We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break”
Review of Gretna Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gretna Hall
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Short break”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Yet again returned to gretna green for a short break & of course stayed at gretna hall hotel,arrived a little earlier than check in but room was ready we had a fabulous evening meal cooked to perfection I personally had the rob Roy chicken & my partner had the higland venison both dishes was faultless. Room we stayed in was excellent lovely view and excellent shower. Breakfast was excellent yet again faultless staff all very friendly as always they take pride in the hotel & guests.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ady C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    288
    183
    99
    121
See reviews for
196
479
27
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

When we arrived was worried as there is attached building which does not look as nice as the main building, but was very pleased, when we went to our room, very clean an well presented.lovely comfortably beds. We had evening meal in restaurant an was wonderfull, excellent breakfast. Bacon an sausages of very good taste an quality. Staff friendly, service good. Bar meals looked good, although we never eat in the bar.

Room Tip: We had room 24 which is ground floor at the front an was very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I traveled to this hotel for my brothers wedding, the grounds were lovely, the location ideal, and the building looked impressive.
I have to say it was tired, and could do with some money invested in updating it, but, very comfortable, reasonable in price, the service was excellent (Stewart if that's the spelling, was superb) and the standard of the food was without fault. The wedding party was given a small function room/dinning room and again, Stewart was on hand to organize, act as MC, and generally make sure my brother and his wife got the special day they had their hearts set on.
Would I recommend this venue? Yes, I really enjoyed it, it's not 5 star, but it really has something about it and with service that good, well that made it the more memorable !!!

Room Tip: Our party were spread out the hotel, some rooms were a bit of a tight fit but the ground floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnie_42-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denby
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stopped here for one night as part of a coach tour in late-April. As we were only there one night I did not kick up a fuss about the state of the room. To be frank it looked like some drunks had been fighting in there(on more than one occasion!!) door scuffed and battered marks on the wall paper, window catches broken, waste bin broken in need of a redecorate really, although it was quite clean. I'm not sure if all the rooms were like this(I believe it was 202). The Shower was next to useless as well.
On the plus side the communal areas were clean and pleasant and the food not too bad. The grounds of the hotel are exceptionally nice. The staff were also courteous and friendly. Be aware there is very little around the area apart from a touristy shopping mall type complex about 10 minutes walk away, It worked out good VFM as it was inclusive with the coach trip.

Room Tip: The annexe rooms may be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireSaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Gretna Hall Hotel is perhaps a good illustration of what can happen when certain hotels are lucky enough to have a 'name' or 'theme' that is basically always going to attract guests, but that being the case, the owners forget to invest in the property to maintain a reputation.

On arrival we stood in reception for 10 minutes dinging the bell with no-one to check us in. Eventually someone turned up and we were checked in quickly from that point.

The main hotel building is old, and the majority of rooms are in what appears to be a 1970's - 80's extension. The extension is clean enough, but the rooms are badly in need of upgrading. True, they are freshly painted, but the furniture and particularly the bathrooms are very dated.

We had 2 nights dinner B&B.

Probably saving the place from a 2 star review was the food. It was better than we expected it would be and the wines are incredibly cheap for a hotel of this nature. The service in the dining room is fast, although the staff are a bit too 'down to earth' and lacking in any kind of formal table service training.

The grounds of the hotel are pleasant and its location is pretty good for surrounding towns and attractions.

If it wasn't for the history associated with gretna green though, I fear a hotel like this would wither and die.

As it is, it was busy when we were there with (surprise, surprise) a wedding and a couple of touring coach parties.

We had a good enough stay, but the staff really need to have some formal training and the rooms upgraded to modern standards.

I suspect, given the other reviews here, this hotel is still at risk if they don't invest back into the business and carry out improvements.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McHaggis69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Travelled up to Gretna green on Monday 26/05/14 for a 2 night stay with some of my family,my nephew was getting married on the tuesday at 'THE ANVIL' within the grounds of the gretna hall hotel.I would like to thank all the staff who were on duty over that period for giving us an excellent stay[special thanks to the young lady who spoke with us on the Monday night who after finding out that there was approx 25 of us staying over for the Tuesday night,arranged for the seating in the restaurant be set out to take a WEDDING PARTY something which made a great difference on the night,and also Special thanks to Stewart who also made a point of looking after us all evening and was really good and very helpful throught] would definitely stay here again[this is now our 3rd visit]Ithink one would be hard pushed to get better value for money anywhere else in Gretna,Many Many thanks

Room Tip: Rooms all very good,very handy having ground floor with small patio area overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen504060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radcliffe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We used this hotel for 3 nights while we was working in the area very good hotel bedrooms where very clean and good with flat screen tv tea and coffee facilities very clean bathroom with power shower no complaints we only had breakfast while stopping there but was first class was buffet style and plenty of items to choose from over all first class

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank si2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.1 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.8 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
416 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
396 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
150 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gretna Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gretna Hall

Property: Gretna Hall
Address: Gretna Green | Dumfriesshire, Gretna Green DG16 5DY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gretna Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gretna Hall Hotel is an ideal setting for your leisure break thanks to its great location, charm and character. Originally built in 1710 as a manor house, our hotel, set in 10 acres of beautiful gardens offers all the character of a substantial historical building with all the facilities you would expect from a leading contemporary hotel. We cater for weddings, family celebrations, business meetings and overnight stays and a very warm welcome awaits you at Gretna Hall Hotel whatever your reason for visiting us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gretna Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gretna Hall Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Hall Green
Gretna Hall Hotel Green
Gretna Hall Gretna Green, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing