We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return visit from Ireland” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greenlaw Guest House

Greenlaw Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Greenlaw Guest House
Ranked #7 of 10 Gretna Green B&B and Inns
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Return visit from Ireland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We returned on our yearly weekly tour of beautiful Scotland and northern England. Greenlaw is the best place to stay for a few days and the best value for money. We stayed five days and were very well looked after breakfast was great as some of our family are very hard to please with food. Bedrooms were very comfortable and anything we needed was provided. We did notice that Greenlaw have upgraded their Gesthouse in the past twelve months.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paddykennedydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    13
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
22
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kirkby in ashfield
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We would like to thank Pauline for her help and hospitality during our families recent booking nothing was to much trouble, from the moment we originally booked a year ago to the actual event everything went so smoothly. we booked all the rooms for our wedding guests all had a great time thank you again.

Ray and Sue

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

From the moment I booked this direct with Pauline, I knew I was in good hands. Nothing seemed too much trouble and she was very warm, friendly and helpful.

The room we had was exactly what we needed. It was warm, clean and the bed was very comfortable. As I was the best man at my friends wedding I needed a good nights sleep and was not dissapointed.

Breakfast was spot on and Pauline couldnt do enough for us. I had a full cooked breakfast which was one of the best cooked breakfasts I had had for a while and set me up for the day. My girlfriend would also reccomend the scrambled eggs with smoked Salmon.

I will definately be using Greenlaw Guest house again should I be visiting Gretna in the future. Thank you Pauline for a truely enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

We stayed at the Greenlaw when renewing our wedding vows for our 5th anniversary. It was absolutely wonderful and cannot understand the people complaining about check outs and breakfast times. If you can't get out of bed by 9 in the morning, you are just a lazy slob and, anyway, nobosy is forcing you to eat it. Our breakfast was great, fresh orange juice on the table, cereals, toast and a great selection for the hot meal. Our room was nice, ensuite with a shower and a bedroom overlooking the irish sea. Plenty of tea and coffee and clean towels. Very comfortable and great value for money. Pauline is a gem; very friendly and helpful and a wonderful host. And it's right across the road from the train station. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Arrived over an hour after check in finished but called ahead so the owner waited for us. Very pleasant, no problems at all that we had made her wait. We were booked in the four poster bed room which was lovely and was without a doubt the comfiest bed I have ever slept in! I agree that the breakfast was very early but it was really tasty and it wasnt the end of the world getting up to eat it before going back to bed to sleep off the hangover! And the early check out the next day didn't really affect us as we were getting picked up anyway. Overall, a very pleasant stay in a lovely room run by a very friendly and helpful owner very close to all amenities. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Casiraghi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

myself and my husband stayed at the greenlaw with our 3 children ages 4 , 9 ,14 and my parents who are in there 50s over the weekend of 4th and 5th september 2011 for my brothers wedding ,we had 2 rooms room 6 and 8 these were very clean with towels tea and coffee facillates which were re stocked straight away as were the used towels etc as we had used them because the weather on the first day was very wet and cold the breakfasts were wonderful with lots of choice and our oldest son was given an adults breakfast without any extra cost the greenlaw was an excellent place to spend our weekend it was enjoyed by all of us and we would defanatly stay here again thankyou pauline for a great stay xx

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrys77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

A very warm welcome,our room was lovely and clean we enjoyed the breakfast there was lots of it....Thanks pauline for a nice stay x

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.2 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.7 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenlaw Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenlaw Guest House

Property: Greenlaw Guest House
Address: Glasgow Roead, Gretna Green DG16 5DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Greenlaw Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Greenlaw Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenlaw Guest House Gretna Green, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing