We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good nights sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
West Bergholt, Colchester
2 reviews
“Good nights sleep”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Staff were friendly on our arrival. We had a very quiet stay and slept well. The room was very clean. Tea & Coffee and free WIFI, TV. Powerful shower. Service station had the usual shops you would expect. KFC, WH Smith,etc. We stayed as a stop off on our way up to FIFE. No complaints. Good value. Would stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 13. It was an end room and It looked out to the rear. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelmac666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    138
    96
    21
    43
See reviews for
120
151
33
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Veghel, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This Inn is straight of the M74 and not at all what I expected of a services B&B. It looked very nice and clean. Staff was friendly and helpful and you can get in touch very late at night if you need too. Very handy.
Breakfast is in the roadside restaurant on the services site. Before you order breakfast, walk over the restaurant across the road and check out what is already available. You might get what you want for a cheaper price. The difference in price is a free coffee or tea if you use the voucher for a cooked breakfast (7 pounds). Other options are available though. You can also order a continental breakfast in your room (4.95).
Gretna Green is easy to get to from this location on a B road. Turn right for Gretna and left for a lovely pub (several miles away), which has the best haggis ever. Lovely staff too.
Parking is free for guests on seperate area.

Room Tip: Room was very good and no complaints at all. Enough space and clean. Free Wi-Fi worked fine for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonny61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We were in town for a family wedding and chose this hotel based on TA reviews and for its proximity to the reception venue in Gretna. It was easy to access the B road parallel to the A74(M) so that you didn't have to drive on the motorway every time you went into Gretna village. The single-storey, non-smoking hotel is located at the edge of a Welcome Break Services parking area, yet much quieter than expected. Be sure to confirm your car's licence plate at check-in to guarantee free overnight parking; there was also free Wi-Fi.

The lady at the front desk was very pleasant and helpful. The double room was basic and unremarkable - not exactly glamorous but no complaints, it served its purpose. There was no restaurant in the hotel itself, you had to walk across the car park to the Motorway Services for a cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrumpyBear99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gretna Green, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband tried this hotel, me thinking it might be cheaper than the one in nearby Gretna Green, hoping we could save a bit of money, it was a bit cheaper, but didn't have breakfast included. OK, people who stop here are probably business men/women just for a quick stop and dash. Me and husband got a room, new born fast asleep. Put her on the bed, we laid beside her, I felt uncomfortable, my back was not happy with the mattress, so I tried the sofa bed, was ok but didn't feel right, felt like the sofa was going to collapse on me. Didn't want to make a fuss, nor my husband, we don't really like to say anything unless we had to.
Morning, up and left, at least there was free parking.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Landygirl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W.sussex
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Lovely clean rooms, great to break up the journey to Scotland. Hotel was very quiet & staff friendly. Ideal stop off to visit the Gretna Shopping Outlet or to visit the Blacksmith Shop & Anvil. Loads of great pubs close by for meal.

Room Tip: All rooms were away from motorway, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W_SussexSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I have to be honest and state from the off that I was expecting a bit of a pit...

Wrong!

The lady (Elaine) on the front desk showed us a variety of rooms and was very patient with us as we asked her a lot of questions. Great first impression and made us feel very welcome.

The chap from Switzerland was also first class. We definitely were shown more hospitality and courtesy here than we've received in a few 4-5 star hotels.

The rooms were large, were clean and did not smell, the beds were comfortable and the food from the service station (Eat-in), surprisingly nice.

The hotel does allow pets to stay, but we did not notice any dog like smells.

All in all, we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colinconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed for a 1 night stop over for the Carlisle Races/Madness concert.
To be fair the hotel was better than average.
The reception is was very helpful, recommending that we get the breakfast deal when paying for the booking & sorting out twin rooms rather than doubles for us guys.
The rooms were of a decent size & clean, with tea & coffee.
To say its very close to the motorway the rooms are quiet.
I found the bed quite bumpy & uncomfortable.
It was nice to have a bath, but the shower head was too low.
Maybe I was unlucky with the bed & after all I could have a bath, so it's a pretty good 1 night stop over.
By the way the taxi into Carlisle was about £30, which isn't too bad if shared with 4 people.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Welcome Lodge Gretna Green
#4 of 4 in Gretna Green
7 reviews
0.7 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.7 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
150 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
885 reviews
1.4 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Gretna Green M74? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Gretna Green M74

Property: Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Address: Junction 21/22, A74M Northbound | Welcome Break Services, Gretna Green DG16 5HQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Gretna Green M74 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Inn Gretna Green is close to the M74 and M6 motorways, and within easy reach of Carlisle. It has free Wi-Fi and free parking. Newcastle-upon-Tyne and County Durham are about 1 hour from the hotel. The famous wedding village of Gretna Green is close by. Tasteful en suite rooms and personal service make this convenient hotel an ideal place to break your journey. Each bedroom has a TV (with Freeview channels), a free hot drinks tray and newspaper, a hairdryer and a trouser press. All rooms have broadband Wi-Fi at an additional cost. Pets are permitted in the hotel. Please inform the hotel when you make your booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Gretna Green M74 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Gretna Green m74 Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Days Inn
Days Inn Gretna Green M74 Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing