We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Gretna Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gretna Hall
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Called in to view hotel and have lunch, entrance was cordoned off and no signs showing way in were in evidence. Finally found bar and asked bar maid for menu which she rudely answered that we look on table, reluctantly ordered beef sandwich which when it arrived was the cheapest plastic bread on offer with margarine, what a poor service and heap nasty food. Will certainly never step over their doorstep again, was like a cattle market inside.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    273
    175
    98
    117
See reviews for
188
463
24
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The service in the restaurant was outstanding and the food was great. The receptionist was particularly helpful. It is a hotel that we will visit again as it as a good base for visiting the surrounding beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Polite staff, excellent food,clean.
Great atmosphere in the bar as you would expect, we've already decided to go back for our wedding anniversary to relive it all over again.
Location hotel, we have recommended it to all our friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aston F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed in the Gretna hall hotel for our wedding and reception. We was given the Wakefield turner bridal suite which was lovely so warm and old fashioned as I had hoped for. The staff and the hotel was amazing and made us feel very welcome and the food was out of this world. My father and son also stayed here as guests and I wax also impressed with there rooms. It was tidy and clean and will so be visting them again in the future. I glad I choose this hotel as it was a Magical expreance from start to finish

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura-Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We turned up last night on s business trip and found a room at this lovely hotel. Everyone very friendly. Food excellent. Breakfast amazing. Room quite small but what a wonderful view. Gardens are superb. We chatted to the gardener who obviously knows what he is doing. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Take time to walk around the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed twice, once at the beginning and once at the end of a coach holiday.

On the outward journey, the room given was really small and the tv was from the museum (it did have a sort of colour but only four or five channels). I asked for a better room with a modern tv and this was supplied. The reception staff were welcomng and friendly. Service in the restaurant was extremely slow with the simple three course meal taking up to 90 minutes. Breakfast was excellent.

On the return journey, the room was better (in some ways) The tv was much newer and even had a good range of channels. However, the sink plug in the bathroom was the wrong size and the desk reading lamp did not work

The worst part of my visit was the number of staircases encountered. This is an old building and it seemed that there were steps everywhere. The sight of very elderly couples struggling with cases indicated to me that this is not a good place to stay.

The evening meal was quicker than the first time, probably because our group had an early dining slot. However, all the restaurant staff looked really miserable and did not even smile.

Furthermore, those with bedrooms at the rear of the hotel complained about traffic noise from the busy motorway close by. Some had difficulty sleeping.

The hotel obviously makes lots of money on weddings. However, some visitors said that when large wedding parties were in the hotel, the place was very noisy.

There must be better places to stay in this area !

Room Tip: Ask for a modern room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lk2010a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gretna Green hotels

Nottingham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We were a coach party - as we approached the hotel in brilliant sunshine, the grounds were lovely - well cared for lawns, many flowers and a lily pond. A member of staff came on board to welcome us.

This is a 3* hotel and that is probably the correct category. Our room was an "Executive Twin". The room was furnished with newish furniture, and a new flat screen TV. The beds were very comfortable and we had a lovely view over the lawns. The bathroom was ok. Floor was shabby - but all clean. The worst thing was that there was no soap!! Just two minute plastic bottles with liquid soap for two persons - which together would not have filled an egg cup. Towels were small for shower use.

The evening meal was three courses plus coffee - reasonable choice. Nothing special and not worth the £19 which apparently would have been the cost. But ok for what we paid. Breakfast the following morning was extremely good - lovely lean bacon, and all the other ingredients of a Full English plus fruit and cerials...

Special mention of the entertainer we had in the evening. Not many turned up but it was such fun,and hugely tired as we were after long journey we thoroughly enjoyed the evening.

Not sure I would recommend this hotel to independent travellers, but for coach parties it was fine and we had a lovely time.

Room Tip: Room overlooking garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndigoNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.1 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.8 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gretna Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gretna Hall

Property: Gretna Hall
Address: Gretna Green | Dumfriesshire, Gretna Green DG16 5DY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gretna Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gretna Hall Hotel is an ideal setting for your leisure break thanks to its great location, charm and character. Originally built in 1710 as a manor house, our hotel, set in 10 acres of beautiful gardens offers all the character of a substantial historical building with all the facilities you would expect from a leading contemporary hotel. We cater for weddings, family celebrations, business meetings and overnight stays and a very warm welcome awaits you at Gretna Hall Hotel whatever your reason for visiting us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gretna Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gretna Hall Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Hall Green
Gretna Hall Hotel Green
Gretna Hall Gretna Green, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing