We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Alexander House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alexander House
Ranked #1 of 9 Gretna Green B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I could not fault this hotel at all, spotlessly clean, excellent breakfast, great hosts, good location, everything you could want for a short break, very handy for Gretna gateway outlet village. Cath recommended where to eat/drink which was very helpful. Would go again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a fantastic b&b. Cath and Steve are perfect hosts. The weather was gorgeous and sat in their immaculate gardens with cups of coffee. The breakfast was everything you needed to start you on your day and very well cooked.
We had the kingsize bedroom which was a good size. Bathroom small but adequate. Lots of hot water and a good shower.
The only downside was the size of the television which was a bit small when watching it in bed.
I would certainly recommend this accommodation just for the fact of being made so welcome.

Room Tip: Very comfy kingsize (actually two singles joined together)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noroof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here for our first night on a tour of Scotland after renewing our wedding vows and what a wonderful experience. Spotlessly clean, delightfully decorated and run by a couple that obviously enjoy what they do, it's immaculate honestly. The owners are friendly and helpful. What a great start to our trip - I wouldn't hesitate to recommend or stay again - can't wait. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had the wonderful pleasure of staying at the Alexander House when we got married in Gretna Green on the 29th April. Our hosts Cath & Steve were lovely, breakfast was superb & exactly what we wanted. Our room was perfect, thank you for the extremely thoughtful & wonderful upgrade for celebrating our wedding there as well as surprise wedding gift! The weather was beautiful on our big day which meant we were able to enjoy our champagne in the garden at the front of the house. Off-road parking meant we didn't have to worry about the car and the train station is literally round the corner (NO RAILWAY NOISE) & with the Famous Blacksmiths a 5 minute walk away, we had a lovely stroll back after our wedding service. Hazeldene hotel is a close walk and serves fantastic, well priced home cooked meals which we thoroughly enjoyed the night before our wedding. Highly recommend Alexander House, will definitely return to celebrate our anniversary xx

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TGilly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed here overnight with my husband. It was lovely. Spotlessly clean, very comfortable, the hosts were friendly and the breakfast was fine.

There were restaurants and pubs near by, and it was just off the motorway.

A lovely little gem of a find. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here for our wedding on 2/5/14. Cath and Steve were fantastic, they were so helpful. This place is immaculate, there is nothing I could fault. There were even hooks high on the wall for my wedding dress, just ingenious! We were even given a wedding gift x
The breakfast was beautifully cooked too. We will definitely be staying here again !
Off road parking too which is a bonus !
Thank you x

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed 2 nights Fri & Sat April 2014. Steve and Cathy looked after Karon and I from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. The B&B is immaculate throughout, the smaller details such as complimentary tea, coffee and fresh towels, replenished daily. Of course the breakfast (with the food of the gods 'haggis') just the best. No gripes here I can assure you all.

Offers wonderful piece of mind too as your vehicle is off road in the parking spaces available on site. More importantly, my wife and I travelled to Scotland on my Goldwing motorcycle so security is paramount. Ideal for small biker parties I'd say as Steve being a biker, was thorough enough to place the bike so it was tucked away mostly out of site. I also provided my own security too.

Great location, 5 minutes walk to the Hazeldene Hotel for good old fashioned reasonably priced food, 100 yds from the railway station (NO RAILWAY NOISE) and we were the closest room to it. Trip down into Annan to the Indian for a Ruby Murray.

Many thanks to our wonderful hosts and we will see you again on the 25th May for the Start of our motorcycle tour around Scotland.

Thank you xxx

Room Tip: All rooms are top quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.5 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#2 of 5 in Gretna
931 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hazeldene Hotel
Hazeldene Hotel
#2 of 9 in Gretna Green
410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rhone Villa
Rhone Villa
#1 of 1 in Gretna Green
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander House

Address: Alexander House Glasgow Road, Gretna Green DG16 5DU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gretna Green
Price Range: £54 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alexander House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent Bed and Breakfast Accommodation in the heart of Gretna Green, four ground floor bedrooms, all en-suite with shower. Three Double rooms, one twin/kingsize, single rates also available. Free, off road private parking. All rooms have Freeview, Flatscreen Colour TV, Tea & Coffee Tray, Hairdrier, Radio. Free WIFI throughout the house. Breakfast to suit all tastes, served in our quirky, garden view dining room. Choose from Full English, Full Scottish, Vegetarian or Smoked Salmon & Scrambled Eggs. Packed breakfast & Packed lunches also available by prior arrangement. We also have our own taxi service which you can book in advance for your wedding party, station or airport pick up/drop off, or a day trip out around the area - priority for our guests is given.Good base to tour from into the Lakes or Hadrians Wall or further into Dumfries & Galloway. We are close to all the wedding venues and larger hotels, churches and Blacksmiths Shop, Gretna Gateway Outlet Shopping Village and Gretna Green Railway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alexander House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander House Gretna Green, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing