We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Value for Money "Place to relax and switch off."”

Greenlaw Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Greenlaw Guest House
Ranked #7 of 9 Gretna Green B&B and Inns
Newbridge, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly and Value for Money "Place to relax and switch off."”
Reviewed 4 December 2010

We found Pauline and Fran very friendly and helpful. My wife and I traveled from Ireland with five of our extended family. My wife and I stayed in the Greenlaw twice before on our own over the past couple of years.
Everyone in our group really loved staying in the Greenlaw The rooms were very comfortable the Breakfast was great and the peace and quite were somthing else. The help and advice that Pauline gave us of places to visit and of shopping and Restaurants nearby was very good.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddykennedydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    13
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
24
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lochgilphead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We stayed for two nights for my cousins wedding and it was wonderful. Thank you so much Pauline for making us feel so welcome. Lovely comfy bed. Georgous split level room. Utter bliss. Breakfast was delicious, freshly cooked and very ample so I dont know what the last person was moaning about. It kept us going for most of the day! We were asked if we wanted a cooked breakfast when we came down so again I cannot understand the previous comments on this. 2 tea bags in a pot for one person, real butter and hot crispy toast so 10 out 10 for that. Beautiful homely little dining room and the whole place was spotlessly clean throughout. It is run very proffessionally and efficiently and has such a warm and friendly atmosphere that you feel at home instantly. Extremely handy for nipping round the corner to the wedding venue. A wee bit near the motorway so I thought I would be kept awake by traffic but seriously you honestly dont hear that much. Will definately return.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ileach43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2010

The purpose of our stay was for a wedding. The first room offered was not what we had hoped for but next morning was offered a much larger room at no extra cost. We found the landlady to be more than helpful and welcoming. Rooms clean, breakfast plenty and good quality. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worcester_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Having telephoned the guest house the day before to ask would it be ok to check in at 11.30am as we were attending a wedding service at 13.00 , we arrived to find the place was locked up ! luckily we had family already there already in there rooms from the previous day. The owner turned up at 12.00.asked our names and said "heres your key the room is upstairs " . To be fair the room and place was spotless albeit a bit dated and the family room was of ample size. The lounge was locked up ,strange ! and the breakfast the following morning was shocking !... on arriving at the dining room there was a small table for 2 (theres 3 of us ) on asking if she would be able to get another seat for us, we were met by a " well i dont know where the extra one has come from ! " yes 3 of us did check in . she then proceded to move some high chairs and put my daughter on another table ! good job it was family but she didnt know that. Now the cereals some out of date (sept 09 april 10 ) moaned when i asked for coffee then to top it all she brought us all a full english breakfast without us ordering one, ( my wife is vegatarian and my daughter doesnt like them ! mine you good for me as all you got was 1 slice bacon 1 sausage 1 egg, 1 hash brown, spoonful of beans and 1 slice of toast ( might of been a tight scottish breakfast) but seriously not to be asked is a disgrace. We nicknamed her a rude mrs doubtfire ! We might have been treated different if we were a foreign tourist. Wouldnt stay again even if you paid me

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry9664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.7 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
416 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
396 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alexander House
Alexander House
#2 of 9 in Gretna Green
133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bonnie Prince Charlie's Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenlaw Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenlaw Guest House

Property: Greenlaw Guest House
Address: Glasgow Roead, Gretna Green DG16 5DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Greenlaw Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Greenlaw Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenlaw Guest House Gretna Green, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing