We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My visit to the Hazeldene Hotel Gretna Green”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hazeldene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hazeldene Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Gretna Green B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My visit to the Hazeldene Hotel Gretna Green”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I would like to thank the management and staff for there warmth and hospitality on the occasion of my daughters wedding.Although most of our wedding party were staying at the Smith's Hotel we found that when we went into the Hazeldene Hotel for a drink,we found that it was a very friendly and a very homely bar.the food that they served was very very good and the beer was excellent.Four of our wedding party were staying at the Hazeldene and they showed us round their rooms which were a good size but were spotlessly clean.They also told us that they were served a very good and varied breakfast.Staying at the Smith's were a party from Castleford and they also used the Hazeldene.Our party are from Warrington and the majority of us are rugby league fans as were the party from Castleford and as there were super league matches on Sky tv on both the Thursday and Friday nights, the management went out of there way to ensure that we were able to watch both matches although on the Friday night there was a big Darts competition going on at the same time.One of his staff, a lady named Lorna kept coming round to both parties during the course of both evenings,making sure that everything was ok and that if we needed anything she could do for us,we only had to ask.Kieran the manager was also in attendance during the course of both evenings,to make sure that there were no hitches.I therefore have no hesitation in recommending the Hazeldene Hotel to anybody that is thinking of going to Gretna Green for whatever reason,to look no further than the Hazeldene.It is very good value for money. The four of our party that stayed at the Hazeldene were paying three times less than what we were paying at the Smith's Hotel.Once again I would like to thank the management and staff for their warmth and hospitality to make our visit a very enjoyable one.

Yours Sincerely, R.Leigh (from Warrington.)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertyleigh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    95
    38
    16
    27
See reviews for
123
124
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped here on our way home from a week in Ayrshire. There were six of us and we wanted a meal. We were shown to a table but then had to go and ask for menus some time later. Eventually our order was taken. It took about an hour before we got our meal which was nice enough but nothing special. We asked for the dessert menu but again they forgot to bring it and after another 20 min wait we had to go and ask. The desserts took a further 35-45 mins to arrive. There was only one other table being served food at this time so it wasn't as if they were really busy - would hate to order a meal if they were. We would go back again and give them a second chance as the food was ok but would need to have plenty of spare time!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

As mentioned by others, this establishment is under new management and they are working very hard to improve things as fast as they can. Although the rooms are basic, they are clean and it's a very friendly place to stay. The food is good and there's also a large range of beers and whiskey's. Moreover, It's good value for money and I will certainly stay again if the opportunity arises.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Was attending a wedding and stayed in hazeldene,room was lovelly choccys on bed,good tea coffe facilities,staff very nice,in a gawjuss place,breakfast could of been a bit better,mushrooms tomatoes etc not everyone likes haggis or black pudding so should of been alternative,but on the whole a good stay x lack of wifi was annoying to

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burnsy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Ate at this hotel several days running in June 2014 while in Gretna for our wedding.

We found the food to be excellent, and I would recommend the steak pie it was so nice, I had it twice.

I believe the hotel has new owners and they are trying really hard to improve the place

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Came down and got married over the weekend and stayed at the smiths which may I add was exceptional but tiny tad pricey. My friend stayed in the hazeldene and we went over too meet them, what can I say great meal and exceptional bar staff, ended up goin back there and had a great laugh and can't recommend the place enuff

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddie340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

A group of us came here for a social meet for dinner.
The Hazeldene obviously has had money spent being revamped since the last time i visited many years ago. Inside looks good and has a nice feel.
On first appearance the staff appeared friendly and helpful, however after we ordered food and came to pay we got the feeling that the staff couldn't be bothered and we could over hear them talking and complaining about our group, which i thought was most un-professional.
The food was good but not amazing but it seems good value. I would have felt happy to return if i hadn't over heard the staff, i don't think i will return at least until the staff learn a few manners.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.1 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.8 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.7 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazeldene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazeldene Hotel

Property: Hazeldene Hotel
Address: Main Street, Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hazeldene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run 11 bedroom hotel in the UK's Wedding Capital; Gretna Green. We have recently undertaken a £250,000 refurbishment of the hotel; now boasting a 60 seat restaurant and a 40 seat covered decking area adjacent to the restaurant, with a door access inbetween. So therefore this area can accommodate up to 100 diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hazeldene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazeldene Hotel Gretna Green, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing