We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chris+sue”
Review of Gretna Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gretna Hall
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Chris+sue”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was our first stop on our way to John o Groats with Sunrise Holidays.
The hotel is well appointed but could do with a bit of tarting up on the outside,our room was reasonably large and clean with a comfortable bed.
The evening meal was very good with a choice of dishes,we were up early for the long trip upto
Straphpepher,the staff were ready with our breakfast with a good choice of cereals and a traditional English breakfast.
All in all a very pleasant stop over.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    288
    183
    99
    121
See reviews for
197
480
27
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had such a beautiful time at gretna hall hotel the rooms were very spacious and the meals were out of this world the hotel is full of character and charm set in stunning landscaped grounds with some breath taking views. And the staff were all so helpful and very polite .

Helpful?
Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

What a beautiful hotel full of character and charm we booked are wedding there and the staff bent over backwards to make our day very special laura copland our co ordinator was so helpful with every detail and requests from room bookings to meals and even being a witness on the day. The rooms were very nice and spacious and the meals were fantastic all set in beautiful landscaped grounds. Hotel should be 5 stars and we will be returning on our first wedding anniversary as we had such a wonderful time and definitely recommend gretna green hotel a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Speak with laura copland
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Having just returned from getting married this week at Gretna Hall Blacksmiths Shop, I would recommend this venue and also the Gretna Hall Hotel. The staff were lovely and could not do enough for you and the rooms were fine too. The intimacy of our wedding in the Blacksmiths shop was perfect and we will remember it with very fond memories. Thank you to all the people in Gretna involved in making our day special.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Viv C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callanish, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We married here 10 years ago so decided to go back to celebrate our anniversary. It was much as remembered on arrival, they upgraded us to the bridal suite which was lovely of them. When we married we were in the newer part of the hotel this stay the suite was in the original hotel, it was quite nice, spacious but a little dull in colour which leaves it quite dark. Only real criticism of the room is to ensure that everything is working ie clock, lamps and that tap tops are secure, a shower curtain would be a nice addition too. Sadly what was most disappointing was the food. Very mediocre hotel food standard certainly changed in10 years. We chose to eat elsewhere the 2nd night which proved to be a good decision. Overall we did enjoy our stay but sadly it has not kept up to the standard that it had promised all these years ago.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Trying to find somewhere to have a meal is limiting in Gretna.

This Hotel looks very welcoming, attractive and interesting. Also the reviews on here were good so we decided to visit for dinner.

The inside was not as attractive as the exterior. The restaurant looked nice so we deided to dine in there after checking the menus. It was two courses for £16.50 and two menus to choose from.

The service: five members of staff were stood at the entrance of the restaurant chatting, slumped over the stand, leaning on each other and just chilling out. On the menu it states that no phones should be used in the restaurant so why did a member of staff when talking to a customer answer her mobile and walk through the restaurant talking on it?

The food: It was nice but not the quality I would of expected for a nice hotel with that sort of price range. The pate that I ordered for starter came out after two minutes, that means it was shop bought or already plated.
The vegetarian meal was warm and a good portion but I felt as though we were in the 1970s with the sauce and mushrooms.

I did like my food but it was not as great as I would of hoped.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abigail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy County, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Arrived for work for two nights, had such a huge room with a 42' HD tv, the beds were so comfy, the food in the bar was amazing opted one night for a home made curry, a very good stay with lovely surrounding grounds

Room Tip: rooms on the second floor facing the back are the big rooms at decent price per night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craigd4119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.1 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.8 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
417 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
397 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
150 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gretna Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gretna Hall

Property: Gretna Hall
Address: Gretna Green | Dumfriesshire, Gretna Green DG16 5DY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gretna Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gretna Hall Hotel is an ideal setting for your leisure break thanks to its great location, charm and character. Originally built in 1710 as a manor house, our hotel, set in 10 acres of beautiful gardens offers all the character of a substantial historical building with all the facilities you would expect from a leading contemporary hotel. We cater for weddings, family celebrations, business meetings and overnight stays and a very warm welcome awaits you at Gretna Hall Hotel whatever your reason for visiting us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gretna Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gretna Hall Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Hall Green
Gretna Hall Hotel Green
Gretna Hall Gretna Green, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing