We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a quick visit”

Famous Blacksmiths Shop
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 26 June 2014

As this place was only a few miles from our friends home,it was worth the 10 minute drive to go here.There is a children's playground,a bagpiper,pretty grounds and a souvenir shop.

We had the privilege of watching recently married couple having their wedding photo's done,a quick look around and then we left.

Didn't wish to pay for entry into the 'museum' area as was a bit on the expensive side.

1  Thank NannyBSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan A, Manager at Famous Blacksmiths Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Betty S, thank you for visiting and leaving your review. Come back and spend a bit more time, if you can, next time. We have more than just a souvenir shop - lots of fabulous and very different products in all our shops - from clothing and accessories to some very nice home-style and kitchen accessories. Not to mention a fabulous Foodhall and Whisky House. Museums are not for everyone of course. Our admission rate is £3.50 for adults, £2,75 concessions and free to children under 12 years of age - so not costing a fortune for a chance to see a bit of history and the famous Anvil! But as you say, lots of other things for visitors to enjoy for free: the play park; the lovely Sculpture Garden; the Courtship Maze and country walks. Perfect for a brief stop off while on a long journey or for a much longer stay enjoying all that we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (991)
There are newer reviews for Famous Blacksmiths Shop
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

694 - 698 of 991 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

fantastic it was way more than we had expected. would recommend to anyone. was fabulous from start to finish.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan A, Manager at Famous Blacksmiths Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Heather B, we are chuffed that we exceeded your expectations. Congratulations on your vow-renewal - a truly wonderful thing to do to rekindle the romance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stopped off at Gretna Green on route back from Scotland. It was our first visit. The area in and around the Famous Blacksmiths Shop is worth a wander around. The lone bagpiper provided a nice musical backdrop. There is a restaurant/cafe that serves a nice selection of food and drink and you can sit in or out.

Thank MD-FatDonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan A, Manager at Famous Blacksmiths Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

MD-FatDonkey, thank you for your review. We are please that you enjoyed your visit. We will tell Alan, our resident piper that you enjoyed his music. Come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

What a fantastic venue to tie the knot! We were very impressed with Frank and Annie the registrar who both made us feel welcome and put us at ease.The day could not have been more perfect including the weather. Thank you to everyone. We will be back next year to celebrate our first anniversary!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Di5580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan A, Manager at Famous Blacksmiths Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Di5580, congratulations! Thank you for your review. See you next year :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

It was the fantastic day just what we wanted everyone was great to us and made us all feel welcome couldn't ask for more recommend to anyone one.

Thank Mclrmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan A, Manager at Famous Blacksmiths Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Mclrmichelle, glad you had a fantastic time and congratulations! Come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Famous Blacksmiths Shop also viewed

Eastriggs, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Famous Blacksmiths Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing