We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Gretna Green M74

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

Was nice clean and comfortable. Check in was easy no problems, room was of decent size, and clean. Bed was comfortable Would use again. Only problem was meals were from the services across the way and everything was very expensive

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bora333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    129
    89
    21
    39
See reviews for
114
140
29
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

First impression of hotel a dive not anything like pictures on website, the hotel is like a grubby version of premier inn when you first go in, we were at gretna for a wedding and the bride and groom stayed there the night before us and we asked the reception if we could go in our room a little earlier but wouldnt allow it until 2pm and wanted an extra tenner off us so we didnt do it as we were already paying £70 for our room so we had to go in the bride and grooms room and start to get ready but was quite awkward, my partner went back to reception and kept persuading them and they eventually said 13.45 we could go in at no extra cost even though the room was sat empty, they were just trying to get extra money and which i thought was very mean and miserable of them eventually after more persuasion we got our room key at about 13.40 and was able to get stuff in and finish getting ready, the room was clean and we had the exec suite had a desk in and some chairs etc it wasnt too bad, the bathroom was quite dated. but room was fairly spacious but i would not say worth £70 a night. after the wedding we came back to hotel and had some drinks in our room. was glad there was a fridge in our room so we could keep champs chilled. but glad i took my own glasses as they had the cheapest nastiest plastic cups in the bathrooms. the wifi was rubbish, the towels very small, they had hard wooden head boards so everytime i got up in the night to use the loo and got back into bed my head cracked off the headboard, the mattresses were very cheap and too soft, no soap in soap dispencer and we went to receprtion to ask for some and they said they would fill it in the morning well it would be no good by morning as we would be gone, so they gave us small round blocked soap which was so cheap and nasty. and finally the shower was luke warm even though we changed it several times to try and warm it up.

Room Tip: Exec suite is good as it has a fridge for your drinks and snacks, also has desk and quite a few chai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtonhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Decided to stay here as a quick stopover whilst travelling from Aberdeen to Cardiff. We previously were going to book the nearest Premier Inn in the area however they upped the price from £29 to £54. We got our room at the Days Inn for just £28. Check in was really easy and the reception area had plenty of information, food and drink available for purchase and even a microwave which could come in handy.

The standard of room is in between a Travelodge and Premier Inn, more so towards the Premier Inn. The room was very clean with plenty of choice for tea and coffee, modern tv, comfy bed, great shower. Only complain was that the bathroom could have been a little cleaner as there were signs of mildew and it did look a little dated. For the money the hotel was bang on and for that I have to give it 5 stars and will definately stay here again in the future.

Pro's: Clean, cheap and comfy
Con's: Nothing major to report

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mouse1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Stayed hear as we went to a family wedding at smiths hotel gretna green which is litlerary a 3 minute drive away.
This hotel is in a service station with shops and food outlets ect which was good.
No bar or resturant in the hotel but with the service station next door it was ok to get food from their, would have been nice to have a bar but they did sell drinks and chocolate at reception.
Good clean room with tea and coffee, hairdryer, tv very good for the £49.99 a night for double we payed. very good location for weddings at gretna green if thats why your staying hear.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mon1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Stayed here at a wedding.. The room was clean and comfortable. Disappointing that there wasn't a bar in the hotel, would have been nice to have a few drinks.

The breakfast was quite expensive and wasn't even in the hotel. DON'T ORDER IT!!!
Honestly, the rashers were as hard as wood, and my mother was given raw eggs. The mushrooms were tinned... horrible, wouldn't eat it again if they paid me to.

Had a very bad experience with a VERY RUDE receptionist, who insulted me and my boyfriend. Really needs to learn some people skills. (To clarify, there were 2 receptionists, a young girl and an older woman. It was the older receptionist who insulted us).

Change in staff and I might reconsider staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank packmybags D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gretna Green hotels

Corning, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stopped here to rest on our way to Liverpool we had been traveling thru Scotland the hotel was clean and the receptionist was friendly and very helpful i wish i could remember her name so i could thank her for helping us out she had dark hair and was young and smiled alot she worked the nightshift .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We were more than pleased with this hotel. We were travelling as a family of 4 to a friends wedding and there was enough space for all 4 of us. We only got ready and slept in the days inn and it was clean and close by for what we needed. It was very easy to find just off the motorway and if you needed food the services were close by with a starbucks, KFC, burger king etc. All in all a good base to see the surrounding area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank CGe0rge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.7 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.7 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.4 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
1.2 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Gretna Green M74? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Gretna Green M74

Property: Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Address: Junction 21/22, A74M Northbound | Welcome Break Services, Gretna Green DG16 5HQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Gretna Green M74 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Inn Gretna Green is close to the M74 and M6 motorways, and within easy reach of Carlisle. It has free Wi-Fi and free parking. Newcastle-upon-Tyne and County Durham are about 1 hour from the hotel. The famous wedding village of Gretna Green is close by. Tasteful en suite rooms and personal service make this convenient hotel an ideal place to break your journey. Each bedroom has a TV (with Freeview channels), a free hot drinks tray and newspaper, a hairdryer and a trouser press. All rooms have broadband Wi-Fi at an additional cost. Pets are permitted in the hotel. Please inform the hotel when you make your booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Days Inn Gretna Green M74 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Gretna Green m74 Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Days Inn
Days Inn Gretna Green M74 Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing