We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gretna Hall Hotel Bargain”
Review of Gretna Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gretna Hall
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Llanarmon-yn-Ial, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gretna Hall Hotel Bargain”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed Here for 1 night on our way to Edinburgh, Got a cheap deal, Fab Hotel, Lovely Staff, Excellent Breakfast in the morning. The Grounds are fabulous, kept very well, A beautiful place for your wedding or just to stay overnight.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmileyTwizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    282
    180
    99
    119
See reviews for
193
470
27
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My partner and I got married at the Gretna Hall Hotel on August 17th. We had worked with the hotel staff, particularly Diane, in arranging everything and have to say that the service we received was outstanding, from changing the original date to arranging an after-wedding meal.
Being the second time round for both of us we just wanted something private and personal and that is what we got.
The hotel itself dates back to 1710 so there will always be something going wrong. We stayed in the Sheridan Grant suite and it was comfortable. Lighting in the bedroom is subdued to say the least but the bed was extremely comfortable. The lounge area was small but we weren't throwing a party so adequate for the two of us. Word of warning - the water in the bathroom gets VERY hot so it is very difficult to gauge the temperature of the water if running a bath or shower. The lighting was inadequate for my 'wife' to get her hair and makeup done so we used the room of one of our guests in the new wing.
On Friday evening we ate in the bar area. The food was good and, more importantly, the drink prices are very reasonable. We found the staff to be friendly and they delivered a good service.
On Saturday we had a meeting with Pat, our coordinator for the day, who just let us know what would happen. From the onwards everything went to plan. We obviously couldn't plan the weather but we were fortunate that the rain stopped 15 minutes before the ceremony and started again 15 minutes after the last photo was taken. Everyone - Pat, the minister, photographer, videographer and bagpiper, made the day special. In the evening we had a meal in the restaurant which was extremely good. Because of the reason why most people are at the hotel, to celebrate a wedding, the atmosphere throughout is special. We got to speak to people from other wedding parties.
We found the staff to be friendly, helpful and professional the entire stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 21clyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Hotel is outdated rooms poor could not close window so spent the night listening to motorway traffic. Plumbing in bathroom very noisy and water black as though a pipe was burst. In the morning shower jammed so had to call maintenance. Complained to duty manager Rose who was totally uninterested in complaint would have been better spending the £89.00 on a tent

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gretna Green hotels

1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed at gretna hall and married my husband in the blacksmiths workshop. The hotel setting was beautiful. The staff were super friendly. Even the cleaners were happy and friendly. Will definately go back. Only complaint was bar closed early but i am from luton and used to 24 hr service lol

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tashleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Stayed here one night with friends and got a great deal through late rooms . com.
Gorgeous location and very grand driving up to the hall, with lovely welcome from reception staff. Rooms are pleasant although the bathrooms could use some refurbishment.
Bar staff were incredibly grumpy and service a bit slow but bar snacks were good and plenty big enough.
Great breakfast provided and its worth a visit over to see the marriage rooms

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plato22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed overnight at this hotel with Lochs & Glens and in no way could we fault it.
It was clean and tidy and the bedrooms were great.

Food was very good evening meal and breakfast.

A friend has just stayed there with Baker Dolphin for 6 nights and her impression was first class as well.

Room Tip: The front bedrooms were good even with the windows open you could not hear the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Gretna Hall Hotel. It was absolutely fabulous and highly recommend this to anyone who wants an intimate wedding with their nearest and dearest. The hotel hosted our reception to a high standard. The food was amazing, hospitality great and the function room was clean and perfect for our occasion.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.1 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.8 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
404 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
388 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
146 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gretna Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gretna Hall

Property: Gretna Hall
Address: Gretna Green | Dumfriesshire, Gretna Green DG16 5DY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gretna Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gretna Hall Hotel is an ideal setting for your leisure break thanks to its great location, charm and character. Originally built in 1710 as a manor house, our hotel, set in 10 acres of beautiful gardens offers all the character of a substantial historical building with all the facilities you would expect from a leading contemporary hotel. We cater for weddings, family celebrations, business meetings and overnight stays and a very warm welcome awaits you at Gretna Hall Hotel whatever your reason for visiting us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gretna Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gretna Hall Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Hall Green
Gretna Hall Hotel Green
Gretna Hall Gretna Green, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing