We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great B and B”

Greenlaw Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Greenlaw Guest House
Ranked #7 of 9 Gretna Green B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Great B and B”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

A party of 10 of us stayed for two nights as we were attending a wedding in Gretna. I would just like to thank Pauline for making us feel so welcome. Our rooms were clean and had all we needed. Breakfast was beautiful. Pauline couldnt have been more helpful. Thank you.

Room Tip: Dounle Room 3 lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracyj34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    13
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
23
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I've stayed here before on trips to Scotland as Gretna is an easy day's drive from home so it makes a nice place to break up the trip. The rooms are fine, the breakfast is fine, but what made me come back is the owner, Pauline. She is so friendly and helpful, and makes staying at the Greenlaw a pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southport
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed for one night on 22-3 on the way for a couple of days in Mid Scotland. A clean no frills b&b and as other have mentioned nothing was too much trouble for the owner Pauline.. Being totally honest the hotel was probably a 3.5 out of 5 but will give it 4 for the fact Pauline was so charming and helpful....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuncanSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annan, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

visiting a nearby hotel for a wedding, we booked a double room at the nearby greenlaw guest house and were upgraded free of charge to the family room on arrival.with plenty of parking, we found the rooms are well decorated,modern and very clean. my very fussy partner could not fault them. the family room consisted of a double bedroom,a single bedroom and a shower room. both bedrooms had a tv installed. the morning breakfast consisted of orange juice and coffee/tea for drinks.various cereals and toast with jam/marmalade was made available whilst we waited on our cooked breakfast-perfect. the cooked breakfast could not have been better-the chef has obviously made plenty of them-delicious!! we were made very welcome and would recommend them to anyone staying in gretna/gretna green. don't bother with the large wedding hotel 100 yards away-stay here for less and a perfect stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Having long been fascinated by Gretna Green and its story of runaway lovers we chose Greenlaw Guest House because of the good reviews on this site. We were not disappointed. The owner, Pauline, is rightly proud of her guest house and gave us a friendly welcome instantly knowing who we were. The room was spacious, bright and well laid out. The bed was very comfortable and we had an excellent night's sleep. The breakfast was delicious and there was a good choice. The guest house is well situated for the Black Smith's Cottage and also for the extensive shopping mall in Gretna. There is plenty of parking outside the house. This is an excellent bed and breakfast made perfect by the friendly owner - highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharleyFarley777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed while attending a wedding in Gretna. The room was clean bright and the beds were very good quality. The breakfast was substantial and Pauline called us by our first names, which was very impressive as we had only slept there, due to be at the wedding all day.

I was definitely recommend Greenlaw Guest House, you will receive a warm welcome from Pauline :-)

C Burrows

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cadburyscarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Combe Martin, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at Green law the night before our wedding and the next one. There were 14 of us and Pauline was welcoming, friendly and she organised the rooms efficiently and to suit everyone's needs knowing all the parties Christian names. It's well situated, the rooms are lovely especially if you have family and the breakfast was outstanding. Something for everyone. Really reasonable rates would definitely go back. We had an amazing wedding and Greenlaw completed the experience. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending your stay at Greenlaw you will not be disappointed. Michelle and Baz

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.7 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
405 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
388 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alexander House
Alexander House
#2 of 9 in Gretna Green
132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bonnie Prince Charlie's Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenlaw Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenlaw Guest House

Property: Greenlaw Guest House
Address: Glasgow Roead, Gretna Green DG16 5DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Greenlaw Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Greenlaw Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenlaw Guest House Gretna Green, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing