We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired travelling South”

Fern Lea Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fern Lea Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 9 Gretna Green B&B and Inns
Kidderminster
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tired travelling South”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I had been on the road for hours and needed somewhere to stay.
I used Trip Advisor to find somewhere with a good reputation close to my location.
I ended up at the Fern Lea !!

I received: A Very Friendly welcome from the owners and the room was clean, tidy, warm and comfortable. I couldn't ask for more !

I slept from the time I hit the pillow, to the time of my alarm.

Breakfast was cooked fresh and was excellent. I would go back just for the breakfast (and the friendly chat over breakfast).

Really nice place and nice owners - Thank You !!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nevo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
19
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Situated right in the heart of Gretna. Stone throwing distance from the railway station. Short taxi journey to anvil hall and hotels. Walking distance from blacksmiths work shop. Reasonably priced. Very comfortable beds and excellent breakfast. Very friendly and knowledgeable of the area.

Will return again and definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessag1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

A great location for Gretna weddings without the expense of a hotel.Just around the corner from the wedding hotel.A very friendly welcome, comfortable clean rooms and a delicious breakfast - recommend wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gracemargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The Fern Lea B&B was in a fantastic location for our accommodation in Gretna Green, Scotland, of the John O'Groats to Lands End cycling challenge. We had three rooms booked at the B&B and we all enjoyed this quaint B&B that felt like a real family house. We arrived after an afternoon of rain so we were just looking forward to a nice relaxing evening. The owners let us lock our bicycles up in their shed which was an added bonus for us on our cycling journey.

After another long day of cycling, we were thankful that one of the rooms had a bath so we could take an ice bath to relax the muscles. All the rooms were of adequate size and the were all very clean. The only comment I would make about the room was that the bed had a plastic mattress protector on, that was really uncomfortable and made a noise at the slightest moment. A positive too was the strength of the Wi-Fi connection which is perfect for us to update the blogs and photos for friends and family back home.

This was a perfect place to stay for us as a cycling group, as it provided everything we needed to relax for our cycling challenge. The hosts were ever so friendly, it was situated on the border of England / Scotland and directly on our route down south, and finally the cost of the rooms was extremely reasonable. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone completing the John O'Groats to Lands End cycling tour and anyone looking for a lovely run family B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRHallam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krakow, poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I booked well in advance but when we arrived we were put in the smallest room ever, so asked if we could change and fair enough they gave us another room which was lovely, then in the evening of that day we were told we would have to move out the next morning into another room because of over booking. This was a nuisance, but the place was spotless, breakfast was nice and the couple who run it bend over backwards to look after you. I would go back it is a lovely scenic place.

Room Tip: Ask for the double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n0vember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

we had not booked in advance and got this address from a lady in the gretna green shop we rang and there was a vacancy.. we where given a very warm welcome I was not feeling too good with a chesty cough.. we where given directions to the nearest chemist, the room was spotless with tea and coffee too we were able to sit in the garden with a cup of tea very relaxing.. breakfast was lovely all freshly prepared.. I strongly recommend this b+b

Room Tip: there is double glazing so no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This B & B is 5 minutes from the main route England to Scotland (or the inverse [M6/A74M]). Situated close to Gretna Green where you are a 10 minute walk from "The Smiddy" (where you can still get married over "The Anvil") and about 15 minute walk to Gretna (Centre). Isabell not only makes you very welcome, but also gives you a very good/hearty breakfast. Room very clean and although space may not have been the premium, this was only because the integrated bathroom was larger than most I've stayed at. Only a short walk from the tourist shops at the "Blacksmith" and, in the opposite direction, a retail outlet with some good prices! Parking good.

Room Tip: Book as early as you can, in peak season (this can be done easily through such as Booking .com).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PebblesDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.5 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.7 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hazeldene Hotel
Hazeldene Hotel
#1 of 9 in Gretna Green
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Lea Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Lea Bed and Breakfast

Property: Fern Lea Bed and Breakfast
Address: Glasgow Road, Gretna Green DG16 5DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fern Lea Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Lea Bed And Breakfast Gretna Green, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing