We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anvil View Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hunters Lodge Hotel(Gretna)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Graham Arms Hotel(Longtown)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gretna Hall(Gretna Green)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
91
14
4
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
91
14
4
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeluxe roomstayed hereb bhaggis and black puddinganniversary staylovely breakfastfour poster bedgreat hostsfull scottishperfect stayhazeldene hotela lovely place to staytwo nightsgood sizetea and coffeelovely roombrenda
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2013

well what can i say! great value great rooms great service! we will be back! The rooms we well serviced, very clean and a warm welcome was given! The staff were very helpful and would bend over backwards to make our stay extra special.

The breakfast was beautifully cooked with a wide range of selection, including salmon with scrambled egg! which mmmmmm my favorite! You also have a choice a continental breakfast with fresh fruit and yogurt!

overall we will be back to stay here again, was a fabulous trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

very misleading web site e.g kingsize room did not mean kingsize bed, only that the room was a bit bigger than the double room which by the way was tiny. no towels changed or cleaning done during our stay.Did expect more for the price.Good breakfast but a lot of money for sausage and egg.

Room Tip: if possible stay at smiths
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Me and my wife only stayed one night, but it was a great experience. The bedrooms are very clean and tidy and are well presented. It was the only time I have actually slept peacefully in a guest house.
The pillows are nice and comfy, usually I don't sleep because either the bed is too hard/soft and the same with the pillows. But they have it just right.
We were welcomed as if we were old friends Brenda is a lovely host and made us feel at home.
The breakfast is BRILLIANT it is well worth having and they do not skimp on the portions and will give you what you want, THEY DON'T MAKE YOU STICK RIGIDLY TO THE MENU.

I would highly recommend staying there if you go to Gretna.

If I was to be very picky and I mean this is picky, As it is near to the M6 there is a lot of traffic noise when the window is open. But being close to a main road is a bonus for a traveller.

Room Tip: We were in room 2 and could not find fault
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Excellent accommodation throughout. Very clean, towels and bedding changed on a daily basis, choice of cold or hot breakfasts including traditional Scotish with Haggis. Lovely family ran guesthouse where the staff make you feel very special. We stayed here on a 5-day trip and got married on day 2. 2min walk to the Smiths resaurant for great dining and 1min walk to the famous Blacksmith's Shop. Thank you for a perfect stay. Extremely highly recommended; a must stay if you are in the area. We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enduroman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Booked one night at the Anvil View guest house at the last minute as we were going to a wedding in Gretna unexpectedly.What a lovely place,spacious,bright clean rooms.Toiletries provided and big fluffy towels.More like an expensive hotel than a guest house! The owners were most welcoming and breakfast was good too.Very reasonably priced for a double room and just across the road from the Blacksmiths shop.Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karate27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews