We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay”
Review of Alexander House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alexander House
Ranked #1 of 9 Gretna Green B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We only spent one night here on our way north. It was very nice, the room was lovely prepared, we had a relaxing and peaceful rest and a great breakfast, where even our special wishes were easily fulfilled!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed for one night 6 October 2013 as a stop over when returning home from a short break in Scotland. We were travelling with our friends and only rang the night before to book, but able to book 2 rooms. Fantastic friendly hosts, the rooms were spotless all en suite, tea, coffee and bottled water in your room. Very good varied choice for breakfast and with unlimited tea/coffee. Near the Railway station, but very peaceful and had a good nights sleep with very comfy beds.
Would recommend to family and friends and if in the area again will definitely stay here again.
The owners do a good job and should be very proud.
Barbara & Mark

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We were in Gretna for a wedding and chose to stay here after reading about it on trip advisor .The rooms were lovely and clean the beds were lovely and comfortable,tea and coffee facilities were in the room also a hairdryer . Breakfast was lovely a great selection of cereals fresh fruit and fresh berries and yoghurt and then a full english with either blackpudding or haggis I opted to have haggis with mine and it was lovely :) You could also have scrambled or poached eggs . I would highly recommend this place to my friends and family .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Like many others we were in Gretna for a wedding and chose this B&B after reading the positive reports on trip advisor. We were not disappointed. Our room was spotless and little extra touches were provided such as little mints on the tea tray. As others have said, the bed was very comfortable. I rarely sleep well when away from home but this was the exception. The whole place was light, bright and maintained to a high standard with a nice ambience. At breakfast there was a good choice of cereal, fruit, including lovely mixed berries, yogurt and of course, a filling and tasty full english. The proprietors should be deservedly proud of the lovely little guest house they run and I would thoroughly recommend it to fellow travellers.

A hook in the bathroom for hanging clothes would be useful and the little uht milks in the room make the tea and coffee taste weird - we couldnt drink it. This in no way affected our stay but i imagine the owners probably appreciate all comments.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mo-yo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Really lovely people, fabulous welcome and offer of help with the motorbike. We stayed here on our last night of an 8 day bike trip around Scotland and of the whole trip this was by far the comfiest bed we slept in all week (sorry sis the memory foam was great but it would take a hell of a lot to beat this one! :-))
The breakfast was fab, loads of fruit on offer and no grease...egg cooked to perfection and bacon great quality. Steve has a taxi, so can take you out to eat and drink in the evenings if you don't fancy walking. No noise or disturbances from the road or the other guests or proprietors.
We went out to eat at another hotel and saw the standard of what else there was on offer.....don't bother looking at anywhere else, this is perfect and we can't fault it in any way.
Thank you both, you have it spot on :-)

Room Tip: Had a nosy at the others....they all looked equally as great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panamuia77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

A really lovely place to stay. Alexander house is meticulously clean and well presented. The proprietors are friendly and helpful and breakfast superb. Also the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Good hospitality, excellent food, very clean.

Only minor irritation was that the bed was too soft for our taste.

Location very convenient for the nearby Gretna Outlets and for access to roads for onward travel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gg13533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.3 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
920 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
431 reviews
0.6 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander House

Address: Glasgow Road, Gretna Green DG16 5DU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gretna Green
Price Range: £58 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alexander House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent Bed and Breakfast Accommodation in the heart of Gretna Green, four ground floor bedrooms, all en-suite with shower. Three Double rooms, one twin/kingsize, single rates also available. Free, off road private parking. All rooms have Freeview, Flatscreen Colour TV, Tea & Coffee Tray, Hairdrier, Radio. Free WIFI throughout the house. Breakfast to suit all tastes, served in our quirky, garden view dining room. Choose from Full English, Full Scottish, Vegetarian or Smoked Salmon & Scrambled Eggs. Packed breakfast & Packed lunches also available by prior arrangement. We also have our own taxi service which you can book in advance for your wedding party, station or airport pick up/drop off, or a day trip out around the area - priority for our guests is given.Good base to tour from into the Lakes or Hadrians Wall or further into Dumfries & Galloway. We are close to all the wedding venues and larger hotels, churches and Blacksmiths Shop, Gretna Gateway Outlet Shopping Village and Gretna Green Railway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alexander House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander House Gretna Green, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing