We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stopped at this hotel to break up a trip to the Commonwealth games in Glasgow. First impressions were very good with the hotel being away from the main services and a separate car park. The people on the Reception desk were very helpful at all times and their recommendation of somewhere to eat was very much appreciated. The room was clean and smelt fresh - we stopped for two nights and the room was cleaned and bed made for both nights. You are able to make tea and coffee in the room and you could get extra milk, tea bags, etc at no cost from the Reception desk. We had booked two English breakfasts for both days when we booked the holiday on the internet but cancelled mine as they do not have a vegetarian alternative. We would actually recommend the continental breakfast which is brought to your room. The only reason I did not rate this 5 out of 5 is the lack of quality eating places within walking distance of the hotel. After travelling for four hours we would have liked to have enjoyed a meal with a bottle of wine without having to get back in the car. Main services area had burger king, kfc and a limited range of main meals in the café.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabram18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 258 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

We used this for a one night stopover driving South as our usual stopover hotel was full. The manager on reception gave us an exceptional welcome much appreciated after a busy day. The room was quiet and located at the very end of a corridor so no passing noise. The room was larger than expected, beds very clean and comfy. The bathroom had seen better days and could have been a bit cleaner which was the only disappointment. We all slept well and enjoyed breakfast across at the service area which is well stocked with Starbucks, WH Smith, Waitrose etc. We'll definately return in favour of our usual stopover hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amtodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We booked this as a pit stop on a long drive from Wales to the Highlands. Roadside motel/hotels, are always basic and one mustn't expect much. However, this one was outstanding in this category. the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was sufficiently spacious for us to get the kids in there to help them bath. The shower was full on mains and wonderful. They provided all the small extras to make the stay comfy. We ordered there in-house breakfast for £4.95 and we each got a Tropicana Juice, an apple, a glass of milk, a choice of cereal, a muller yoghurt and a top freshly baked croissant, as well as tea / coffee. The hotel is separate from the rest of the services, with it's own car park, and so it was quite and private. Situated well away from the motorway and so you could barely hear any traffic. Room for 4 was £62!

We plan to use it every time we go to Loch Fyne to visit friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the wing with rooms 15 to 21.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Backyard_sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

One night stay when travelling north. I found that the staff were friendly, the room was very clean and included a generous supply of tea and coffee and overall it was quite quiet. Would stay here again. As a value hotel, this did exactly what it said on the tin!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We booked this as a last minute stay to break up a journey to Glenn Coe in Scotland, simple check in, our room was large, with a big comfy bed and a single bed for our little one who decided she wanted to stay in ours.. plenty of tea and coffee and a selection of biscuits too, nice surprise.. room was clean bathroom was spotless, looks like it has had a revamp. Only negative of the room was the windows had no lock on them so they just opened wide, not very good with a little one as it was so warm but we couldn't leave the window open.. only negative for hotel is the location but it is on a service area, but you only have a choice of fast food and rather expensive at that, but for a 1 night stopover well worth staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

One night stay to break a long journey. Warm and friendly welcome at reception desk, very helpful to two weary travellers.

The room was spotless. Plenty of extra bedding available in the room as one of us was feeling the need of extra pillows. Good range of tea and coffee. Clean, functional bathroom with bath and shower, not something all similar places have. The chance for a good soak was welcome. The bed was very comfortable and could not really hear any traffic noise at all.

Took the breakfast voucher option, which was eaten at the main complex and actually ok.

Overall, excellent value for a friendly, comfortable stay, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nicmac4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here to break up a long journey to the Scottish Highlands travelling with our dog. We were delighted with the friendly staff and the quality of the room especially given the price we paid and that we had a dog with us. Excellent service and brilliant value, far exceeded our expectations. We actually booked and stayed as a family group on the way home it was ideal.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.7 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.7 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
206 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
931 reviews
19.6 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
5.7 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Todhills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Gretna Green M74? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Gretna Green M74

Address: Junction 21/22, A74M Northbound | Welcome Break Services, Gretna Green DG16 5HQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range: £32 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Gretna Green M74 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Inn Gretna Green is close to the M74 and M6 motorways, and within easy reach of Carlisle. It has free Wi-Fi and free parking. Newcastle-upon-Tyne and County Durham are about 1 hour from the hotel. The famous wedding village of Gretna Green is close by. Tasteful en suite rooms and personal service make this convenient hotel an ideal place to break your journey. Each bedroom has a TV (with Freeview channels), a free hot drinks tray and newspaper, a hairdryer and a trouser press. All rooms have broadband Wi-Fi at an additional cost. Pets are permitted in the hotel. Please inform the hotel when you make your booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Expedia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Gretna Green M74 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Gretna Green m74 Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Days Inn
Days Inn Gretna Green M74 Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing