We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So welcoming”

Greenlaw Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Greenlaw Guest House
Ranked #7 of 9 Gretna Green B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Lovely little guesthouse with a great breakfast. Pauline was so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Great location, two minutes from the train station and about 5 minutes from the Blacksmith shop. Would definately stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie50_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for Greenlaw Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012

Stayed here the night before my wedding (sept 2012) it is run by a lovely couple, Pauline and Fran. The rooms are decorated so lovely, it felt very homely. I was very pleasantly surprised as I don't normally expect much from B n Bs but Greenlaws most definitely exceeded my expectations. The breakfast was fantastic with a full english and cereals, pineapple, muffins etc also provided. Perfect location as well, right across the rd from the train station and only a 2 min walk from the famous blacksmith shop. Adequate parking spaces are available also. Will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoobyJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay at Greenlaw Guest House with my wife. First impressions when we pulled onto the ample car park was very nice,well maintained and lets hope the service and rooms were up to standard. On ringing the door bell a very polite and friendly lady greeted us and showed us in,this turned out to be the owner Pauline. She really made us feel welcome and explained what time breakfast was and where. She then pointed us in the direction of our en suite room number 3. The room was very nice,clean and presented well. There were tea &coffee making facilities in the room,nice clean and fresh bedding as well as towels. When the morning came round and we went for breakfast we were yet again welcomed by Pauline and our orders taken. The lay out and setup of the breakfast rooms were very good and the choice was above and beyond. Fresh orange on your table,then toast and then your ordered breakfast,with both pots of tea and coffee on offer and plenty of it. We have had some bad experiences in the past with guest houses and now usually go for the popular hotel chains. But to our surprise we have found a little gem and next time we are in the area we would without a doubt return. We had elderly parents with us for 1 night and yet again nothing was to much trouble,they were in room 9 or 10,with what can only be described as the biggest,widest bed we have ever seen and another very good room. All in all we cannot rate this little gem highly enough and would just like to say thank you to both Pauline and Fran for making our weekend an enjoyable one.

Room Tip: Do not think you will get a bad room. We saw 3 rooms and were all on a par
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themurra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

From the moment we arrived, a bit earlier than anticipated, Pauline was very warm and friendly.
The room was clean and comfortable. Excellent breakfast, tasty and filling.
Hope to return next year for our 1st Wedding Anniversary.

Room Tip: Some road noise at the front, not a problem as the bed was so comfy.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Greenlaw Guest House was perfect for our trip up to Gretna for a family wedding. They managed to provide 6 lovely rooms for our large party.

Our room was perfect. All rooms are en-suite and the shower was great. In the bedroom tea and coffee was provided (with kettle) and bottled water every day which was appreciated. The bed itself was extremely comfortable and we both slept very well!

In the morning, the breakfast provided by Pauline was delicious! A good selection of cereals was available. After cereal / croissant (or both!) Pauline would come and take your breakfast order which was always delicious. Yoghurt, fruit, endless rounds of toast and fresh orange juice meant that you ready for the day ahead.

If we're ever up in Gretna again, there's only one place we'll be staying. Thanks Pauline!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank willdavmufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We returned on our yearly weekly tour of beautiful Scotland and northern England. Greenlaw is the best place to stay for a few days and the best value for money. We stayed five days and were very well looked after breakfast was great as some of our family are very hard to please with food. Bedrooms were very comfortable and anything we needed was provided. We did notice that Greenlaw have upgraded their Gesthouse in the past twelve months.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddykennedydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We would like to thank Pauline for her help and hospitality during our families recent booking nothing was to much trouble, from the moment we originally booked a year ago to the actual event everything went so smoothly. we booked all the rooms for our wedding guests all had a great time thank you again.

Ray and Sue

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.2 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.1 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
450 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alexander House
Alexander House
#1 of 9 in Gretna Green
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hazeldene Hotel
Hazeldene Hotel
#2 of 9 in Gretna Green
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenlaw Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenlaw Guest House

Address: Glasgow Roead, Gretna Green DG16 5DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gretna Green
Price Range: £51 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Greenlaw Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Greenlaw Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenlaw Guest House Gretna Green, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing