonnie Prince Charlies Cottage if you stay in Greta Green.
John

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Although we arrived a little late, our host was very welcoming and made us feel like at home.
Double room en suite, comfortable and clean. Bedsheets smelled very nice :)
Breakfast was very tasty.

Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ines F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.2 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.1 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
213 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hazeldene Hotel
Hazeldene Hotel
#2 of 9 in Gretna Green
413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anvil View Guest House
Anvil View Guest House
#5 of 9 in Gretna Green
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonnie Prince Charlie's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonnie Prince Charlie's Cottage

Address: Gretna Green DG16 5DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gretna Green
Price Range: £52 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bonnie Prince Charlie's Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonnie Prince Charlie's Cottage Gretna Green, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing