We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The hotel was very close to the main road, but there was no noise in our room. The room was well furnished and spacious. The beds were very comfortable. The free wi-fi was welcome, as were the cold water dispenser in the hall and the microwave oven in the foyer. They even supplied a free newspaper! My only niggle was the common problem with these hotels in that they seem unable to firmly attach the toilet seat to the bowl. I will certainly be using this hotel again - much better than its rivals.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IGC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    138
    96
    21
    42
See reviews for
120
151
33
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I've stayed here 3 times already this year and have been really impressed. This was the first Days Inn I ever stayed at as I had a poor impression of them from before (Irish ones).
The check in staff were really helpful and friendly. WiFi was free. Rooms a good size clean and comfortable. Love the Kenco coffee a good touch compared to other offerings from the budget hotels I stay at. Would definitely be back. The service station opposite has a selection of food to buy KFC Papa Joes etc. No restaurant in at this one but not such a big problem.
Good value for the room and service. Need more hotels like this.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparky-parrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I do a lot of hill walking and Gretna is a great place to stay on the entrance to Scotland, the rooms are well kept and a great price. Would definitely come here again! The hot towel rail is especially useful for drying the wet socks after a long trek up a boggy hill!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

In my last review I commented on the ibis budget range and stated they needed to up the anti a little.
Well they could do worse than take a leaf out of this chain of hotel.
Needing a one night stopover myself and the good lady chose the Days inn at Gretna Scotland in desperation. On entering I was told there were rooms available and the receptionist quoted the price on show, when I mentioned it was advertised cheaper on Trip Adviser the lady kindly and happily reduced the rate. Without asking she also upgraded us to an executive room and provided us with discount vouchers for food at the service station.
The room was nice and big as was the bed and also very comfy. Also very clean & tidy.
Now for not a lot more than I paid at the Ibis budget, the facilities were far superior. You could Do a lot worse than opt to use this range of budget hotel. I for one will have no hesitation in choosing them next time.
Happy travels. RWH.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank rwh30960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stopped overnight going to East Scotland from East Anglia. Room, at £37, was a fair size with a double bed, single bed and a pull-out bed but only one chair. Clean and tidy but very basic. Freeview tv only, no SKY so viewing very limited. Amenities tray with tea, coffee, milk & sugar and a small pack of ginger cookies. Shower was over-bath but taps and controls were very difficult to adjust. Plenty of very clean towels but hot towel rail didn't work. Only Continental Breakfast could be served in room, otherwise what they called a " Full English " could be obtained at " Eat In " in the main services complex at an extra cost of £7 per person. This consisted of one Egg, fried or scrambled, one rasher of fatty bacon, 2 pork sausages, one hash brown, Mushrooms, fried tomatoes, beans and tea / coffee. If you wanted black pudding it was 99p extra and toast was 25p extra. No fried bread. This would have been fine had it not been cold and mostly inedible when we got it. Morning staff at the " Eat In " were very unhelpful, stand offish and sometimes rude. Hotel staff, especially the Manager, were very helpful and pleasant.
Overall not bad and it did help to break the journey.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear might be slightly quieter but HGV's coming and going all night can be heard at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyll
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This was only a one night stop over and was perfectly adequate. I was travelling on my own and was given a family room but there was no easy chair or chair to sit on at the desk/dressing-table. The tray of refreshments was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank A U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I have been to the Days Inn Gretna Green a number of times and each time the stay has been lovely. The staff are very helpful and the rooms are lovely and clean. There is everything you need for a stay and breakfast is delivered whatever time you wish. Every time I go to Scotland I will break the journey at Gretna, I have never had cause to critisize anything. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank B E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Welcome Lodge Gretna Green
#4 of 4 in Gretna Green
7 reviews
0.7 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.7 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
150 reviews
1.4 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
416 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Gretna Green M74? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Gretna Green M74

Property: Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Address: Junction 21/22, A74M Northbound | Welcome Break Services, Gretna Green DG16 5HQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Gretna Green M74 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Inn Gretna Green is close to the M74 and M6 motorways, and within easy reach of Carlisle. It has free Wi-Fi and free parking. Newcastle-upon-Tyne and County Durham are about 1 hour from the hotel. The famous wedding village of Gretna Green is close by. Tasteful en suite rooms and personal service make this convenient hotel an ideal place to break your journey. Each bedroom has a TV (with Freeview channels), a free hot drinks tray and newspaper, a hairdryer and a trouser press. All rooms have broadband Wi-Fi at an additional cost. Pets are permitted in the hotel. Please inform the hotel when you make your booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Gretna Green M74 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Gretna Green m74 Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Days Inn
Days Inn Gretna Green M74 Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing