We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst hotel I have ever stayed in.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Gretna Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gretna Hall
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Worst hotel I have ever stayed in.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

Food IN the bar uneatable , Rooms dull mould round the bath hairdryer blow up and the lights did'nt work. The Breakfast was just as badthe orange juice like water bacon not cooked ans sausage like sawdust.

Room Tip: don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gail064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GretnaHall, General Manager at Gretna Hall, responded to this review, 13 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I am disappointed to here that you did not enjoy your stay at Gretna Hall, I will address your all your issues reagrding your dining experiences with both my head chef and my food and beverage manager.
We do appreciate any feedback we receive and will ensure that all the team are aware of your comments.

Kind regards
John Silker-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    273
    175
    98
    117
See reviews for
188
463
24
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

We stayed for one night in this hotel on our way home from the Cairngorms and frankly wished we hadn't bothered. Although the hotel was busy, check-in was straightforward and on first sight our room was clean and tidy. Upon closer examination however there was a three foot log cobweb above the wash basin in the bathroom and the chairs were threadbare and indeed one had a hole in the seat cushion. The TV was old and the reception so poor that we gave up watching it and read books instead. On going down for dinner we couldn't help noticing that many of the carpets in the public areas were threadbare and dirty. After being seated at our table we realised that it was on a sprung dance floor and moved alarmingly every time someone walked past, so much so that we asked to be moved as we began to feel unwell. The service was slow and the food was at best poor. The vegetable soup was bereft of vegetables and tasted of wet cardboard with pepper on and the melon came with a sorbet which you were expected to eat with a knife and fork. The main course was no better, I ordered 'Roast of the Day' which was ham. I rather naievly expected a couple of chunky slices of gammon ham off a roast joint but no, I got very thin sliced luke warm ham which could have come straight out of a packet from Tesco. The veg was predominantly carrots, with three thin strands of cabbage, two green beans, two bits of cauliflower the size of your thumb nail and two pieces of celery one quarter of an inch thick. The less said about the mashed potato with chunks of red pepper in the better. Dessert actually wasn't too bad once the waiter had remembered what we ordered and the miniscule blob of spray cream was a bonus. After the meal we waited expectantly to be offered coffee but ultimately we realised none would be forthcoming so we gave up and went to bed. The beds were in fact quite comfortable if you didn't stray too close to the edges.
The hotel brochure in our room informed us that breakfast was served from 7am, so at ten past we made our way to the dining room to get an early start and make the most of the day. It was deserted. After searching for a member of staff we were told that breakfast was from 8am and the brochure was 'wrong but hadn't been changed yet'. Back in our room, to our surprise we found that the TV was just about watchable and so we made ourselves a cup of coffee to while away the 45 minutes until breakfast. Unfortunately the little cartons of milk had gone off.
It was with some trepidation that we went down to breakfast for a second time but other than the scrambled egg, ( which had the consistency and taste of frog spawn), the buffet breakfast was quite good, as was the service.
This hotel could have been an ideal place for a break of journey for us on our frequent trips to Scotland but unfortunately we will not be returning. Ever.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rattyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GretnaHall, General Manager at Gretna Hall, responded to this review, 13 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent stay at Gretna Hall Hotel.
As you are probably aware on your recent visit, we are in the process of up grading the hotel which will eventually include refurbishment of all bed rooms including new beda and flat screen TV's.
I am disapointed to see that had not enjoyed you dining experience her at Gretna Hall and I will discuss this with my head chef and Food and Beverage Manager.
We do appreciate any feedback we receive and will ensure that all the team are aware of your comments.

Kind regards
John Silker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gretna Green hotels

Stranraer
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2011

We recently spent the night at Gretna Hall, the Food and service was excellent, but the bed, I have travelled to many countries but that is the worst night I have ever spent, the bed was hollow in the centre and as hard as a rock, I tried pillows, cushions and then gave up, Between the bed and the noise of the passing M74 traffic I never slept all night, complained in the morning, but was met with a sorry we are refurbishing, such a pity as everything else was good.

Room Tip: Take earplugs and try the bed before you unpack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomboy69Stranraer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GretnaHall, General Manager at Gretna Hall, responded to this review, 13 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I am delighted to here that you ejoyed the food and service here at Gretna Hall, I will pass these positive comments on to my Head Chef and my Food and Beverage manager.
I am sorry that you experienced difficulties sleeping, we are as I'm sure you are aware currently undergoing a refurbishment and this will soon be resulting in new beds for all 100 bedrooms.
Thank you once again and I do hope we see you again soon at Gretna Hall Hotel.

Kind regards
John Silker- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

We booked a St Patrick's weekend with another 2 couples and paid for it last May, having been sent a brochure about it by the hotel. On arrival the hotel had no record of our booking but did eventually manage to find us rooms. When we asked about the promised St Patrick's weekend entertainment we were told it had been cancelled and everyone had been informed. We hadn't been. What really annoyed us was the attitude of the 'management'. They said that since our booking forms didn't mention St Patrick's Weekend the hotel couldn't be blamed. The phrase Carrieann, The Duty Manager used was 'I'm sorry there has been a misunderstanding'. A bottle of wine might have made us feel better. We had paid extra, 10 months previously, for a special weekend! We've been to the hotel before but won't return.

Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ahappytraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

Worth using if you get a good rate and only need to stop for one or two nights. All relatively basic but adequate for a short stop.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiciB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GretnaHall, General Manager at Gretna Hall, responded to this review, 13 April 2011
Many thanks for your kind feedback.
We do appreciate any feedback we receive.

Kind regards
John Silker- Genral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

We have today while visiting the area poped into the Gretna Hall Hotel for Sunday Lunch. We were apprehensive because of the price at only £5, but our fears soon went once we entered the dinning area and saw the food. Area clean, staff welcoming and polite, food really good (Fresh veg, not tinned), real high standard table dressings and drinks well priced. I now sit here and wonder why the place wasn't packed: Does the price scream issues? Not enough advertising? No signage to direct you from carpark to restaurant? Does the horrible grey building next to the hall put people off or is it the fact the outside could do with a little face lift (Lick of paint and more flowers)? If in the area pop in and have a good Sunday Lunch (Do not be put off by the outside)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince1968_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GretnaHall, General Manager at Gretna Hall, responded to this review, 13 April 2011
Thank you for your kind comments.
I'm delighted that you enjoyed our Sunday Carvery and I will be sure to pass on your comments to my team.

Kind regards
John Silker- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

Stayed in this hotel January last year not to much has changed, rooms good, most of the staff are friendly and accomadating but, only one but, the menu's for the evening meals have went from really good to average with an almost identical menu on both nights the Saturday and Sunday that we stayed. Still enjoyed my stay but was just a bit disappointed with the menu compared to my last stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCS121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GretnaHall, General Manager at Gretna Hall, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We do appreciate any feedback we receive and will ensure that all the team are aware of your comments.
Kind regards
John Silker- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.1 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.8 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gretna Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gretna Hall

Property: Gretna Hall
Address: Gretna Green | Dumfriesshire, Gretna Green DG16 5DY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gretna Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gretna Hall Hotel is an ideal setting for your leisure break thanks to its great location, charm and character. Originally built in 1710 as a manor house, our hotel, set in 10 acres of beautiful gardens offers all the character of a substantial historical building with all the facilities you would expect from a leading contemporary hotel. We cater for weddings, family celebrations, business meetings and overnight stays and a very warm welcome awaits you at Gretna Hall Hotel whatever your reason for visiting us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gretna Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gretna Hall Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Hall Green
Gretna Hall Hotel Green
Gretna Hall Gretna Green, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing