We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not as good as hoped”
Review of Gretna Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gretna Hall
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“not as good as hoped”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This was the end of a coach holiday in Scotland which included 3 hotel stops. The hotel is set in lovely ground/gardens and has a pretty oldfashioned appearance from outside. The room was good but fellow travellers had a few minor complaints. The food was excellent but service at table was a bit slow. No staff were rude or unkind but appeared unhappy and unsmiling except one young lady who was cheerful and very helpful. We were only booked in for one night which might explain why no-one appeared to be very bothered when we checked out.

Room Tip: Front faceing rooms have better views. Beautiful grounds & gardens. Staff were not rude but did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patsyanne_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    277
    178
    99
    118
See reviews for
190
467
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Myself and my partner came to Gretna last saturday to be married, the ceremony and people at the Blacksmiths Shop were great but our room in the hotel was not.
Stained walls, carpets and curtains, shocking paintwork on patio doors and especially the bathroom window which had black mould on it. The bathroom was the worst I have ever seen, a dripping tap which would not stop, one of the shower doors not even on its runner, a hole in the bathroom door and generally dirty. Noisy residents, the police were called at 2.00am to eject non residents from a nearby room. Very noisy fire door next to out room.
The food was ok but nothing exciting. If you intend to stay here ask to see the room first. Our room was number 28, I would give this room a wide berth. We couldn't wait to leave the next morning for our honeymoon. We stayed here June 30th 2012.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gretna Green hotels

Yambol
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We landed in Gretna not by choice but by AA rescue due to a mechanical breakdown. Having checked out local accommodation on laterooms the receptionist chap at the garage we were taken to very kindly called the hotel on our behalf to see what sort of deal they could offer a couple of stranded way farers.

We arrived at the hotel and were totally taken aback at the beautiful grounds, a photo opportunity in every direction. We delighted in strolling around the gardens before dinner, they are very well maintained and we were fortunate to get a break in the unseasonably inclemant weather.

The receptionist greeted us in a very friendly manner and sympathised with our circumstances. We were directed to our room which was amazing, a family room, very spacious and clean with French Doors onto a small terrace. A bridal party were enjoying the sunshine at the front of the hotel and all seemed to be having a great time.

The package we had been offered was dinner bed and breakfast, we were given a menu to select from and found the food appealingly presented and appetising, breakfast the following morning was a very comprehensive range of both cereals, fruits and cooked items on a self service arrangement.

The service we received from the staff was faultless, our comments on leaving were that had it not been for the circumstances we had found ourselves in, we would have been totally thrilled with staying at the hotel. If we find ourselves in that particular neck of the woods again, we would not hesitate to book there and have no doubt we would have an enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a ground floor room in the newish wing facing the front gardens with a terrace, absolutel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzannah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2012

As we booked our Wedding package through the Gretna Wedding Bureau, we wanted our accommodation to be at the original marriage house of The Gretna Hall Hotel. What a let down, we were not treated as a Wedding couple, unfriendly staff, poor standard room, shower didn't work on morning of our Wedding or following morning having complained about it. Poor standard of food, lack of choice. Seems to cater moreso for the 60s and over! Would not recommend this for your Wedding stay. By all means go to Gretna, because our Ceremony and the people involved were fantastic and it was very romantic. However, our stay was a let down, disappointing and unmemorable.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms first
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012 via mobile

A large group of us stayed here after attending a wedding nearby. There were no problems with the communal areas of the hotel, the bar and Anvil restaurant were tasteful and comfortable. A friend did complain that a female member of the bar staff was less than helpful with her drinks order but I found them to be very friendly. The food was adequate but nothing special. Our room was a different matter. At a glance it seemed fine, possibly could have done with a fresh coat of paint. On closer inspection tho there were some cosmetic problems such as a torn couch and missing handle on the wardrobe. The cleanliness of the bathroom could and should have been better, the corners of the floor were grubby and the shower was positively disgusting with some kind of black mould growing on the bottom as well as a hair that wasn't ours! There was also mould on the insides of all the window frames and the window ledges looked like they hadn't been dusted in some time. I won't be staying here again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrszombie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Have just spent two nights at Gretna Hall Hotel to attend a wedding. On arrival the receptionist was abrupt, no word of welcome, no offer of assistance with luggage, no information on breakfast. However no complaints about the room which was very pleasant, on the ground floor with French windows on to pretty garden. The hotel obviously caters for a lot of wedding groups so would not recommend it for anyone looking for a quiet overnight stay. Our group thoroughly enjoyed the wedding - great night but none of that was due to the staff. The woman behind the bar (which opened two hours after it should have done) did not smile all evening. The wedding flowers were delivered to reception who did not inform the wedding party causing unnecessary anxiety. The two nights we were there the main bar was closed about midnight despite the fact the wedding groups had been assured that it would remain open as all the guests were staying at the hotel and wanted to celebrate a special day. As a Scot I was embarrassed that so many people had to endure their first experience of Scottish hospitality at one of the most unhospitable places I have stayed at in Scotland. They get lots of business because of the location and its romantic associations. Ending on a positive note, the main stars for me were the lady who was in charge of food - great smile - and the two night porters who came to clear up - they were stars.

Room Tip: If weather is good try for a room on ground floor as there is a small patio area overlooking the gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

clean, tidy and well furnished room. cheery staff who were very helpful. very nice food and all at a price that didnt break the bank. an ideal place for a short stay and within striking distance of the lake district, Carlisle and Hadrians Wall. gretna outlet village is a short walk away

Room Tip: some rooms on theground floor open out to small garden?patio areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stupidname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.1 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.8 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gretna Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gretna Hall

Property: Gretna Hall
Address: Gretna Green | Dumfriesshire, Gretna Green DG16 5DY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gretna Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gretna Hall Hotel is an ideal setting for your leisure break thanks to its great location, charm and character. Originally built in 1710 as a manor house, our hotel, set in 10 acres of beautiful gardens offers all the character of a substantial historical building with all the facilities you would expect from a leading contemporary hotel. We cater for weddings, family celebrations, business meetings and overnight stays and a very warm welcome awaits you at Gretna Hall Hotel whatever your reason for visiting us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gretna Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gretna Hall Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Hall Green
Gretna Hall Hotel Green
Gretna Hall Gretna Green, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing