We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Hazeldene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hazeldene Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Gretna Green B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel is very good value.

At the moment you would struggle to find a cheaper room, although this may change as business picks up.

The rooms are basic, but clean, breakfast is OK.

One problem when I stayed is that there was live music in the bar and this went on until past 11:30, VERY LOUDLY INDEED.

However, I would have thought it would be quieter most nights - you might want to check if you want an early night, though.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Googleplex555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I decided to go to Gretna and get married. From the second we arrived at the Hazeldene, we were made to feel welcome. Kieron, the boss, was very accommodating and allowed the free movement of our party between rooms. The honeymoon suite was lovely, with little touches like an old school record player and four poster kingsize bed. The service was very attentive thoughout.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Scottyphantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed at the Hazeldene for two nights as we had run off to gretna to get married. The hotel was amazing and the staff couldn't do enough for us. They were really accommodating with our room and the food in the restaurant was perfect.

It is the perfect location for access to the registry office and the famous blacksmiths is just over the road.

Thank you Hazeldene for making our wedding extra special.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This hotel offers friendly, helpful service, large room,large bathroom with a bath, tea, coffee and added extras include hot chocolate and biscuits in the room. Although close to motor way it is quiet in the room. Location is central Gretna Green, Blacksmiths shop a short walk.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Stewart R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Wow, what a contrast. My first impressions have restored my faith in low cost hotels in Scotland. The manager, Keiron was extremely friendly and took me to my room whilst explaining they had put me in a family room as it had a nice big bed (and he hadn't even seen that I was a ‘very large man’ yet as pointed out by the owner of the last hotel I stayed in!).

The room is small but nice and would have been fine for my family as it has bunk beds and a king size bed. It backs on to fields which is really nice but there is the noise of traffic as it is close to the M6 and A75, don’t get me wrong I’m not complaining, this is a million times better than my last experience.

All of the staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble and I felt relaxed each morning which is really important to me when working away. The breakfast was really nice, everything seemed freshly cooked and the sausages were proper ones not the cheap frozen budget ones.

The evening meals were also really nice and again were well cooked and seemed freshly made.

Wi-fi was being installed whilst I was there and seemed to be up and running on my last morning with a very strong signal so another plus if I stay here again.

Bear in mind the hotel is part of a pub, so there was some background music which I could hear from my room but it was OK for me.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying over in the area, 2 nights with food was less than £80 (although the daily rate may have been offered at preferential rates as my customer booked it). Even so a real bargain and a very pleasant all round experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank davesworlduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Booked a room here to break up my trip back down south. The owners are new and they were very hospitable. The room was nice and spacious, and they have said that they will be upgrading the rooms as well. The breakfast was tremendous as well and made for a good start to the day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amrit09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.1 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.2 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
189 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
430 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
154 reviews
0.8 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazeldene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazeldene Hotel

Address: Main Street, Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gretna Green
Price Range: £55 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hazeldene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run 11 bedroom hotel in the UK's Wedding Capital; Gretna Green. We have recently undertaken a £250,000 refurbishment of the hotel; now boasting a 60 seat restaurant and a 40 seat covered decking area adjacent to the restaurant, with a door access inbetween. So therefore this area can accommodate up to 100 diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hazeldene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazeldene Hotel Gretna Green, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing