We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite simply the best B&B we have ever stayed in”
Review of Alexander House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alexander House
Ranked #1 of 9 Gretna Green B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2009

We stayed at this lovely B&B on the way back to Manchester from Scotland last year. It looked lovely on the website and we weren't disappointed when we arrived. The owners made us feel extremely welcome and we soon settled into our room which was light, bright, clean and contemporary and full of fine fixtures and fittings. My girlfriend loved the curtain fabrics (it's a girl thing I know) but I have to say the design and interior of the room were a delight. The following morning we were treated to a delicious home cooked Scottish breakfast which I can only describe as super-scrummy. I love my food and certainly enjoyed this tasty treat. On the whole the B&B represents excellent value for money. If your are in Gretna and plan to stay over, book this fine establishment. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mancwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for Alexander House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2009

I stayed here with my husband when we attended a friends daughters wedding a year ago. We went back again a few months later (shopping trip to Gretna Gateway) and the new owners have transformed the place. It looks like it has been completely redecorated. The room we stayed in was perfect - clean and roomy with modern fresh decor. It was quiet - and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was worth getting up for - a good choice and a chance to try some haggis. Fresh eggs were from the fat hens at the bottom of the garden.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teashopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

Alexandra Guest House is a lovely guesthouse. It is so convenient - next to the railway station and the main route through Gretna. The rooms are immaculately clean and well equipped, modern and stylish yet so cosy. The breakfasts were delicious with a vast choice from haggis to smoked salmon and eggs from their own hens - how fresh can you get.
The owners - Cath and Steve were extremely friendly and helpful, adding the personal touch that you always hope to receive.
I would recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

we booked this from the pictures on the web site and were not disappointed we were greeted by the owners cath and steve and made to feel at home and very welcome immediately . the rooms are a good size and immaculatley clean and a good en suite . we were given all the local information we needed for our trip and enjoyed a great breakfast with their own free range eggs . located in gretna this was perfect for any occasion

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmcnoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2008

Fantastic B+B conveniently located right near the railway station. Spotlessly clean, lovely large rooms and friendly hosts. Much better than many hotels i have stayed in. Breakfast was a highlight with lots of choice including smoked salmon, haggis etc. and fresh eggs from their chickens, can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rickki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Marco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank avj91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.3 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.2 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
423 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
903 reviews
0.5 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander House

Address: Glasgow Road, Gretna Green DG16 5DU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gretna Green
Price Range: £57 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alexander House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent Bed and Breakfast Accommodation in the heart of Gretna Green, four ground floor bedrooms, all en-suite with shower. Three Double rooms, one twin/kingsize, single rates also available. Free, off road private parking. All rooms have Freeview, Flatscreen Colour TV, Tea & Coffee Tray, Hairdrier, Radio. Free WIFI throughout the house. Breakfast to suit all tastes, served in our quirky, garden view dining room. Choose from Full English, Full Scottish, Vegetarian or Smoked Salmon & Scrambled Eggs. Packed breakfast & Packed lunches also available by prior arrangement. We also have our own taxi service which you can book in advance for your wedding party, station or airport pick up/drop off, or a day trip out around the area - priority for our guests is given.Good base to tour from into the Lakes or Hadrians Wall or further into Dumfries & Galloway. We are close to all the wedding venues and larger hotels, churches and Blacksmiths Shop, Gretna Gateway Outlet Shopping Village and Gretna Green Railway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Alexander House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander House Gretna Green, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing