We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional *****”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
psychiatr...
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional *****”
Reviewed 7 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We were a party of 4 adults and 3 kids aged 12, 9 and 5 years old. We arrived early and Tracey the owner let us in. The house is immaculate and decorated to very high standard. The house had everything in it you would need. To be honest we have stayed in a lot of different accommodations and for a more expensive cost but nothing that compares to this! This accommodation cost us approximately £550 for two nights and we all thought this was very reasonable. It is classed as 4* accommodation but we believe it is by far a 5* home! Tracey could not do enough for us and we felt very welcome from the start. This accommodation and the service from Tracey was faultless! Thanks so much for this Tracey as we created many happy memories on our break away!

We would also recommend the local takeaway Indian, it was delicious and also the gin tasting at Gretna Green. We also walked to the Gretna outlet and had a Costa and Pizza Express. The kids enjoyed spending their Easter money in The Works. Fab few nights away

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Ancrum House and that the house contributed towards making happy memories for you and your family.
Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P
1 review
“Amazing, simply amazing!”
Reviewed 28 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We booked here to stay while attending a family wedding, and in some ways it was the highlight of the trip. Tracy met us there, and was such a lovely person. She offered us advice and to help us if we needed it. We had a Tesco delivery with our food arrive the same evening we did, and felt right at home as soon as e got there. Warm, welcoming, clean and where it could be seen as a show home, it had the perfect relaxing feel to it. Highly recommended to anyone who wants to go there and relax and not have t worry about staying in a stuffy hotel.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2017
Thank you so much for this lovely review. You were brilliant guests who fully respected the property. Glad you all had good time and thanks again.
Tracey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miller P
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“5 star ”
Reviewed 11 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Spent two nights here with friends for a birthday and have to say it was amazing, beautiful house with everything you could want, only wish we had stayed longer, we will definitely be back for another visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Dec 2017
Thank you for this kind review. Glad you enjoyed the house. Welcome back anytime - perfect guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Absolutely faultless”
Reviewed 2 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Possibly the best holiday let we've ever stayed in. A pleasant and extremely helpful owner and the house itself is immaculate. There are so many excellent features (hot tub, TV in the bathroom) and despite there being a busy road only 1/4 mile away, it's quiet too. The standard that all other holiday lettings should aspire to.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review Chris. I'm so pleased you enjoyed the house and I'm going to be buzzing all day after reading your comments. Thank you to you and your family for being fab guests - house was clean, tidy and 100% respected.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alicesout...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5* weekend”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

My boyfriend and I have just spent a weekend in this property with 2 other couples as an opportunity to spend some time together.
We were met at the property by Tracey who showed us around and made us feel more than welcome. The house WOWed us from the outset- it's even better than the pictures!
The open plan kitchen/diner is a perfect social space and the living room was great for a chilled out afternoon with a film.
The bedrooms are all spacious and comfortable with the added bonus of smart TVs.
Great location to either stay in the local area and visit the blacksmiths or to explore. We did both and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
An added bonus was the key pad in the front door so we didn't have to worry about losing keys.
We'll definitely be back! Thanks a lot :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Thank you for this lovely review Alice. Be prepared to be wowed a little more next time......we have just ordered the hot tub
I will advertise the hot tub as soon as it is installed and ready to use.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Aug 2017
Thank you for your lovely review!
You were perfect guests - respected the house and left it lovely and tidy.
Welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chris G
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The attention to detail and quality of this property has to be seen to be believed. We were only staying for a short stopover but will be back for a longer stay.
Don't be put off by closeness to road as triple glazing eliminates any traffic noise.
Nothing too much trouble for the owner who phoned to check we were happy - yes we were! Very!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2017
Wow thank you for this review!
Makes me so happy when my guests are happy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing