We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Reviewed 12 April 2013

At £39 for an overnight stay good value. Room cleaan and bed fairly comfortable. Had continental breakfast served in room, booked for 08:45 arrived at 08:45. Staff on reception very pleasant. Good stop over for trip to Inverness from West Midlands.
Only negative thing is the signage! Hotel hidden by bushes from road way, went passed car park entrance and had to turn round, a nice big sign sayinf "Days Inn" would be very usefull

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdgarStourbrige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

324 - 330 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2013

stopped here the following night from a stay at Abington . Hotel for the money is good value although over £5 dearer than Abington . The room was clean with the usual added touches of mini fridge and trouser press . I didn't sleep as well here due to traffic noise , perhaps ask for a car park side room , i was at the back adj to the 74

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pulltheclays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Pleasant and well located budget hotel on the Scottish Border. Helpful staff, good parking. There is a room service breakfast facility for those in a hurry. Although on a motorway service area, the hotel is tucked away from the noise and hustle of the rest of the facilities.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidzmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were visiting relatives in the area and needed a room for one night Saturday 2nd Feb . I was a little concerned about this hotel after reading some of the earlier reviews but we got a good deal so decided to stay here anyway . It was easy to find behind the services right on the motorway . There were quite a few cars in the car park when we arrived but still plenty of room to park . The receptionist was missing when we walked in but the cleaner who was cleaning the windows ran and found her without us asking . She was friendly and cheerful and checked us in in minuets . We were happy to find we were given an executive room - we hadn't asked for one - and once we turned the heating up it was soon warm and cosy . The room was spotless as was the bathroom and the bed had a lovely thick duvet and was warm and comfortable , my wife thought it was the softest bed she had ever slept in . When we returned after midnight the man in reception gave us some fresh milk as we had run out and was very pleasant and had a laugh and joke with us . The room was very quiet even though there must have been lots of guests as the car park was nearly full but we didn't hear a thing , so quiet not even any traffic noise . We found everything about the place perfect considering its next to a motorway . We would definitely stay here again , no complaints whatsoever .

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotchboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We spent a Friday night at the inn as we were checking out the surrounding area on Friday and Saturday. All the reception staff were very friendly and courteous. Our bed was very comfy and the room was nice and warm once we turned up the heater. I found the bathroom quite cool as the only heat came from the towel rail. The bath was marked. I think the enamel had been damaged.
The kettle was extremely slow to boil. My husband walked across to the motorway services to get us a drink and by the time he returned the kettle still hadn't boiled.

We had a big surprise in the morning when we found about six inches of snow outside. Brilliant for us big kids to go out in.

If we ever do go back to the Gretna area we will definitely book a room at the Days Inn.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We have stayed here twice in the past year en route to the north west of Scotland - about six hours drive from south of London. Hotel may be basic but it is always clean and the staff are welcoming - and dogs are welcome! A continental breakfast is available in your room which is good quality and reasonable value. All-in-all very suitable for a quick overnight stop.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Stayed here around one week ago with the Welcome Break special offer of 25 per night with min 2 day stay. I've rated the place as excellent based on my spend. Spotless room with housekeeping staff that clearly have pride in their job. Reception staff helpful and friendly with a speedy no fuss check in. A 'well done' to the guy who on reception who provided fresh milk from the fridge instead of those pot things you normally get. Small things mean a lot some customers so well done to this place. Great stay for the money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geordietraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.7 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
154 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
0.9 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
917 reviews
1.2 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Gretna Green M74? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Gretna Green M74

Address: Junction 21/22, A74M Northbound | Welcome Break Services, Gretna Green DG16 5HQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range: £39 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Gretna Green M74 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Inn Gretna Green is close to the M74 and M6 motorways, and within easy reach of Carlisle. It has free Wi-Fi and free parking. Newcastle-upon-Tyne and County Durham are about 1 hour from the hotel. The famous wedding village of Gretna Green is close by. Tasteful en suite rooms and personal service make this convenient hotel an ideal place to break your journey. Each bedroom has a TV (with Freeview channels), a free hot drinks tray and newspaper, a hairdryer and a trouser press. All rooms have broadband Wi-Fi at an additional cost. Pets are permitted in the hotel. Please inform the hotel when you make your booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Days Inn Gretna Green M74 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Gretna Green m74 Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Days Inn
Days Inn Gretna Green M74 Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing