We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Famous Blacksmiths Shop
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

We spent a few days in and around Carlisle and the lakes. I decided that while out in that general direction I'd like to cross the border into Scotland. Gretna being the first village in Scotland seamed the perfect place to go. And what a surprise. A pretty place with lots of history. The Old Blacksmiths Shop being at the heart of it. We paid a few pound to enter the Shop and small museum and found it very interesting. All the stories of eloping to Gretna Green to get married are very interesting as is the whole history around it. There are a couple of shops geared up to the tourist trade which were nice to go round and sold some lovely items. We were there for about two and a half hours which suited us as we were only staying seven miles away. If your passing or staying in that area then well worth the visit. But I wouldn't travel far and expect to spend all day there cause that won't happen. In all a pleasant morning in pleasant surroundings. Well worth the visit if nearby or passing.

Thank chrisssuzuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan A, Manager at Famous Blacksmiths Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

chrisssuzuki, thank you for leaving a review following your visit. We are pleased you enjoyed the museum and surrounding shops. The history of Gretna Green has a lot to it with so many different characters who lived here and of course the couples who ran away here. We hope you managed to touch the famous anvil - legend has it that it brings you good fortune in affairs of the heart!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,039)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

697 - 701 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

You can get gifts, sovereigns, eat in the coffee shop or get takeout snacks from here. The only thing that can be a little off putting for wedding guests some visitors get a little over zealous with their cameras and it becomes a little intrusive to wedding party!!

Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan A, Manager at Famous Blacksmiths Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Jane H, thank you for your review. We have much to offer visitors to the area, whether you are here passing-by or for a wedding. We have been looking after modern-day wedding parties since the mid-1980s so we have learned a thing or two about managing visitors' curiosity when it comes to weddings. Attitudes have changed over the years and nowadays some people can be less respectful of privacy so that is why we are very careful to create space between wedding parties and visitors while outside the Famous Blacksmiths Shop. When inside the marriage room it is completely private. Couples marrying here are aware that this is a popular attraction and knowing we have their privacy as our priority they are very relaxed and have a great time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We cant praise the staff enough for a lovely wedding in beautiful surroundings.
Every member of staff we have dealt with from original telephone bookings, the team at the smiths hotel, alan the piper, sandy the registrar, colin the photographer, the gentlemen in the blacksmith itself and pam the kilt lady have all been so welcoming and helpful in making our day so special, they didn't feel like strangers at all.
The public areas are all
clean and well looked after, of course there are tourists around but they aren't intrusive in anyway, to those reviewers who complained about tourists getting in the way I can
honestly say I didn't notice them, I was too busy concentrating on my loved ones and the sentiment of getting married, maybe they just don't understand the heritage and meaning of why people choose to visit this amazing place with it's history, in my eyes they are the ones who miss out but not everybody is the same, I wouldn't want to get married in a bland hotel with no character like they probably do.
The people really do bring a lot of charm to a very special place and I would love to return in the future, I'm sure I'd enjoy seeing the happiness on the faces of newly weds rather than thinking of it is a conveyor as it certainly doesn't feel like it.
Very happy mr and mrs hawes 29th august 2014 x

Thank gemmahaweswright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan A, Manager at Famous Blacksmiths Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

gemmahaweswright, thank you for your very lovely review. You sum it up perfectly. Gretna Green has such a deep and romantic history. We attract people from all over the world who want to share in that romance, and not only wedding parties, as you point out. That said, we aim to make your wedding day unique and special and as you say when you are here for a wedding that experience is all consuming so you don't notice anyone else. For the curious onlookers, who are kept at a distance from the wedding party, you have made their day! Where else in the world do you visit and witness true living history.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Well, our trip to Gretna Green was for the big one, we had decided on Gretna Green Old Blacksmith shop to get married on 27 August 2014 in true Gretna Green tradition, Just the two of us . There are several wedding venues at Gretna Green, but It seemed to us that if you are planning to marry here then it has to be the place where it all started, and it exceeded our expectations in every way, it was wonderful.
We booked the "stay marry and memory" package at Smiths hotel just a stones throw from the Blacksmith shop, everything was co-ordinated perfectly, we arrived at around lunchtime having made the journey in two hops from Devon ("off to Gretna Green to get married posters" in the car window....many toots and waves on the way), the hotel is modern, clean and has a great buzz about it, its a happy place to be and there were other brides and grooms around either looking terrified waiting for their ceremony or relieved having just tied the knot.
We met up with a couple who had just been married and shared several drinks and stories with them into the evening, we had no idea what to expect as we had never been to this part of Scotland before, and it really is only just Scotland, the "Welcome to Scotland" sign is only down the road , we went to bed in our lovely room with a great view across the countryside (book a room at the front of the hotel as it is just off the motorway, but this does not detract at all) and planned our itinerary.
We had breakfast at 7.00am and my wife was in the hotel beauty salon (called spoilt) at 09.00am, they were quick and efficient and did a great job with hair and make up, our ceremony was the first of the day at 11.00am , recommended as you have less time to get nervous and we walked over the road to the venue to meet our photographer, the registrar and the blacksmith guide , all lovely ladies and a gaggle of excited Japanese tourists. The Blacksmith guide went outside and fetched a couple to act as witnesses as they were in Gretna to plan their own wedding , the ceremony was magical and despite the number of weddings carried out here felt very personal, you have to experience it to understand, after we were married over the ancient anvil we had the traditional anvil blessing and our photographer skilfully guided us around and shot our 16 photographs both inside and outside that were all included in the price, photographs are collected next day and were superb.
Overall we left feeling elated and in retrospect would not have chosen any other way to get married, the whole experience flowed and we would recommend this as a way to get married to anybody, we really wish we could do it all again.
Many thanks to everyone that made our wedding so memorable

5  Thank Vaughan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan A, Manager at Famous Blacksmiths Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Notimpressed884, congratulations and thank you for your wonderful and very comprehensive review. You certainly entered into the sprit of a traditional Gretna Green wedding. Your story is very lovely and we look forward to welcoming you back to Gretna Green for many an anniversary to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

A complex designed solely for tourists. Sells tourist fodder at tourist prices. Men's loos smelt disgusting when I visited.

1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan A, Manager at Famous Blacksmiths Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

John M, thank you for sharing your views. Firstly we will pass on your comment about the toilets. Our housekeeping team take pride in ensuring the highest standards of cleanliness are maintained so this is disappointing to hear. As an independent family attraction our aim is to provide a wonderful environment for our visitors with picturesque Sculpture Garden and lots of outdoor features to enjoy. The romance of Gretna Green is very evident to most of our visitors, which they love and our shopping features seek to provide gifts that will appeal to people from all over the world. The collection of goods, including local/Scottish food and drink is quite eclectic so yes you can find a tartan key ring (if this is tourist fodder) but equally you can buy high end luxury cashmere and everything in between - maybe not to your taste but thankfully to the taste of many others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Famous Blacksmiths Shop also viewed

Eastriggs, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Famous Blacksmiths Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing