We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service and excellent value”
Review of Hazeldene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hazeldene Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Gretna Green B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Friendly service and excellent value”
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Nice clean hotel, friendly welcome, good all round service and excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaceMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    104
    45
    20
    30
See reviews for
137
138
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Myself and my wife got married 19 February 2011 and held our wedding reception here, we couldn't have been more overjoyed by the venue, helpfulness of the staff and how much attention to detail all the staff put into making our day run to plan, some of the wedding party stayed overnight and the rooms were fabulous. All the wedding guests ate there on the eve of the wedding and again all the staff were wonderful, even putting together a cheese board even though it wasn't a menu choice, we had a baby in the party and were more than accommodating to her needs. I would most definatley recommend this to anyone planning for a wedding venue, the food was excellent and the Chef made every effort to meet our dietary needs. Micheal and Debbie really do make sure you have a day to remember!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexwitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2011

I didn't actually stay in a room here but I was the best man at a wedding party and all I can say is that I have never had such service anywhere. All the staff were polite and friendly, Nothing was too much trouble and the food was excellent.
We had an evening meal the night before which, again, was excellent and very well priced. There is a good selection of beers and wines for all tastes.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definately go back there.
It may not have 5 stars rating but, in my opinion, the service you get is 5 Stars

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohninHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2010

We had our wedding in the Famous Blacksmith's Room in November and booked the Hazeldene's honeymoon suite and 4 rooms for our guests.
The hotel staff were friendly, helpful and the rooms were a great size and clean. The food was delicious as we had our wedding meal there. Breakfast was great, set you up for the day.
This hotel was great and it was just what we were looking for.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heatherlou07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Nice on the phone when booking,was offered a discount for booking most of the rooms but when checking out they denied all knowledge! Very unpleasant staff. We were told on the phone that the rooms would be ready at 9am but when got there and checked in they said check in wasn't until 12am and most of the rooms weren't ready!!! Would Advise People To Stay Elsewhere !

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heathermalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

My husband and i stopped overnight at this hotel en route home to the north of Scotland and sincerely wish we had just kept driving. The food had clearly been reheated in the microwave and was tasteless and luke warm. The bar area was far too rowdy to sit in after our meal so we finished our drinks in the cold dining room. The worst aspect of this hotel however was the room. We heard every noise throughout the night, from the person next door snoring to the idiots running up and down the corridor ALL night. The room was not clean (half used complimentary toiletries left for our use) and the staff had faces like a wet weekend.A grim hole of a place.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alli52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We recently got married in gretna green and booked this hotel for our reception as well as booking all the hotel rooms, when first considering this hotel for our wedding reception the staff were very friendly and when on the phone before the wedding I had every confidence we had made the right decision, however, once the money was handed over what a complete change!!
First problem, on checking in, we were handed the keys and told the room was upstairs, there was no information given for eating times or where you had to go for breakfast (which is not the main area), anyway on arrival we entered the 'luxurious' honeymoon suite to find that there was no complimentary bottle of bubbly as described, we presumed we would get it on the wedding day, (which we only received after going down and asking, which no-one likes doing) the jacuzzi bath when you turned it on had black mould coming out and (not to everyones taste) rather dated silk sheets and bedding. The room was clean enough though. The so called relaxing experience turned into a nightmare when going upstairs to bed to find we were directly above the friday night disco with pounding music till after 12, no good if your getting up early for your wedding, or have small children. As for breakfast, which didnt start till 9am when the website clearly states different, no one showed us where to go except the helpfull cleaner and on arrival were greeted by a rather grumpy member of staff who looked like she just didn't want to be there, the food was great when it arived however the service was terrible and you had to keep asking for things to be topped up, the staff shouldn't need to be reminded.

The manager and manageress (rachel) who had been great on the phone never once came down to us and greeted us or asked if we needed any help etc they quite frankly blanked us (such a change from when waiting for our money!), and throughout the whole weekend we saw them once when they were getting themselves a drink at the bar where she looked at me and just turned away when i tried to catch her attention.

As for the wedding reception I was extremely dissapointed to find that when me and my husband arrived I could see family and friends buying drinks from the bar, and when I went over to the member of staff who had previoulsy served breakfast, asking where the 'drinks on arrival' were she pointed over my shoulder and said "there", I was totally taken aback, the two young girls made no attempt to hand out the drinks, they just propped themselves against the bar and watched me hand a few out till i said can you hand these out please, throughout the meal (which was very nice in all fairness) my husband had to get up and ask the girls where the drinks were ie, the drinks packages we had paid for.

Quite frankly the problem with this hotel is that there were two young girls who were basically left to run the place, there was no-one there to supervise or over see anything, I'm sorry but it should not be up to the bride and groom to ask or remind the staff that drinks need to be handed out etc, or keep asking for things to be topped up, over all we were extremely dissapointed. When you think about how much money you are spending you expect a little more helpfulness and service with a smile. By all means, have a drink and meal there but dont have your reception, the hassle free service they promote on the website and luxurious rooms are just simply lacking!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.1 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.2 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
940 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
397 reviews
0.8 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
417 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazeldene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazeldene Hotel

Property: Hazeldene Hotel
Address: Main Street, Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hazeldene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run 11 bedroom hotel in the UK's Wedding Capital; Gretna Green. We have recently undertaken a £250,000 refurbishment of the hotel; now boasting a 60 seat restaurant and a 40 seat covered decking area adjacent to the restaurant, with a door access inbetween. So therefore this area can accommodate up to 100 diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hazeldene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazeldene Hotel Gretna Green, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing