We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding”

Famous Blacksmiths Shop
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We got married here on 24/6/14, it as a wonderful atmosphere I'm so glad we came here, the staff are so helpful with nothing been too much bother even when we was 20 mins late for the wedding !!!!
Loved every moment wish I could go back and do it again xx

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan A, Manager at Famous Blacksmiths Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Congratulations on your wedding here in Gretna Green. We are pleased you had a wonderful day and felt well looked after. Maybe you will consider a vow renewal in years to come - we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,022)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

719 - 723 of 1,022 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stopped off for lunch and wander round the shops, went into the museum to see the anvil and much to our surprise we were asked if we would like to be witnesses at a wedding that was taking place. The service was lovely, very intimate.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful,will definitely visit again it was a lovely experience and may even renew our vows there in a few years time.

Thank debbie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan A, Manager at Famous Blacksmiths Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

debbie r, thank you for your review. Such good luck that you were in the right place at the right time. Now you have a personal bond with Gretna Green and that will be further cemented when you come to renew your own vows. Glad you enjoyed the shops and restaurant too. We look forward to welcoming you back for your own special day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The history of runaways to get married is extensive and is suitable for standard occasions as well as themed weddings. It is a suitable place to take a break from driving as it is a comfortable complex with adequate facilities for travellers

Thank Iain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan A, Manager at Famous Blacksmiths Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Iain C, thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed learning about the fascinating and extensive history of Gretna Green. Glad you found us a good stopping off point - we look forward to you calling in again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

If I could do it all again I would get married here. My cousin and his bride 'ran away' to get married here and my husband and I were 'giving the bride away' and Matron of honour respectively. We were also the witnesses and the only guests. The service was surprisingly personal and moving. We loved every minute as did, more importantly, the happy bride and groom. We noticed that the grounds were family friendly the building and contents very interesting. Didn't eat here but would like to.

Thank Lorraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan A, Manager at Famous Blacksmiths Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Lorraine G, thank you for your review and congratulations to your cousin and his wife. We are delighted you all had a lovely time here in Gretna Green and found the ceremony personal and moving - just what we aim for. Glad you liked the rest of what you saw - hope you can come back again some time and experience the rest of our attraction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

As this place was only a few miles from our friends home,it was worth the 10 minute drive to go here.There is a children's playground,a bagpiper,pretty grounds and a souvenir shop.

We had the privilege of watching recently married couple having their wedding photo's done,a quick look around and then we left.

Didn't wish to pay for entry into the 'museum' area as was a bit on the expensive side.

1  Thank NannyBSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan A, Manager at Famous Blacksmiths Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Betty S, thank you for visiting and leaving your review. Come back and spend a bit more time, if you can, next time. We have more than just a souvenir shop - lots of fabulous and very different products in all our shops - from clothing and accessories to some very nice home-style and kitchen accessories. Not to mention a fabulous Foodhall and Whisky House. Museums are not for everyone of course. Our admission rate is £3.50 for adults, £2,75 concessions and free to children under 12 years of age - so not costing a fortune for a chance to see a bit of history and the famous Anvil! But as you say, lots of other things for visitors to enjoy for free: the play park; the lovely Sculpture Garden; the Courtship Maze and country walks. Perfect for a brief stop off while on a long journey or for a much longer stay enjoying all that we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Famous Blacksmiths Shop also viewed

Eastriggs, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Famous Blacksmiths Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing