We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the job (just!)”
Review of Gretna Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gretna Hall
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Did the job (just!)”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Just back from a 2 night stay. Went up for a family wedding. The rest stayed at the Smiths which was £130 a night and we paid £63 a night, b and b at this one, down the road. Upon arriving, the hotel is set back along a long drive with beautifully maintained gardens. The part that is shown in all the photos (the original building) is beautiful but in need of a paint job. It's overall a bit tired and could do with an upgrade but still keeping the character.What you don't see is the 100 room attached annex (also in need of a paintjob!) It's in a good location. There's not a lot in Gretna Green but there is a great outlet centre a mile down the road, opposite a pub and a centre across the road from the Smiths that's got shops, etc in it and worth a look around. It was very hit and miss. The breakfast is excellant and catered for all needs with a large choice of cereal, yoghurts, tinned fruit, cheese and ham. There is also a self serve hot selection with bacon, sausages, fried and scrambled eggs, black pudding, haggis, beans, mushrooms and tomatoes. Toast and preserves are put at your table. At night there is a choice of eating in the restaurant (£25.50 a head) or a bar area. We chose the latter, which had a small menu and a limited specials board. My partner had fish and chips. I think their goldfish must have died.It was a small (and I mean small) piece of frozen battered fish and a few cold chips. The other guests ordered the same meal and had a completely different flat fish brought out that looked like plaice. We complained and the young waiter did not know what to do and wasn't bothered. To compensate they gave us a few (and I mean few) of the cold chips. At £10 a meal, this was rubbish. The bar man was miserable and unhelpful as was the first receptionist. The light in our room, operated by inserting your card key, would not work after several attempts,The first receptionist told us to jam the key in (we had) and eventually agreed to send someone up. After going out for the night, the lights still would not work! The second receptionist, a Polish lady with a Scottish accent, was so lovely and helpful and got it sorted out, as though nothing was too much trouble. The room was quite large. Basic but had the most comfiest bed we have ever slept in. Good things- gardens. Lots of weddings there (we made friends with a lovely group of guests who even invited us to attend their wedding the next day!).Price of drinks were good and a lot cheaper than the other places.Breakfast- lovely. Complimentary toiletries. Bad things- could do with a paint job and the chefs from breakfast doing the bar meals! (Poor food, honestly! I am not a moaner but I do better on a typical night's tea. Also train some of the staff on their customer service. It is a shame as it wouldn't take a lot to get this top notch and get the top score.

Room Tip: We stayed in the annex, based at the front of the hotel. The ground floor ones had doors opening ont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    282
    180
    99
    119
See reviews for
193
470
27
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wiltshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stopped over for one night returning from Scotland. Dinner and Breakfast plenty of choice and large helpings. Room updated in an old shell, it was fine. Drinks in garden relaxing on a hot day, bar prices good. There is traffic noise on hot nights with the windows open, how often does that happen. The hotel is a maze with sloping floors in places and confusing passages to get to reception, dining room, bar, but that's part of the fun of old buildings. The annex on the side where most bedrooms are is newer no such problems.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matchsticklegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I booked one night at Gretna Hall to break up the long drive from West Sussex to Skye for my elderly mum and myself and was so pleased with my choice!
We were able to park in a disabled bay near the main entrance and our check-in was quick and efficient and we were able to book a table in the restaurant for our evening meal (although we had to eat early at 6.15pm due to the restaurant being busy later) which was delicious and beautifully presented. (we chose the three course meal at £19.95 per person)
Our twin room was overlooking the lovely front gardens of the hotel and was very clean throughout with a good size flat screen tv.
We went down the next morning after a good night's sleep to a filling breakfast which had a great choice of cereals, fruit, cold meat, yoghurt and also self serve cooked breakfast of sausages, bacon, black pudding, potato cakes, mushrooms, tomatoes, fried eggs or scrambled eggs. (this was accompanied by a toast rack of assorted toast with butter, jams and marmalade) All in all we had no need to stop for lunch for the rest of our journey!
There is a lift which made things easier for my mother and we found the staff very friendly.
We were so impressed that I booked for our stop-over on the way home too!

Room Tip: We preferred the room overlooking the front of the hotel as on our return trip we were at the back a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corinne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This was our first stop on our way to John O'Groats.We were four cyclists and me as the support.
The setting of the hotel was very pleasant with very attractive grounds.The staff received us well and were very helpful with the storage of our bikes.
The rooms were reasonable but very hot (we had arrived on one of the hottest days of the year).
We didn't find any air-con. Bathrooms were small with little room for storage.Towels were also small.Reasonable supply of shampoo/soap etc.
Bar area was comfortable but heavy(big leather chairs and sofas).We didn't use the restaurant but the bar food was reasonable.We took advantage of the 'Steak night' special which included a drink from a selected range.
All hotel staff were reasonable but never gave the impression that they were prepared to go the 'extra mile'.
We skipped breakfast due to a 6.30am start. No alternative was offered.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer reception avoid a long walk with luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigrodge1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

For the price it was very good.. Good service and great location just off motorway.. We were there for steak night .. £10 for a steak and glass of wine... For £10 it was great value and quite a nice dinner!! The staff were very friendly and helpful, Donald the barman was a lovely person and we appreciated his service. the room was clean and well enough equipped for a nights stay... Overall good value and not a bad place to stay!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Don't listen to the negativity. you get what you pay for,

If you want to pay £80+ per person, per night should be A1.

yes it could do with very minor cosmetic attention. But there are much much worse hotels in the area....
The added bonus you have with this place is the surroundings very beautiful, friendly staff, very nice breakfast....
A must place to go to chill ax???

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asti-999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

Once again we return to this delightful hotel, staff where as helpful and polite as our previous stay here. Food was tasty and not much wait times between courses! Excellent value for money in all aspects! Amazing breakfast did the job and kept us going all day!! Bar prices are cheaper here than any other hotel we have stayed in! Will be returning!!! Keep up the good work to all the staff!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.1 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.8 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
405 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
388 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
147 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gretna Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gretna Hall

Property: Gretna Hall
Address: Gretna Green | Dumfriesshire, Gretna Green DG16 5DY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gretna Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gretna Hall Hotel is an ideal setting for your leisure break thanks to its great location, charm and character. Originally built in 1710 as a manor house, our hotel, set in 10 acres of beautiful gardens offers all the character of a substantial historical building with all the facilities you would expect from a leading contemporary hotel. We cater for weddings, family celebrations, business meetings and overnight stays and a very warm welcome awaits you at Gretna Hall Hotel whatever your reason for visiting us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gretna Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gretna Hall Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Hall Green
Gretna Hall Hotel Green
Gretna Hall Gretna Green, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing