We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good if you have pets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We travel from London to John O Groats regulary as I have family in Scotland.
This hotel is just of the motorway and is fine if all you need is somewhere to get a few hours sleep in.
It is clean but pretty basic and if you get a good deal it can be cheap as well.
We travel and stay with our dog and have never had a problem with smelly rooms, they have always smelled fresh (maybe we are used to dog smells) and we have not noticed any dog hairs on the carpets
I wouldn't stay here for longer than one night as it is a service station setting not somwhere you would be happy to spend a few days at.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottishlassLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

376 - 382 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

We first arrived to a sullen face receptionist that could not muster even a hint of a smile nor a please or thank you even with us being cheerful. Given our key we went to our room which was still in the process of being cleaned over an hour after normal check in time of 3pm. On advising the receptionist we were shoved another rooms card with no apologies. Once in our new room however it was clean and tidy with comfortable beds for both the wife and I and the children. Although located in a Welcome Break it was surprisingly quiet. If you don't mind putting up with poor customer service the room is fine for a overnight stay either on the way to or from Scotland.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank jfs_moose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnPeterborough, Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

First of all I would like to apologise you did not have an enjoyable stay with us. We always aim ensure our guests experience the best service and enjoy their stay with us.

We try to ensure that all of our staff are friendly, helpful and provide the best customer service for our guests.

I am spoken to my reception staff and will be implementing any retraining necessary to bring our service back up to the high standards we aim to provide!

On a positive note I am glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay and I will ensure that we will keep up our room standards!

Again I apologise you did not fully enjoy your stay and hope we will get an opportunity to accommodate you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Booked a two night break for me and my 13 year old son as we were travelling to turnberry to play golf living in southport-booked with late rooms.com and paid a total of £50 for two nights when the cost for one night was £51.............didnt actually stay the second night as it was only a further two hour drive home which we managed but it was a great deal neverthe less. decent accomodation with two double beds in the room- clean and well maintained. Didnt sample breakfast but would definately look to stay there again if i was in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuncanSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Having stayed in numerous chain convenience hotels this one surpassed the rest. Friendly welcome and the first time we haven't needed to ask for extra pillows or towels for 2 people in a double room!
No road noise in our room and a soft but comfy bed. Can't fault it at all really!
As another review said, walk to the services when you leave because you can't drive back round easily!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dunk_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stopped here February 2012 as a stop-over when en-route to The Trossochs in Scotland, we booked it well in advance on a deal with a major national newspaper and paid just £10.00 for our twin room. The hotel was easy to find, straight off the motorway, and nearby there was a service station with several food outlets on hand. The receptionist at the hotel was friendly, polite and very helpful and quickly got us checked into our room. The room itself was very spacious and we found we had a double futon as well as a double-bed in our room, for those less scrupulous you could easily book a double room and fit 4 adults in it comfortably. The room was comfortable, clean and had a freeview TV as well as free wifi. The shower was fairly powerful and came with free shower gel which is always a bonus. On speaking to the receptionist the hotel is used by those marrying in Gretna Green but I personally would say book somewhere in the vollage itself as it is a 5-10 minute car journey, the receptionist told us it was £6 each way in a taxi but we drove in our own car. We slept perfectly and did not hear the traffic at all, we checked out with no fuss at all and were pleased to find the days complimentary newspapers in reception. All in all a good place to stop-over to split up a journey.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LukeyDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

staff are fantastic here nothing is too much trouble. rooms are really good and the beds are so comfy you wont want to get out of it. its a great location for getting out and about as you are right next to the motorway really good value for money

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

My wife and I decided to take a short break, and we booked three days in the Days Inn Gretna and it proved to be a great choice the rooms are well serviced and the staff were efficient , friendly, and helpful in every way, add to this its position being central to quite a number of interesting places, we can fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALECOWEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.9 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
946 reviews
0.7 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.7 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
164 reviews
1.2 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
331 reviews
1.4 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Gretna Green M74? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Gretna Green M74

Address: Junction 21/22, A74M Northbound | Welcome Break Services, Gretna Green DG16 5HQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range: £37 - £1,004 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Gretna Green M74 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Inn Gretna Green is close to the M74 and M6 motorways, and within easy reach of Carlisle. It has free Wi-Fi and free parking. Newcastle-upon-Tyne and County Durham are about 1 hour from the hotel. The famous wedding village of Gretna Green is close by. Tasteful en suite rooms and personal service make this convenient hotel an ideal place to break your journey. Each bedroom has a TV (with Freeview channels), a free hot drinks tray and newspaper, a hairdryer and a trouser press. All rooms have broadband Wi-Fi at an additional cost. Pets are permitted in the hotel. Please inform the hotel when you make your booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Gretna Green M74 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Gretna Green m74 Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Days Inn
Days Inn Gretna Green M74 Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing