We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“STUNNING”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

SteveWalt...
Mesa, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“STUNNING”
Reviewed 26 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We booked Tracey’s place a year ago so we could stay during my sisters wedding. We were really looking forward to staying here because of all the wonderful pictures we viewed. We thought the pictures were too good to be true. We were very wrong, the Ancrum House is so much spectacular than looking at the pictures. Tracey designed her place to perfection. She has thought of ideas that you would only see on TV. We can’t say enough about our stay. Enjoyed it tremendously!! I wish we didn’t live halfway across the globe so we could book her place again. You won’t want to leave once you stayed here. Plus, it is right by the train station... however you can’t hear any of the noise. Best place we have ever stayed at. Giving her place a 5 rating, still isn’t high enough.. 5 plus !! Thank you soooo much for meeting our every need. Wishing you and your family all the best.. Steve and Lori Walter

Date of stay: May 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
29 May 2018
Oh wow thank you!
It makes the 2 years of hard work renovating Ancrum House worth it when I get a review like this.
Thank you to Steve, Lori and family for being lovely guests and respecting the place 100%
The house was so well cared for during your stay.
I’d love to welcome you back to Ancrum House in the future.
Thank you again
Tracey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hs732015
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful accommodation with a wonderful host”
Reviewed 27 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

So much attention to detail in this beautiful holiday let - it was perfect for us, and the hot tub was the icing on the cake.

Tracey was such a good host, providing an immaculate place for us to stay for a wedding.

Would happily stay here again if we were coming to Gretna.

Date of stay: April 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
27 Apr 2018
Thank you for taking the time to write me a review Heidi. Glad you enjoyed the house and the hot tub. You were great guests and id welcome you back to Ancrum House anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
psychiatr...
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exceptional *****”
Reviewed 7 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We were a party of 4 adults and 3 kids aged 12, 9 and 5 years old. We arrived early and Tracey the owner let us in. The house is immaculate and decorated to very high standard. The house had everything in it you would need. To be honest we have stayed in a lot of different accommodations and for a more expensive cost but nothing that compares to this! This accommodation cost us approximately £550 for two nights and we all thought this was very reasonable. It is classed as 4* accommodation but we believe it is by far a 5* home! Tracey could not do enough for us and we felt very welcome from the start. This accommodation and the service from Tracey was faultless! Thanks so much for this Tracey as we created many happy memories on our break away!

We would also recommend the local takeaway Indian, it was delicious and also the gin tasting at Gretna Green. We also walked to the Gretna outlet and had a Costa and Pizza Express. The kids enjoyed spending their Easter money in The Works. Fab few nights away

Date of stay: April 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
9 Apr 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Ancrum House and that the house contributed towards making happy memories for you and your family.
Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise P
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing, simply amazing!”
Reviewed 28 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We booked here to stay while attending a family wedding, and in some ways it was the highlight of the trip. Tracy met us there, and was such a lovely person. She offered us advice and to help us if we needed it. We had a Tesco delivery with our food arrive the same evening we did, and felt right at home as soon as e got there. Warm, welcoming, clean and where it could be seen as a show home, it had the perfect relaxing feel to it. Highly recommended to anyone who wants to go there and relax and not have t worry about staying in a stuffy hotel.

Date of stay: November 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
28 Dec 2017
Thank you so much for this lovely review. You were brilliant guests who fully respected the property. Glad you all had good time and thanks again.
Tracey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
793miller...
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“5 star ”
Reviewed 11 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Spent two nights here with friends for a birthday and have to say it was amazing, beautiful house with everything you could want, only wish we had stayed longer, we will definitely be back for another visit.

Date of stay: December 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
12 Dec 2017
Thank you for this kind review. Glad you enjoyed the house. Welcome back anytime - perfect guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Absolutely faultless”
Reviewed 2 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Possibly the best holiday let we've ever stayed in. A pleasant and extremely helpful owner and the house itself is immaculate. There are so many excellent features (hot tub, TV in the bathroom) and despite there being a busy road only 1/4 mile away, it's quiet too. The standard that all other holiday lettings should aspire to.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
4 Oct 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review Chris. I'm so pleased you enjoyed the house and I'm going to be buzzing all day after reading your comments. Thank you to you and your family for being fab guests - house was clean, tidy and 100% respected.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alicesout...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5* weekend”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

My boyfriend and I have just spent a weekend in this property with 2 other couples as an opportunity to spend some time together.
We were met at the property by Tracey who showed us around and made us feel more than welcome. The house WOWed us from the outset- it's even better than the pictures!
The open plan kitchen/diner is a perfect social space and the living room was great for a chilled out afternoon with a film.
The bedrooms are all spacious and comfortable with the added bonus of smart TVs.
Great location to either stay in the local area and visit the blacksmiths or to explore. We did both and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
An added bonus was the key pad in the front door so we didn't have to worry about losing keys.
We'll definitely be back! Thanks a lot :)

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Thank you for this lovely review Alice. Be prepared to be wowed a little more next time......we have just ordered the hot tub
I will advertise the hot tub as soon as it is installed and ready to use.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.